We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful farmstay”
other travellers have booked this property
Milk and Honey Cottage your idyllic cosy spot, nestled in the beautiful Maunganui A Te O Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Milk and Honey Cottage your idyllic cosy spot, nestled in the beautiful Maunganui A Te O Valley
Peaceful walking and beautiful river views to see Comfortable queen bed with a stunning rural outlook
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Milk and Honey Cottage your idyllic cosy spot, nestled in the beautiful Maunganui A Te O Valley
Peaceful walking and beautiful river views to see
Comfortable queen bed with a stunning rural outlook
fully equipped kitchen, microwave/oven also here.
Modern spacious bathroom
no matter the time of day, or the season, the outlook is always great
family friendly
a working farm, with much to see and do, should you choose
Milk and Honey Cottage
Our stunning valley setting
exclusive fishing access
within easy reach of the adventures of the Tongariro National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cudgeraki...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful farmstay”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Such a lovely place to stay. Off the beaten track and well worth the drive. The cottage is nice & very comfortable. Meagan & John were amazing hosts. They are extremely helpful in terms of information & things to do & made the most delicious meals & chocolate cake (which was enjoyed sitting at the outside table with a stunning view over their farm). We loved exploring their beautiful farm, particularly the river and the walk up the hill with views of Mt Ruapehu, encountering a few wild deer on the way. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2016
Thank you Brad &Monica...a pleasure for us to meet you all and host you. You are more than welcome. Kind regards Meagan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyEric...
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our stay at milk & honey cottage could not have been more perfect!”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

meagan and john's farm and location in the makakahi valley is utterly stunning - we had never seen such beautiful countryside. we were thrilled to be able to join john on a farm tour, and to be able to try some of meagan's brilliant farm-to-table cooking - one of the best meals we have had! the fresh milk and homemade muesli for breakfast were such a treat! the cottage was exactly as described, and we had everything we could have possibly wanted or needed - meagan was kind enough to reassure we could trouble her for anything we may need as well. communication was extremely easy, with great directions and early caution that we would be off the grid - without cell phone service and very limited internet. a great place for a retreat and time to relax and explore the countryside - could not more highly recommend. we are hoping to visit again soon - we miss it already! thank you again for everything meagan and john! :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Thank you Kelly...great guests to have here, we look forward to seeing you both here again anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaC8...
1 review
“Most relaxing and welcoming place I've ever stayed!”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I stayed at the Milk & Honey cottage with my husband and two young children for a weekend to get away from our busy lives. We were welcomed with the most amazing baking and sweet notes from Meagan and John. They are very inviting and make you feel right at home! The cottage has such tranquil decor and the entire place in general actually had a calming effect on us. We went for walks to the river and the kids absolutely loved playing there. When we put the kids to bed we lay in bed and watched a movie which was really nice. I would totally come back again and again after feeling so refreshed and renewed when we left. Thanks John & Meagan!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Thank you Jess. We love seeing you and your family here anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrwallace...
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Location, location, location !”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The journey to this treasure seems a bit like a journey to the end of the world,BUT when you get there you just want to stay, and stay, and stay. And drink in the loveliness of the surroundings . The cottage is cosy, comfortable and generously prepared and provisioned and the hosts are so happy and kind - they really like people!
We give it a maximum rating, not for grand luxury, but for the rich, refreshing and restorative experience it was to stay at Milk and Honey Cottage

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again, anytime. Most welcome guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing