We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:01 - 23:59
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Alaska Sportfishing Adventures, LLC tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
37
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain sandra salmon fishing great trip fishing trip awesome experience excellent fishing catch fish smoked salmon filet cruise ship coho limit rods alaska eagles scenery
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Captain Sandra led us on an amazing adventure. We caught a bunch of salmon and received almost 50 pounds of cleaned fillets when we returned home. The day was incredible and beautiful. Sandra was so helpful in training us with all aspects of “the catch” so we could successfully reel in and net the fish. Thanks for making our Alaskan adventure so wonderful!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank stacyk106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Captain Brian put us on fish! He worked hard to find us fish and we put 8 salmon in the box (and missed 4 more)! Great half day fishing trip in Ketchikan on 19 August 2019. All gear supplied and they picked us up and dropped us back at our cruise ship.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank imsavvy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Captain Sandra is the best and really showed us all a good time. Sandra really knows about the fish and helped us to catch some beautiful salmon to bring home. She is amazing and gave this family such a wonderful experience. We will book with her again when we get back this way.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

This was our first time fishing in Alaska and we had a great time. We are a family of 4, our kids are 11 & 14. This was their first fishing trip and we did the morning trip. We were promptly picked up and the driver was lovely. She dropped us off and Captain Robert took over. He’s very genial and after tooling out in the bay about 10 minuets, we started fishing. We caught 4 Pinks and 2 Silver, which they smoked or filleted and shipped back to us. The fish arrived frozen & well packaged. This was the best part of our cruise due to the resident eagle who circled after our first catch.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We paid around 1700 for this charter.capt Sandra was very nice but we didn’t catch a thing.I wish we knew the salmon were not running before we booked this.very disappointed with this fishing charter it is the only one I’ve been on that we were not put on fish.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at Alaska Sportfishing Adventures, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Jay:

I feel you're being a bit unfair, to give a one star review because you did not catch fish on a fishing charter feels incredibly unfair. It is peak King salmon season, King salmon are the largest of the North Pacific salmon species and are highly prized as a sport fish. During King salmon season not everyone will catch a fish. That is how the fishing is we cannot control the fact that sometimes people do not catch fish. If it were that simple we would call it a catching charter and not a fishing charter. You say that Sandra was very nice so it does not appear that you had a problem with her performance only the simple fact that you did not have the good fortune to catch a fish. I understand it's disappointing but we cannot guarantee that everyone will catch a fish on every fishing charter. To post a one star review simply because you did not catch a fish, I don't think there's any other way to put it than to say that's being a poor sport. I would appreciate it if you would rethink the review that you have posted, I feel it is unfair to Captain Sandra who is a very high-quality boat captain and fishing guide and also unfair to our overall operation. You have my sincere apologies that you did not have the good fortune to catch a King salmon during your fishing charter with us.

Carol Dooley, Owner & Operator, Alaska Sportfishing Adventures, LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Captain Sandra and Matt were wonderful! Went out on the Scarlet Grace. Seas were a little rough, but were handled well by Captain Sandra. Our time on the boat was a little short (long story, no fault of Captain!). Caught 4 Coho, 2 Pink, 1 Cod, and 4 King which were released because they were out of season. Lots of fun!!! Highly recommend going out fishing with Captain Sandra on the Scarlet Grace!!!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Nomad319785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews