We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
R 1 121
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
cgie702826
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Great stay
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Jul 2021
Great stay for our family in Gonubie. Amazing location, which was a short walk away from the river. Tidewater had lovely rooms and great service. A full English breakfast was served everyday which was great.
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 1 265
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
3.1 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 1 303
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.7 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 400
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
8.7 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
R 1 766
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.8 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 2 192
R 1 866
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 857
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 850
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 866
12.0 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 104
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.8 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 903
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
12.3 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Premier East London Exterior Building Night
Tripadvisor
R 1 620
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
12.7 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 906
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 906
  • Trip.com
12.7 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 480
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
12.8 km from Tidewaters River Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in East London
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
20
10
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
10
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short drive gonubie guesthouse accommodation business
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2021

I really enjoyed my stay at Tidewaters. It has African style thatched roofs, and the rooms remind me of chalets in a game park. There are covered private patios overlooking rainforest like gardens with lots of trees, flowers, and birds. There’s a pool to cool off in, and kids can play in. It includes breakfast which was very nice. There is onsite attentive customer service. Other guests were respectful and did not play loud music or party at the b&b which I appreciated. It is a very tranquil, beautiful place, and I slept very well.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kwoodh383198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2020

We did the Strandloper hike and stayed at Tidewater after the hike. It was the best decision ever. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the vibe super chilled and the rooms comfortable. Would recommend Tidewater to anyone.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Liela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2020

The rooms are good, slightly tired but good value at the price. Nice tranquil setting. The biggest hindrance is the proximity of rooms to each other - basically walking out on the same stoep. I had to listen to my neighbour's music for hours!

Date of stay: November 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WimBuhrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2020

This place is an absolute gem! The rooms have a real bushveld feel but with all the luxuries that you would expect from this certified 4-star establishment. We went canoeing (a facility provided by the guesthouse) and explored the pristine beach and natural beauty that Gonubie offers. Devon was an awsome host and checked in frequently to see that we were taken care of. The staff are exceptional, helpful, friendly and courteous, Tidewater River Lodge will definitely see us again!

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ssmith497079
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2020

We attended a wedding in the area and booked 4 rooms for the weekend. We liked everything about the place. The rooms were nicely decorated, the breakfast was excellent, secure parking available, and good service.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews