We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay - The Cock House Grahamstown”
Review of The Cock House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cock House
Ranked #30 of 43 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Stayed over during the schools provincial water-polo tournament 7-13 Dec 2017; rooms were clean and comfortable; staff and service was excellent; food was really good - dinners and breakfasts; nice, cosy bar and lounge area with fireplace - great for evening drinks and social with friends. Several groups were staying over at the same time and we were all impressed and would stay over again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the family unit - comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notherns2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile


3 nights in June 2017 pre paid. A return nostalgic visit, totally disappointed.
Proprietor is clearly not interested or invested in maintaining high standards to this guest establishment or for the lack of hospitality skills from his staff.
It all shows by the shabbiness, run down and dinginess of this nostalgic building.
Towels are thread bear. The drapery, carpets and furnishings are filthy. Grouting in the shower is equally filthy.
Intermittent Wifi in bedrooms.
No safe.
I do not recommend staying here, ever!
‍ I do applaud the Chef's cooking.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank jayned225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We've been making annual visits for some years but are unlikely to do so again - sadly. We arrived 2.30 pm; shortage of sheets, pillowcases and towels so no rest possible after long drive; OK by 4.45 pm, delay due to absence of any spare linen which was still at the laundry, then ironing it, and so on. How can a hotel not have spare linen? Incompetent or insolvent? Avoid Room 9 which smells of damp - take one look at the stained and blistering paint on the walls. Wifi only around Reception, not in room. Bedroom light not working. TV not working. Hair dryer plug doesn't fit wall socket. Breakfast good, and Yvonne, the new manageress, excellent, but definitely not worth the prices asked.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank portway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

The Cock House is a colonial style guest house and the staff are friendly and so polite and accommodating. I ate at the restaurant on the property, (Nordens) and I can honestly say that the food was delicious!! I would gladly come back here when I had business in Grahamstown!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank 413sabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

My sister, her fiancé and myself recently did a roadtrip to the Eastern Cape from KZN for a wedding and decided to check out Grahamstown. Knowing it's predominantly a University Town we didn't expect a big vibe, but my goodness did we pick a really terrible time. On a Sunday, during university holidays, and in the new year there is absolutely NOTHING happening. Rookie error. Having decided to visit the restaurant at The Cock House for dinner before this discovery we ended up arriving about 2 hours earlier than our table reservation due to pure boredom. Best decision of the day. The staff were incredibly accommodating!!! We wanted to treat ourselves to a 3 course meal after roughing it for the past couple of nights, and man was it worth it! The food was incredible and for what we got a steal. We may have been the only patrons there that evening but it was actually really nice. We'll definitely be going back there should we decide to make the journey again!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank CarissaSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
0,9 km away
A White House Guest House
A White House Guest House
#5 of 43 in Grahamstown
64 reviews
14,4 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 410 reviews
26,7 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5,3 km away
A Stones Throw
A Stones Throw
#4 of 43 in Grahamstown
87 reviews
0,5 km away
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
#9 of 43 in Grahamstown
31 reviews
3,5 km away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#16 of 43 in Grahamstown
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cock House

Address: 10 Market St, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range: R 796 - R 1 404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cock House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Grahamstown's best-loved landmarks, The Cock House offers you country home comfort and elegant dining in South Africa’s Festival City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing