We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hill Street Manor
Nearby Hotels
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$60
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
16
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
4
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I stay in many B&Bs/guest houses and this is definitely one of the better ones. The rooms are huge and very comfortable, the staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast is great and I loved the coffee machine in my room. All round a superior experience.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank IanDogless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillstreet M, Manager at Hill Street Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Thank you for the positive feed back. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

From the 21st to the 23rd of February 2014 . This was my second stay at the boutique hotel . Once again the service provided by Gail , the manager , was exceptional . The accommodation was superb with very comfortable bedding , pillows and luxurious towels . The breakfast was more than adequate with great variety and freshness . Without doubt i can highly recommend this establishment , it ranks far above all other similar venues in Grahamstown .

Room Tip: We stayed in the room behind reception . So spacious with all the lovely homelike extras .
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffrey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillstreet M, Public Relations Manager at Hill Street Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your continuous support. We enjoyed having you and we hope that you will come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for four nights visiting friends at Rhodes. Rooms were clean and luxurious. Staff friendly and courteous and fantastic location.
Would recommended this bed and breakfast to anyone visiting grahamstown.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillstreet M, General Manager at Hill Street Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. When you are in the area come and pop in we look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is the first time I have stayed in a hotel (guest house) bedroom with a printer for me to connect my laptop to. The room was huge and beautifully furnished. The decor throughout is striking but not over the top.
This guest house oozes quality everywhere.
Everything was top class and a wonderful delicious breakfast.
Madeleine cares about her guest house, her staff and her guests and the result is an award winning establishment that could compete anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillstreet M, Public Relations Manager at Hill Street Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we really enjoyed having you.We hope that if you are in the Grahamstown area you will come and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

What a shock to stay in a B&B that was not aired, had dirty carpets, sour milk in the fridge and no one waiting to meet and greet guests. This is a B&B which does not meet the standards of a 4 star establishment. I would not recommend this guest house as a stop over in Grahamstown. A real disappointment.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillstreet M, Public Relations Manager at Hill Street Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback, there are a few issues that we would like to address. With regards to the B&B being not aired, the front doors to the B&B were open meaning that there would be air coming in, in this regard you must be responding to your room not being aired. Due to the constant weather changes in Grahamstown and it being the weekend, the windows are kept shut.

With regards to the dirty carpets, it was a dirty mark on a carpet. There was only one stain on that carpet which does not warrant replacing the whole carpet. All our carpets and beds are steamed cleaned and this mark was due to be cleaned the following week as it was a Sunday no one is available to clean the carpet.

The sour milk is unacceptable and we do regret that this happened to you, We have taken this up with our suppliers and have in fact changed suppliers of the milk.

As we are not a hotel, we do not have 24 hour reception. The procedure is that the guests are contacted to ask what time they would be arriving and then someone would be waiting for them an hour prior to arrival. The person on duty was unable to get hold of you, she arrived right behind you which meant that there was someone to meet you.

We take great pride in cleanilness as this is a key factor in our service that we provide.

We are disappointed that you felt this way as most of our guests are comfortable and have an enjoyable experience.

We hope that if you are travelling through Grahamstown you will come and stay with us and that you will have a more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews