We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly hosts, beautiful setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holmws Cottage 2

The Cottage from the south side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage from the south side
The sunny patio The cottage taken from the West
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Cottage from the south side
The sunny patio
The cottage taken from the West
Living room style
small bedroom
cottage shot
we do get snow sometimes!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newport, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
HertzVR
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts, beautiful setting”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Great spot for a stay of any length. The hosts are the perfect blend of friendly, professional and helpful, and obviously take pride in the welcoming atmosphere they create. The cottages themselves are charming and well looked after, and the location perfect. Its a fifteen minute walk to the beach, or a 25 minute walk into the town. We will certainly stay again, and would recommend to any family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T B
Cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really lovely cottage and getaway”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was a last minute booking for a weekend away..and what a beautiful treat we found!
Cottage was clean, homely and had dishwasher/washing machine and...well everything you could possibly want!
Very quiet, off the beaten track but close to plenty of areas of interest..beach..castles..etc.
We did stumble a bit trying to find the location..the entrance is quite discrete when you are trying to find it in the dark! But I think that was more our fault!
The hosts were very friendly and made you feel at ease within minutes.
Would recommend to everyone and will definitely be doing a return visit.
Thank you Laura!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie n
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing!!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

the best short break ever ...fabulous welcome for both us and our two dogs, all facilities as advertised we couldnt have asked for more...ideal location for exploring either by foot or by car....we practically had to drag the dogs home !! a truly beautiful place ideal for a short or a long break, the peace and quiet was just what we were after but not too far away to go for a lovely pub lunch in newport or even poppit sands.

ps laura and andrew were amazing hosts we would go back in a heartbeat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikiex
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage, Great Location, Great Hosts!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We needed a last minute cottage and really got lucky with this one. Ideally situated just outside the pretty village of Newport and not far from the main coast road (yet you wouldn't think it as its so quiet!). The hosts made us feel relaxed straight away and it felt like a home from home. Our kids (6 and 9) enjoyed playing with the swing and wandering the farm, which we felt was a safe environment to let them explore. The cats and dog were all very friendly with the kids too. The cottage was well equipped and especially good to have a dishwasher and washing machine. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and hope to return ourselves in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: No wi-fi (but sometimes its good to get away from technology!)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasminepl...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Well equipped cottage in beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were made very welcome, the cottage had everything we needed and was very clean.
It was in a great location , bays and beaches and walks plus close enough to Newport to walk in at night for good pubs and places to eat.

We would definitely return to this cottage especially in springtime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location- quiet countryside.
Liked least: Happy with everything
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing