We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful guesthouse”
Review of Cornerstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cornerstone Manor
Ranked #7 of 43 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I had a wonderful stay at Cornerstone Manor this month. From the comfortable, large King size bed to the little 'extras' in the room such as freshly baked cookies and hot chocolate sachets, to the stunning English-countryside garden, to the scrumptious, hearty breakfast specially prepared early for me due to work commitments, I cannot fault Cornerstone. Thank you Barbara and your team of competent staff!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michellerJ4792VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbiCow, Owner at Cornerstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

It’s always a pleasure- so glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Here comes a short Pros&Cons list:

Pros:
- lovely owners and nice staff
- stylish and clean rooms with a beautiful garden
- quiet neighbourhood
- secured parking lot
- delicious food
- good value for money

Cons:
- there are none

Absolutely recommendable! I would stay here again. Thanks again for dinner ;)

Best regards

Nils

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Nils U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbiCow, Manager at Cornerstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thanks Nils

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I stayed at Cornerstone Manor during a conference I attended. It was the perfect place to wake up in the morning and come 'home' to after a long day. Barbara, Lungi and Sylvia were very welcoming, the room was gorgeous and clean and fresh and with lovely amenities. The breakfast was a real treat too.
I will certainly stay there again if ever I am in Grahamstown again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank laurendM6654UU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbiCow, Owner at Cornerstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks so much for the lovely compliments- we certainly hope you do come visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

I spent only two nights here and I was delighted. A beautiful room with super comfortable bed and very neat. I really loved that the owner of this place goes all out to ensure that she gets high quality stuff for the guest - from toileteries to sugar sachets. It is a true luxury experience, and for that I say well done! The size of the room is great, with enough natural light coming into the room. There is great view of the beautifuly landscaped garden from the room. The room has tea making facilities, with variety of coffees and tea. There is biscuit tin that gets replenished everyday, as well as a fruit bascket that also gets filled up every day. The breaksfast was great, and the chef tried to bring up something new every day. For example I had meusli on the first day and oats on the second day. There is a sparkling clean pool, and a guest lounge where one could relax. Outside the room, there is a small table with two chairs for relaxation. The staff are wonderful and the owner of this place, Barbara was very welcoming. That human touch makes this place stand out. They even allowed me to check out late - that for me was a huge bonus. I will be back, and I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Abongile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbiCow, Owner at Cornerstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks for your great review- we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Rooms are beautifully decorated and set in a lovely garden. Staff and owners very obliging with special requests. Just check if neighbours still busy as we weren't warned and it was rather noisy. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank julieamilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbiCow, Manager at Cornerstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Hi Julie
Thank you for your lovely review - we would be delighted to have you stay again. I am not sure what you mean by the neighbours being busy - but if we can assist in future I can always give them a call and ask them to keep it down if possible.
Regards
Barbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
13,9 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 407 reviews
26,3 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
373 reviews
5,4 km away
A Stones Throw
A Stones Throw
#4 of 43 in Grahamstown
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3,1 km away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#16 of 43 in Grahamstown
19 reviews
0 km away
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
#9 of 43 in Grahamstown
31 reviews
0,2 km away
8A Grahamstown
8A Grahamstown
#2 of 43 in Grahamstown
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Manor

Address: 1 Constitution Street, Grahamstown 6139, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range: R 1 002 - R 1 340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Manor is a beautiful historic home which has been recently renovated, to offer comfort and convenience in the heart of Grahamstown. Located close to St Andrew's College and DSG as well as Rhodes University and restaurants and shopping centres, we are ideally situated. The rooms offer DSTV, aircon, king size or single beds, en-suite bathrooms with walk in shower and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cornerstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing