We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
80
16
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
16
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful garden lovely breakfast went the extra mile beautiful room perfect location sue hostess rondavel soap bush
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

The setting is beautiful and the lodging good, but the owner shattered my good first impressions with poor customer service.

I had to catch an early flight and asked if breakfast can be ready by 6am as I have to leave at 6:30. She said that wouldn't be a problem and would arrange with the staff to come in earlier. 6am came and i was left standing outside a closed main house for 20mins, when the chef arrived she said that she was never asked to come in earlier.

So when paying for a service, i'm expecting that the service provider will at least honour commitments made....

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank jimmyscadence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susiepie2013, Owner at The Loerie Hide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Wynand,

I am deeply sorry for this unfortunate occurrence. It was unavoidable due to a personal matter and it is something that has never happened before and was as much of a disappointment to me as it was to you. Customer service is my highest priority and I strive for my guests to leave feeling content with every part of their stay. I am happy to refund you the money that you paid for breakfast, and once again apologize for the inconvenience that it caused you.
If you should ever return I would also like to offer you a bottle of Liqueur.

Blessings and best regards,

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Everything about this place was great, beautiful rooms, lovely breakfast, friendly staff and perfect location. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by a very friendly Sue that definitely goes the extra step for her guests. Would definitely recommend this place to everyone!!!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank NuraanE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Stayed in the Rondavel at the bottom of the premises. Most unbelievable view over the valley from the "coffee table" deck. Friendly staff sees to anything you need and makes a lovely breakfast to perfection. Close to shops and some very nice restaurants. Feels like your in the bush.

Room tip: Any of the rooms will be nice, but the Rondavel has an exquisite view
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Corrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous place, felt at home straight away.
Room was absolutely beautiful- would loved to have stayed here much longer!
Owner Sue and her staff were marvellous- definitely well worth the trip here.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 796lesleyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

A really wonderful place to rest and recuperate. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff and good breakfast. Easy access to Wifi and a variety of places to eat out nearby. Will definitely return and recommend when in East London.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank GaryA2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews