We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 1 200
Breakfast included
Priceline
R 1 200
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
R 996
Fully refundable before Sat, 04 May
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
kwrigh773708
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Home away from Home
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Nov 2022
Can never get tired of this accommodation. Excellent location, amazing friendly staff and delicious breakfasts. Whether business or personal Tidewaters will deliver. Would definitely recommend to anybody who wants to travel to East London.
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 1 260
  • Priceline
    R 1 260
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 261
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 260
3.1 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 1 399
R 1 264
  • Priceline
    R 1 330
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 303
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 303
7.7 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 372
  • Priceline
    R 1 372
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 401
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 400
8.7 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
R 1 200
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 761
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 106
  • Priceline
    R 1 200
7.8 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 2 192
R 1 866
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 851
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 850
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 866
12.0 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 3 960
  • Hotels.com
    R 900
  • Priceline
    R 3 960
  • Expedia.com
    R 900
12.3 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Premier East London Exterior Building Night
Booking.com
R 1 620
  • Priceline
    R 1 620
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 316
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 621
12.7 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
R 982
R 903
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    R 905
  • Agoda.com
    R 982
  • Hotels.com
    R 902
12.7 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in East London
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
20
10
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
10
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short drive gonubie guesthouse accommodation business
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2022 via mobile

Lovely location, friendly people, beautiful river, amazing breakfasts!

You can borrow the kayaks to paddle up the unspoilt gonubie river, seeing fish eagles, weaver birds, loads of fish, impala and nyala on the opposite bank. The beach is a short drive away. Highly recommended

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Rowbagsdahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2022 via mobile

Situated on the banks of the Gunubie river banks, it offer a wonderful quiet stay, with friendly, accommodating, staff. Walking next to the river or rowing with a kayak on the river as a big bonus. Truly on of my best stays in. Guesthouse.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank miheyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2021 via mobile

This is not at all a hotel of 4 star standard. Cheap and old furnitures/carpets in the room. Not cosy at all. Bathroom is equally uncomfortable. Not even a space to hold a toiletry bag. Bats in the room. Cheap breakfast. The receptionist/breakfast cook is untrained, watching loud TV in the reception area, and kot knowing her surroundings. We did not enjoy our stay and were only happy to leave

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank noisettem2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2021

Thank you for hosting us, we had a lovely stay and even extended with one more night. Staff were friendly and always available. The river was not great for fishing, but beautiful and great for a walk. I would definitely suggest a small washing line to hang towels and wet clothes. The pool needs to be made safe with some form of inclosure.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank louiseuys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2021

Great stay for our family in Gonubie. Amazing location, which was a short walk away from the river. Tidewater had lovely rooms and great service. A full English breakfast was served everyday which was great.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cgie702826
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews