We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded Expectations”
other travellers have booked this property
front of casita
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of casita
It's really  3010 Ironwood Circle but this is the 'nameplate' on the wall front enclosed patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
front of casita
It's really  3010 Ironwood Circle but this is the 'nameplate' on the wall
front enclosed patio
great room from entry area
great room to north (master bedroom)
great room to south (guest bedroom)
great room looking towards kitchen
from great room towards kitchen
view from kitchen towards dining area and master bedroom hall
view into great room from kitchen island
dining area from kitchen island
dining area of great room
rainbow over saguaro
master bedroom; king size bed
master bedroom door towards great room
master bedrrom
master bedroom desk
classic saguaro cactus
master bathroom
master bath with jacuzzi tub and shower beyond
left walk-in closet and linen cupboard
master bath showing linen closet/walk in closet doorway
laundry room off master bathroom again showing edge of wallpaper removed in fall 2012
October 2013 - sunset from nearby
hallway into guest room
guest bedroom
twin bed guest room
guest room
guest bath room
rear patio
friends and neighbors
bird family
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carefree, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Donald S
Grand Rapids, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I rented a condo in the Hayden/Thomas Road for January and February, 2015. It was our first extended stay in Arizona. The location was ideal for daily excursions around the Phoenix area, i.e, Tempe, Tucson, Wickenburg, Verde Canyon, Roosevelt Lake, and so on. The restaurants in Scottsdale were all within a short driving distance. The condo was a one bedroom with a larger room that served as kitchen, dining area, and living/TV area. The balcony overlooked a portion of the complex but a cluster of Palo Verde branches obscured the view, but failed to hide the dirty, messy deck. Parking was a chance effort in finding a space, and during our stay, we had been given three different designated parking spaces. The neighborhood was noisy with sirens, car crashes at the corner street, and even though there were plenty of walking areas, it lacked a pleasant feel.

For our 2016 visit, we wanted to find a rental that was a house, if possible, that included more room and a garage. This ruled out many of the rentals in Scottsdale, but not all of them. We also had been in the Carefree area in 2015, but it seemed “out there a ways.” However, as we searched what was available, this Casita caught our attention, and the fact that it was inside the Boulders Complex added to the appeal. It was difficult to ascertain the actual context including walking paths nearby. It was further from the main Scottsdale area, but we figured the drive into Scottsdale was not a deal breaker.

We were very pleased to have booked the Casita, and really appreciated Sue’s (the landlord) generous, welcoming attitude as we worked out the details of the contract and her welcoming visit the day we took possession. As it turned out, the Casita, the Boulders, and the Carefree area exceeded our expectations. Because the area is partially developed and because the the homesites are fairly large, the area away from the main streets is like driving through the desert. The Boulders is a huge complex (maybe a square mile) and the property has been carefully planned to maintain the desert atmosphere. All of the private and Corporate owned Casitas are landscaped with normal desert vegetation that is well-groomed and maintained. Every day as we slowly drove through the winding road to our Casita, we were driving on a road through the desert on every side. It was quiet, and walking on the golf course at night, we could hear and feel the desert birds and animals settling down for the night as the sun slowly set in the west giving colorful sunsets almost every night.

The Casita was very comfortable with a large center area with a corner kitchen a dining are in the other corner, and the remaining half a pleasant sitting area with TV and two sliders that opened onto an outside patio and a panorama of desert vegetation. One end of the Casita was the large master bedroom with a large bathroom. A closet and laundry were adjacent to the bathroom and very roomy. The opposite end of the Casita was a guest room with a bathroom and closet. The two stall garage was separate from the Casita and very roomy.

The house was very comfortable and we looked forward to returning to our little niche in the desert. It was so easy to walk out the door, and either direction we walked, we were walking through the desert admiring the houses, the vegetation, and watching the Road Runners skimming across the road and the quail with their little plumes bobbing with their heads as they also scampered along the road. We often walked down the road to the golf course and watched the sunset. I also took photos of the sunset from the road about two hundred yards from the Casita. The extra time required to drive “into town” was not an issue at all. Carefree has festivals every weekend, and the local shopping centers had most everything one needs, from Target to OfficeMax to yogurt shops and restaurants. We found a welcoming group of people at the Desert Hills Presbyterian Church with a minister who is a real person with insightful thoughts, and then we had breakfast at the local Good Egg or the Boulders’ restaurant. Thank you Sue and Bill!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The casita was very comfortable and the setting was like living in the desert.
Liked least: too cold to sit outside some days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
HI Donald,
Thank you for your very complete review; it's always nice to know that people in our casita find both the casita and the neighborhood delightful for many reasons. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Carefree, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The casita is great. Very comfortable, completely furnished.”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This casita was a great find. We stayed in November for almost 3 weeks. Close to golf, spa, great restaurants, 20 minutes from great shopping in Scottsdale, While it was just my wife and I, this would be very comfortable for 2 couples or a couple and 2 kids, and if you like each other a lot, 6. Hiking, quiet, all good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No problems
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
HI Dave,
Sorry to be so late; I had tried to respond sooner but Trip Advisor has made it more difficult that should be. Glad that our casita met your needs during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berthoud, Colorado
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and all the nearby interesting things to do
Liked least: Wish I had more time to enjoy my stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Thanks for your nice review; we are always happy to learn about our guest's evaluations and interests. We will be delighted to have you return at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MDTemple
WA State
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Three wonderful weeks in Carefree”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Good directions from the owners led us to this comfortable, inviting rental. Found the rental just as described in write-up. The unit was nicely furnished, clean and the beds were very comfortable. Rental is in out-of-the-way location so one can enjoy the peace and the beauty of the area. Great for walks inside the Boulder's area with many different streets and paths. Great amenities within the Boulders if want to use them. Great restaurants, golf courses and other offerings in local area. Grocery shopping close by while offerings of Phoenix and Scottsdale within easy driving distance. Enjoyed hearing and seeing the wildlife in the back yard. Enjoyed the Desert Botanical Gardens in Phoenix and attended a major Native American Crafts Faith at the Heard also in Phoenix. Great place to stay in a great location!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious rooms, clean and comfortable.
Liked least: No wifi, but owner will provide it next year.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed a comfortable stay in our casita.
We continue to make improvements and will definitely have internet connection next year. While you certainly knew the general Phoenix area from prior visits, you found plenty to do and the wildlife is fun to watch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kawasaki9...
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
“" Milk and Honey"”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Does it get much better than this for a get away vacation? Read the reviews for this property, add a touch of understatement--- presto, you will love it. My wife and I enjoyed a month at the Casita, had overnight friends drop by for short stays, they loved it. The comfort and convenience at the Casita is excellent. We have already scheduled next years outing. The surrounding area abounds with interesting restaurants, beautiful and easy hiking, delightful people, did I mention golf or the secure feeling of the property? Go ahead, treat yourself.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2014
Thank you Richard,
I hope the desert "glow" has followed you back home; we're happy that you enjoyed your time at our casita so much and will look forward to having you return next year. It's a special place for us and therefore it gives us great pleasure when our guests appreciate it similarly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$850
/
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing