We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
20
6
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
6
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner hilltop toilet loft cabin moose deck
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

This was a great place to stay, we rented the Hilltop cabin. Beautiful scenery, provided a hair dryer, WiFi worked great, beds are comfortable, and it was very clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NMtraveler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We were amazed at the attention to detail. This little cabin had everything we needed and was beside a lovely lake with boats and life preservers available to enjoy it. We were very comfortable for 2 nights. Really! They really paid attention to detail. We would have loved to have stayed longer. But you need to know a few things: 1) the bed is in a loft and you must negotiate steep stairs in a narrow space to access it. 2) The toilet is an "Incinolet" (a toilet that incinerates the waste). Follow the instructions carefully or get help from the owners who are very accessible. It's not hard, but if you don't do it just right, you won't have the best experience. 3)You cannot drive to the cabin to unload and there is a rather steep path to the cabin. They provide a hand truck, but it's still rather difficult to negotiate if its heavy.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyfishingJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, Owner at Talkeetna Lakeside Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

The cabin is 288 square feet and advertised as “try tiny house living” so a lot has to fit into a small area. I have made access to the cabins as good as possible without destroying the natural setting and provided the hand truck to get those heavy checked pieces of baggage to your cabin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We stayed in the Hilltop cabin, which looked deceptively small from the outside. However, the inside was spacious and well furnished. Instead of going into town for dinner, we purchased charcoal and groceries at the local grocery and used the grill on the deck to cook dinner. It was absolutely lovely to eat dinner on the deck overlooking the beautiful lake. The owner told us a moose had been in the yard earlier in the day. While rowing the property's boat in the lake that evening, we saw the moose and her calf come to the edge of the lake to drink. What a treat!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Planned a short weekend trip to Talkeetna in hopes of a great northern lights show. I am very happy I chose this place! We stayed in the Hilltop which was very clean and cozy. The fire pit out back overlooked the lake and was private. Didn't get a light show but the moon was amazing. I will definitely be returning.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank 4TheSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

This year was the second time we stayed here, and without a doubt, we will stay here every time we come to visit Alaska. The cabins are exactly what we want "the iconic Alaskan cabin in the woods". They are nice beautiful cabins on a lake where we watched beavers and loons swim back and forth. However, our added bonus was how peaceful and relaxing it was every time we have stayed here. We love it here and the owner Wayne is kind and non intrusive. Like I said earlier, we will stay here every time we are in Alaska,

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelengineer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews