We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alaska Birch Syrup & Wild Harvest Products : Kahiltna Birchworks Shop
Open today: 10:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Quite Interesting

Coming from northern New England originally, I was most intrigued by the whole process of the birch... read more

Reviewed 11 September 2021
Questovia
,
Mount Dora, Florida
Enjoyable stop

Great way to break up the drive from Fairbanks to Anchorage. We stopped by based on the positive... read more

Reviewed 29 August 2021
859TK
,
Cincinnati, Ohio
Read all 111 reviews
  
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
82
27
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
82
27
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short video definitely worth the stop raspberry rhubarb fun stop tasting gifts sap alaska processed batch denali
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2021

Great way to break up the drive from Fairbanks to Anchorage. We stopped by based on the positive reviews on TA and glad we did.

Small store with samples of most products. We joined the free tour, but I would call it more an info session. We went to the back room to watch a short video, saw the machinery, heard about the process and more samples.

Tried all sorts of birch syrups, candies and birch waters.

Worth a stop.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank 859TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

Nice, informative video, tour, and tasting. Highly recommend.
Gift shop tastings and selection were great!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank N6166BKlaural
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2021 via mobile

The Kahiltna Birchworks is absolutely worth your time on a trip north of Anchorage. We added this pleasant little detour as we traveled from Anchorage to the Denali Park area. In about an hour, we partook in a tour of the birchworks (complete with several birch samples!); sampled jams, hot sauces, and toffees in the gift shop; did some shopping (so many great gifts!); and indulged in a few scoops of ice cream (birch flavored, of course). Not only did Kahiltna satisfy our sweet tooth, but we learned a bunch, too!

Be aware that the shop is quite small. Be careful if you show up with a large group or with lots of small children.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Nataleitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2021

Fun stop! This little shop provides a brief and informative tour, free tastings, and birch related goodies, local art, and other items for purchase. Definitely worth the short detour off Parks Highway and a delightful place to stretch your legs and learn a little about the challenging job of harvesting birch syrup.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank AprilJ0Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2020 via mobile

We loved the tour and tasting different batches of birch syrup. Their story is authentically Alaskan and inspiring. We also enjoyed our birch waters, a uniquely Alaskan beverage. Highly recommend this stop close to the Parks Highway.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M-East907, Owner at Alaska Birch Syrup & Wild Harvest Products : Kahiltna Birchworks Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Thanks for stopping in, glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews