We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
11 Worcester on Durban
Ranked #14 of 43 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Modern and luxurious despite the age of the house. The room faced the grand front garden and was nice and private. There's a nice pool. The room was very well appointed and had everything you could hope for, except a safe for valuables (which may have been somewhere I didn't see), but I didn't feel I had to lock anything away here anyway. There were ample quantities of complimentary toiletries and nice fluffy towels. Breakfast was very tasty and it was an altogether pleasant stay, except for the pillows. They could do with an upgrade. The guesthouse is located in a lovely area close to the private schools and it was nice to walk in the neighbourhood too. Thanks for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: They all seem very nice, although the ones opening up on to the front garden are more private than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HarveyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2015

This was our first visit to Grahamstown, which in itself was very disappointing. However the guesthouse was outstanding. It resembled the old grandeur of this once lovely town. Grahamstown, set up by the 1820 settlers has beautiful architecture from that European era. This guesthouse is of the same era. It also has an immaculate garden, beautifully furnished room with all the required amenities. The owner, Sally was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast exactly to order. Nothing was amiss in this offering.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the pool seems to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MES196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

Attention to detail - that's what separates this establishment from the rest.

Coming "home" every evening to a pre-loaded fire place.

Beautiful friendly staff ensuring your room is as it was when you first arrived - every day.

Unobtrusive, not invasive yet always at your service.
Thank you Sally.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank Lizard80863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014

I reviewed this place in February and as I have subsequently gone back and stayed in a different room I thought that I would once again offer my thoughts. This really is one of the best B&B establishments in Grahamstown. This time around instead of staying in one of their rooms I was put in the self-contained cottage which was utterly gorgeous!!!! I loved it. Beautifully and tastefully furnished there is nothing that you can want for. I so enjoyed having my little patio facing the swimming pool and there was more than enough space to entertain my student son and his friends for dinner the one night. Unfortunately I did not get to see Sally this time around but the place runs like clockwork whether she is there or not. The gorgeous golden Labs were there as usual and they kept me company. Love it!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fab - but if you want self catering then ask for the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014 via mobile

We stayed on our way through from wild coast to Plett, and were very impressed. Beautiful old Victorian, rooms very nicely appointed, with lovely touches such as real milk in the fridge, rusks, fruit, coffee plungers... lovely underfloor heating to take chill off cold evenings, good wifi, DSTV, off street parking and more. Very good attention to detail.

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
1,6 km away
Oak Lodge
Oak Lodge
#12 of 43 in Grahamstown
40 reviews
13,5 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 405 reviews
25,9 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5,3 km away
A Stones Throw
A Stones Throw
#4 of 43 in Grahamstown
86 reviews
2,6 km away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#16 of 43 in Grahamstown
19 reviews
0,5 km away
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
#9 of 43 in Grahamstown
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 11 Worcester on Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 11 Worcester on Durban

Address: 11 Worcester Street | West Hill, Grahamstown 6139, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range: R 942 - R 1 302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 11 Worcester on Durban 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upmarket guest house in Grahamstown. All rooms have complimentary hospitality items, private access, en-suite facilities. Off road parking is available. One unit is a fully equipped self catering Cottage with patio and braii. Another unit is semi self-catering with microwave and toaster. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing