We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$92
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
See More Guest House(East London)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Resort Mpongo Private Game Reserve(East London)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quarry Lake Inn(East London)
US$149
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hoylake Inn(East London)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
The Hampton(East London)
US$97
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$185
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$73
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
76
15
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
15
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach morningplace offerslovely breakfastwent the extra mileperfect locationhome away from homesuerondavelsoapnahoonbushpleasuretranquilitycomfortcleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

The setting is beautiful and the lodging good, but the owner shattered my good first impressions with poor customer service.

I had to catch an early flight and asked if breakfast can be ready by 6am as I have to leave at 6:30. She said that wouldn't be a problem and would arrange with the staff to come in earlier. 6am came and i was left standing outside a closed main house for 20mins, when the chef arrived she said that she was never asked to come in earlier.

So when paying for a service, i'm expecting that the service provider will at least honour commitments made....

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Wynand V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susiepie2013, Owner at The Loerie Hide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Wynand,

I am deeply sorry for this unfortunate occurrence. It was unavoidable due to a personal matter and it is something that has never happened before and was as much of a disappointment to me as it was to you. Customer service is my highest priority and I strive for my guests to leave feeling content with every part of their stay. I am happy to refund you the money that you paid for breakfast, and once again apologize for the inconvenience that it caused you.
If you should ever return I would also like to offer you a bottle of Liqueur.

Blessings and best regards,

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Everything about this place was great, beautiful rooms, lovely breakfast, friendly staff and perfect location. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by a very friendly Sue that definitely goes the extra step for her guests. Would definitely recommend this place to everyone!!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nuraan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Stayed in the Rondavel at the bottom of the premises. Most unbelievable view over the valley from the "coffee table" deck. Friendly staff sees to anything you need and makes a lovely breakfast to perfection. Close to shops and some very nice restaurants. Feels like your in the bush.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms will be nice, but the Rondavel has an exquisite view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Corrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous place, felt at home straight away.
Room was absolutely beautiful- would loved to have stayed here much longer!
Owner Sue and her staff were marvellous- definitely well worth the trip here.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 796lesleyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

A really wonderful place to rest and recuperate. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff and good breakfast. Easy access to Wifi and a variety of places to eat out nearby. Will definitely return and recommend when in East London.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews