We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stayover”

Mountain View Manor
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain View Manor
Ranked #16 of 43 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2017

We made use of the self catering "flat" as a one night stopover. It is fairly well equipped for self catering. The venue has great views over the surrounding valleys and there are options for walks / hikes / 4x4 / MTB. We missed the turn off from the N2 as we were not expecting such a small dirt road. This was a bit of an issue with the current road works.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

Stayed in Falcons Rest apartment. Fantastic views and very well decorated and equipped apartment. Would definitely stay again. We experienced the most terrific storm which knocked out our electricity and water early evening, which was not the fault of the resort, but would have been even more enjoyable with fine weather.

Room Tip: Best in good weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dorothy270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We've stayed at Mountain view Manor for 3 consecutive years in a row, whenever we visit Grahamstown. The rooms are beautifully furnished and comfortable, with spectacular views of either Grahamstown town below you or of the rolling hills on the other side. If you love walking, hiking or just a general run in the mornings, then this is the place to go! The staff are very helpful and will go out of their way to assist you in anything extra you need.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We spent 5 nights at the Mountain View Manor and had a very comfortable and pleasant stay there. Our room was large and airy, the beds clean and comfortable and the bathroom, with shower and bath, spacious and clean. The views from the ridge were spectacular and the breakfasts were good. The staff are obliging and honest, as demonstrated when the bedroom cleaned returned my driver's licence and a couple of credit/bank cards, which had fallen out of my wallet, to me. I hadn't even realised that I'd "lost" them. The free wi-fi worked well and the lounge/diningroom area is a pleasant and sunny environment to relax, or work, in. The owners are friendly, informal and forthcoming. There were a couple of small issues that we felt should be addressed - the breakfast times in the brochure in the room seem to be inaccurate, indicating that breakfast runs until 10. Be prepared, however, to have a knock on your door if you don't present yourself by 9!! No big deal, but it would be nice to have them aligned. The TV reception in our particular room was very poor and there was a leak in our bathroom ceiling which, to their credit, the owners had been tried to have fixed, unsuccessfully, prior to our arrival. Further attention was to be given to the problem. One other consideration - if you are unfamiliar with the area, the turn-off to the lodge, at night, can be tricky. It is poorly marked and needs to be approached with caution, especially in inclement weather and when the main road is busy. Notwithstanding any of these observations, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return when in the area again. With a little bit more attention to detail, this lodge could really be considered to be an excellent one.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unasinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Clients in Grahamstown booked me into the establishment stating that I wouldn't be disappointed and they were right! A lovely homely feel to it with a friendly welcome by the staff that carried the case upstairs as I was on the top floor in a extremely large room over looking Grahamstown at night! I awoke the next not with my head in the clouds due to the mist that had moved in resulting in an erry feeling for the morning desent to breakfast, one of my favourite meals French toast heaven!

Room Tip: Ask for a view looking over Grahamstown or if you prefer a ocean view ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Forester93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
3,1 km away
8A Grahamstown
8A Grahamstown
#2 of 43 in Grahamstown
71 reviews
6 km away
A Stones Throw
A Stones Throw
#4 of 43 in Grahamstown
87 reviews
11,1 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23,7 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
374 reviews
3 km away
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
#9 of 43 in Grahamstown
31 reviews
3,5 km away
30 on Oatlands Road Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Manor

Address: Mountain Drive, Grahamstown 6139, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range: R 609 - R 1 135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing