We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable guest house a stone's throw from Rhodes University”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grahamstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Corner Guest House
Ranked #10 of 43 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

High Corner is a house with an interesting history, on the other side of the street from the Rhodes University arch and an easy walk to the centre of Grahamstown. We had the Tannery, a double bedroom annex across the pretty, small patio (and splash pool) from the main building. The bedroom had attractive wooden furniture, a comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, tea/coffee making facilities and a desk, while the en suite bathroom had a clawfoot bath with shower above. The room has air conditioning but when we arrived it was quite cool, so we made use of the electric radiator and heated towel rail. There is also an electric underblanket for the bed, though we did not use this.

Breakfast was very good, with fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juice and filter coffee, and a cooked breakfast to order. Wifi was basic but adequate (the Tannery has its own network). The guesthouse does washing on request. Staff were friendly and helpful. Definitely a good place to stay in Grahamstown.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed your stay - would love to host you again

Kind regards

Karen, High Corner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

The house is an antique. It's well maintained and the old school wood interior is in my view beautiful. It adds an ambience that is often missing in some establishments.

Importantly this bnb is on High Street and is across the road from Rhodes University and a museum. Also just up the street is the High Court and numerous coffee shops, restaurants and retail outlets.

When I got to my room i imagined it would be a standard room with ensuit bathroom and shower... mayhap a coffee station. Instead I was greeted with a furnished lounge, kitchenette, bathroom, two bedrooms and a rather naughty back door.

The kitchenette has a fridge, cupboards with full cutlery, microwave, two plate stove and a wash basin.

The main bedroom is spacious with cupboards, work desk and a queen size bed.

The other bedroom is similar but has two single beds instead of the Queen size bed in the main bedroom.

The bathroom has your standard shower basin etc.

What was different about this particular bnb is that it is surprisingly quiet. Which for me is a major plus.

Unfortunately dinner is not served but if one literally walks across the road there are at least 3 or 4 good restaurants. Breakfast is served and includes tea coffee juice and continental breakfast and your choice of full English breakfast.

Free WiFi is available and a pool should one require a dip.

Good stay





Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Brendan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

I was welcomed to this beautiful historic place by the friendliest staff. My room was huge, very well appointed and really comfortable. There are good restaurants literally just across the road and Karen the owner was most welcoming. I can highly recommend this establishment for business travellers, but most definitely also for families. I will most certainly visit again as it certainly ticks all the boxes.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

This was perfectly adequate. The main complaints would be that the wifi was not good and the rooms were a bit cold. Staff was nice -- Elvis was amazing. I want him to come and work for us! Great guy and really is an asset to this guest house - give the man a raise!
My room only had a bath tub, no shower, but it was ok for one night.
Breakfast was fine.
Floors are a bit squeaky so not the quietest of places, but not too bad. It wasn't too busy when we were there, so it was ok.
Location was convenient for our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We have stayed in most of the rooms over the last 2 years...The perch (self cater)when we have our daughter with us and the main building when just a couple.The pool room is our favourite.Owner/manager Karen runs the guesthouse in a professional friendly relaxed manner .The Air Conditioned rooms are comfortable and well equipt (free WI-fi),Somerset road gets busy from early in the AM so if you are not a heavy sleeper or an early riser choose a room that is on the far side..The enclosed safe secure parking gives peace of mind and is definitely a factor in choosing accommodation in Grahamstown

Room Tip: Take your costume it gets rather warm in Grahamstown and a refreshing dip in the pool is a welcomed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steeletripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
13,8 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 405 reviews
26,3 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
373 reviews
4,5 km away
A Stones Throw
A Stones Throw
#4 of 43 in Grahamstown
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2,7 km away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#16 of 43 in Grahamstown
19 reviews
1 km away
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
#9 of 43 in Grahamstown
31 reviews
1,2 km away
8A Grahamstown
8A Grahamstown
#2 of 43 in Grahamstown
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Corner Guest House

Address: High Corner | 122/124 High Street, Grahamstown 6139, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Hotel Class:4 star — High Corner Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience historical Grahamstown by staying in this beautifully renovated home graced with Cape antiques, original art and Oregan pine. Within easy walking distance from restaurants, shops, university, museums and local attractions. Accommodation provided in 5 beautiful en-suite rooms with modern conveniences including air conditioning, electric blankets, TV on the DSTV hotel bouquet and free wi fi internet connection. Secure parking behind old stone walls and swimming pool. Two self-catering cottages also available with free wi fi internet and TV on DSTV hotel bouquet. Parking for cottages subject to availability and in High Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing