We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fish River Villas
Nearby Hotels
Hoylake Inn(East London)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Resort Mpongo Private Game Reserve(East London)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quarry Lake Inn(East London)
US$148
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blarney House(East London)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
African Dreams Bed and Breakfast(East London)(Great Value!)
US$70
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bramlyn B&B(East London)(Great Value!)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
0
1
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
1
1
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We had a little family reunion at the villas and only stayed for one evening. Houses are very clean, neat and surprisingly modern. House contents are very basic though with only just enough in each house for the amount of occupants, example glasses, knives and forks and kitchen ware.
Still these houses make for a lovely week or weekend break to the area.
Nice big braai area at the pool area. Bathroom at the clubhouse needs some TLC. Braai also outside of each house is more than ample. Other than needing to take along a little extra kitchen utensils and bowls here and there this place is truly Value for Money!

Room Tip: Back row houses will be best for travelers looking for more piece and quiet as it is further away from the pool area.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

This resort has nothing to offer. Their website talks about a Clubhouse, as shown in pictures below, which I downloaded off their website, as well as photos taken by myself, showing what is actually there. The shower drain was blocked and after 2 days had still not been attended to, so each time we showered, the bathroom was flooded out. The volume on the TV is set so that while you can decrease the volume, you cannot increase it above a certain level, and as a hearing impaired person, meant I was unable to watch anything on TV. The freezer hadn't been defrosted in months, so barely kept food in the refrigerator cold. You have to travel across the main road to get to the Fish River Sun to make use of the facilities like their swimming pool, putt putt etc. All in all, not a very enjoyable experience and one that I would definitely not want to repeat. We left after 2 days, despite the fact that we had booked to stay there for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014

We stayed at this villa for 5 nights For two persons the villa was spacious enough: 2 bedrooms, 1 shower w/ bath, kitchen and sitting room w/ outdoors wooden bench. It was clean and the necessary amenities were there. We had some items to be replaced and repaired: brush to clean dishes, can opener and the front door lock, ceiling lamp (which was repaired but not replaced).
It has a small pool at the premises (no towels provided at pool).
There were no wifi and no laudry/ ironing services in the premises. One could arrange both at one of the hotels nearby.
Unfortunately there were some noisy guests at the premises who had a wedding at one of the hotels nearby. The group slept at the Villas where the party sarted and ended. Even the guards had difficulties to have them turn diwn the music at 1100 pm.
Port Alfred/ Grahamstown are about 30km from the Villas and are two closest cities to buy groceries. Nearby are possibilities for golf (advisable w/ golf cart), horse back riding, canoeing.
People are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CNH_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Reception staff gave us two different rates for the check in within five minutes of each other, one siad it included breakfast, the day of check out, I was told that breakfast was not included. this was not a problem.
We stayed in the self catering cottages, which were really in good shape, it looked as if they were recently redone. So if you are looking for clean and neat and tidy rooms, these are perfect, with good quality duvets, and pillows. Besides the rooms, this complex has nothing going for it, besides the fact that you are across the road from the Fish River Sun.

The let down is that they almost treat you like you are applying for finance to buy a home when you check in, they take a deposit from you which is supposed to be refunded within 7 days. It is now 8 days later and we have not seen our deposit. You feel like you are giving them too much personal information when checking in, and this is for a self catering place. I can only presume they have had problems before, and this is their way of preventing goods being stolen form their cottages. Fish River Sun across the road was slightly more expensive, and I would have preferred to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank darrylcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews