We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaz Dar El Madina(Marsa Alam)
Book now, pay at stay
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaz Lamaya Resort(Marsa Alam)
Book now, pay at stay
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rihana Guest House(Marsa Alam)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Hills Resort Marsa Alam(Marsa Alam)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$153
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aurora Bay Resort(Marsa Alam)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$167
US$154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1 109)
Filter reviews
1 109 results
Traveller rating
330
457
175
99
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
457
175
99
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset barbeach bungalowbungalow roomwere greeted with cold towelsgreat diving schoolfishflat breadanimation teamegyptian notesneighbouring hotellarge hotelpatio doorsthomas cookbeach restaurantfabulous weekdiving clubel quesir
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1 109 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All staff were extremely polite and helpful. Room was of a good standard. Good variety of food in all locations. Beach is excellent for snookering beginners. We were very impressed with Guest Relations Managers Mr. Ali Kassem. He was very good with all the guests. Mohamed Moussa was also very helpful at reception desk. There are too many staff names to mention who impressed us with their positive attitude.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bryanhussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali K, Guest Relations Manager at Utopia Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest

Sunny greetings from Utopia Beach Club and a special greeting from Mr Moussa and Ali ,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your feedback coming from your stay in our hotel and also for your wonderful comment about hotel service and staff hoping to see you soon.

Thanks and best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived late was given room quickly but moved due to really loud neighbours. Was given a much nicer room. I never write reviews but feel like I need to with this hotel. Food wasn’t great breakfast flies everywhere they need to invest in some fly covers as they were all over the food. Hotel room was nice Air con was great. Beach was lovely coral reef is
amazing seen so many different fish. Only negatives are drinks all warm never any ice and they wash the cups with the tap water. Had a bad stomach for 3 days. This hotel needs ice cream you have to pay for it which is annoying. The beach staff reserve sun beds for guests that pay them money which I think is unfair and wrong. Hotel needs better entertainment at night as we were bored. I’m 28 but didn’t fancy sitting listening to karaoke ALL NIGHT. They had a show on one night but lasted for just over 30 mins then nothing for the whole night apart from some music being played. The staff always ask for money makes you feel a bit awkward. Hotel needs some paint as it’s starting to see its age.
The reason I decided to write this review was for the “customer relation manager” Ali he is one of the nicest people I’ve ever spoken to he is so friendly always says hi and makes conversation. He truly is a credit to this hotel and should be the overall manager.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali K, Guest Relations Manager at Utopia Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest

We wish you as Utopia Beach Club team a very nice day

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your feedback from your last stay in our hotel and also for your comment but we would like to clear some points you have mentioned ,first of all we have to apologize if you have received hot drinks and we will solve this problem by cooling the drinks all night to be served in the day ,about what you have mentioned that they wash glass with only tap water we have on the pool a for dish washer so the waiter after washing with tap water ,putting in the for dish washer not only cleaning but also disinfection ,about Ice cream is not for free but in the same time your going to find pan cake and fruit salads ,about the animation we will discuss with our chef animation to give more entertainment even as you know and have seen that our program is soft to avoid any disturbing the others ,about reserving the beds on the beach no booking ,but as you that the guests wake so early to go on the beach as we have guests wake at 05:00 in the morning to go to the beach but no one reserve ,all beds on the beach are free ,about tip as you know that the tip its up to the guest ,about drinks we have our drinks machine sometimes from the different bars we have ,service on the table with drinks for some old or family with children they have to care about their children ,but no service against tip,at the end a special greeting from Ali ,thanks a lot hoping to see you soon.


Best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this place last minute, reviews look good,what can be wrong ? In 10 + visits to Egypt this the worst hotel.

Drive to property is shoddy, hotel sign half illuminated should have been a sign.

Reception like a sauna, AC switched off, check in slow and laborious, no offer of any food and none in room.

One bell boy who insisted we couldn't walk to our room, after 30 mins waiting, he said 10, I told him we were walking end of. I assumed we we're waiting for a buggy or something but no, long walk across the resort, room was also baking hot.

No food or water provided, we sent him for some, two small warm bottles turned up close to midnight.

Room in fairness, sea view beach bungalow, was large and in the main clean, sofa rather stained, beds usual Egyptian hard. Sea view more of a glimpse. We did have a bed invasion of ants ( so did 2 other UK guests) all in the bungalows, but in fairness they sorted within minutes with full apologize and end of the day it's a hot country with bugs. Housekeeping were tbh very good.

1st morning, long walk to restaurant, you realise the tattiness of the place, crumbling in almost all areas. Pathways uneven and loose.

Buffet also lacks good AC , but does have flies lots, big issue needs sorting. Choice is very limited, worst I've ever seen, no flair or design, no drinks served all diy.

Pool area, ok lots of loose and broken tiles, pool cloudy most days but warm , never an issue with sunbeds round main pool but probably down to fact lunch is served at the beach unless you want hotdogs or burgers.

Point to note main pool bar just takes dirty cups rinses in tap water and gives them back out, we told guest relations,(Ali Kaseem, very nice chap) continued next day regardless. Best to use your water bottle or own cup as many did, at most bars soft drinks are self service.Ice though is almost none existing in fact never saw any, we asked but never had any I did get told it had been seen though ! Getting a cold drink can be a lottery.

Must mention beach grill lunch buffet, very small choice served in a ramshackle hut with a sand floor and no AC ofc, again food nice but venue awful. That beach shack needs demolition and rebuilding or open the restaurant like all other hotels.

Evening buffet ok, small choice no flair or presentation, flies again complimentary, never any theming ,ofc no drinks service, not once in 7 days were we ever offered a drink anywhere, even in lobby.

Staff seem to want tipping in advance to do anything. Even the pool boy ( yes just 1) usually the most eager for tips didn't bother, being absent most of the day.

Grounds are badly kept, grass uncut, litter remaining full 7 days. Seems a severe shortage of gardeners. None of the trees or palms trimmed like in other resorts.

Only once did we see activity and an improved buffet, that was to coincide with a photo shoot, it lasted a day before returning to normal.

The resort was probably lovely 10/15 years ago but seems to have had no maintenance since being built 24 years ago. Everywhere and everything needs maintenance, the grounds are a collection of empty buildings, bars etc none used anymore.

WiFi is charged per device and even then does not work inside the bungalows (270le per week per device)

Sorry for the negatives but it's how is, a poor shabby resort, with no service, where most things are extra, saving grace sun and good reefs, pay bottom dollar and you will get fed (as mentioned what food there is is nice), watered and a bed but there are far far better places in Egypt,

I'm actually shocked Thomas Cook use this hotel, in my opinion they shouldn't be sending guests here. 2 star at best. I wouldn't return nor recommended to anyone.

Ps that's not to say you can't have a good time here just set expectations low and don't pay much to come.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank wazza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali K, Guest Relations Manager at Utopia Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest

Have a nice day

We would like to thank you for your feedback and apologize to you if your holiday was not as you have planned but let us explain you ,first of all you have got one of our deluxe room which you can compare with 5 stars hotel in this room you have two bottles of mineral water every day even on your arrival ,also you have in the deluxe room all 5 stars room facilities such as coffee tee and kettle ,led tv mini bar shower cabin all this rooms category renovated ,check in takes only 5 or 10 minutes no more ,bellman takes you from the reception to your room while the second one gets your luggage ,as you arrived after dinner time we have booked late dinner in the main restaurant with alcohol or non alcohol drinks till midnight or after ,about what you have mentioned about service against tip ,no one ask the tipping and in each area you are going to find drinks machine where you can get a drink with glass without asking to the waiter or you can get from any bar all the day from 10:00 in the morning till midnight ,about breakfast in the main restaurant with a huge buffet as in the other hotels different choice ,late breakfast on the swimming pool from 10:00 till 11:00 ,lunch you have two choice the first on the pool snacks the second on the beach with buffet where you are going to find meat ,chicken and fish like the same hotels,pizza time served on the beach ,later pan cake on the beach and in the same time you find some sweets in the sun set bar with coffee and tee and many other drinks ,dinner we have different buffet such as the Egyptian on Monday ,international buffet where you are going to find meat,fish,chicken ,tun fish makarel fish and calamari,and as you know we have opened the Mexican restaurant where every week all guests have once per week for free ,we have fish dinner in our beduin tent but against charge with live music ,about building we have done a lot of renovation and we still do a lot to keep our maintaining ,the gardens we care about our gardens as we have green every where as we have the hugest one between the others ,if you don,t enjoy we have to apologize but our hotel the only one where you are going to find a lot of repeaters from Germany ,England ,Italy and even france ,Poland and Czech ,our beach the most beautiful one on the Red Sea ,about what you have mentioned that the boy on the pool cleans the glass with only water ,it,s not true after washing with water he puts in the for dish washer with high temperatures so not only cleaning but also disinfection ,we hope that we have cleared the situation.


Thanks and best regards
Hotel management


Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Very friendly employees. Renovated rooms are lovely. Very large Hotel area with different gardens and playgrounds for smaller children. Good for families.
Excellent place for diving. One of the best dive sites in south Egypt

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 540tommasoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali K, Guest Relations Manager at Utopia Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear guest

Sunny greetings from Utopia Beach Club

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience coming from you stay in our hotel and we would like to thank you for your wonderful comment about hotel service staff and beach ,thanks a lot hoping to see you again

Best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Arrival - Late night delayed flight hotel checking was efficient and luggage was delivered to room - cold towels and a welcome drink followed by the restaurant opening late for us.

Room - Beach bungalow faultless large beds slippers dressing gowns - toiletries daily cleaning and towels. FRESH WATER DAILY LEFT IN FRIDGE.Paid for 1 week WIFI & had no problems in coverage.

Resort - This is not a disco resort more for relaxation and families large complex Multiple paths - gardens - Swimming pools and slides were always clean .
Towel scheme is ideal you are issued with towel cards which you can exchange for fresh beach towels either at the pool or beach and return after use as often as you need.

Food- Always found something to eat varied dish's (The food at the beach was my favourite with fresh breads being cooked)My son would have preferred the option of a plainer option at meal times I.E Chips - etc fresh cooked omelettes at breakfast are recommended.

Beach - What can I say safe area for family and the option to go snorkelling over the site reef I encountered - Moray eels - stingrays - lion fish - and a multitude of tropical fish even in a foot of water. Also an osprey was living close to the beach taking fish for dinner.

Staff - They make this resort always helpful and courteous The guest relations manager Ali is a professional who was always present and making sure your stay was problem free I have never met such a dedicated individual if you have any queries or special needs make him aware. I have to say a big thankyou.

Trips - We went on the half day quad trip - Brilliant deserts ,beach's etc followed by camel ride and cold drinks. Also we went snorkelling from the local port to see turtles,(Be aware this was from a zodiac boat in open water and a long swim for beginners) But the staff were very attentive and made you feel safe

Safety - Security Not once did I feel unsafe or worried any where I went and found the Egyptian people I met to be helpful and friendly.

Travelling advice - Take euros everywhere you go prices are in euros apart from rep trips. Onsite cashpoint changes English notes to Egyptian with a better exchange rate than in England you will struggle with large Egyptian notes I.E £200
Also Thomas cook say you only need passport to travel False - The hotel will require your travel document and so will the security at the airport (I had to log into email and prove before they would let me through )Cost me 6 quid thanks Thomas cook print 3 copies to be safe.
Overall I would recommend and hope to return .

Room Tip: Beach bungalow was more than worth the extra.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robleach666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali K, Guest Relations Manager at Utopia Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear guest

Sunny greetings from Utopia Beach Club

First of all let us than you for taking the time to share with us your experience coming from last stay in our hotel and we also would like to thank you for wonderful comment about hotel rooms food service and staff ,special thanks from Ali ,we are so glad to hear from you that you have had a very nice holiday and that you have enjoyed your vacation in our hotel ,thanks a lot hoping to see you soon

Best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews