We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney Cruise to 49th Fathom Charters”

49th Fathom Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 49th Fathom Charters offers premier sport fishing and whale watching tours in Juneau, Alaska. Whether you’re visiting or you call Juneau home, our goal is to create an exciting and memorable experience on the water for you and your family/friends. Featuring all female captains with a combined 35 years of experience, we bring a unique edge to the chartering community.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 28 June 2018

I booked the Family (2 Adults and 3 teens) for 6 hours with Captain Shelby. What a great day of fishing. We dropped lines in the water in less than 30 mins and had 2 Halibut on the boat within 5 minutes. We caught our limit of 5 Halibut in less than 30 minutes. We then moved over to Captain's secret spot for some rockfish, but we were there for the Salmon. However, we were a bit early in the season (June 22nd) so the Salmon were not in high numbers, however after trolling for 20 minutes Captain Shelby hooked up a nice 25 Pound King Salmon. Unfortunately we only caught 1, but thats fish'n. Captain Shelbys boat was really nice, she also supplied us water and sandwiches. After 6 hours in beautiful Alaska Captain Shelby drove up back to the Disney Ship with more than enough time to see downtown Juneau.
I Strongly Recommend Captain Shelby for your fishing charter.

Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captain S, Owner at 49th Fathom Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

That was such a beautiful King Salmon, I am so glad we hooked into that beaut! We were able to do and see so much this day. Lets do it again sometime soon. :) Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rock fish"
in 2 reviews
"caught fish"
in 2 reviews
"halibut"
in 7 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 3 reviews
"great boat"
in 2 reviews
"hour trip"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 2 reviews
"whale watching"
in 3 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 2 reviews
"shelby"
in 10 reviews
"processor"
in 3 reviews
"fished"
in 3 reviews
"deck"
in 2 reviews
"capt"
in 3 reviews
"orcas"
in 2 reviews
"dock"
in 2 reviews
"wildlife"
in 2 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2018

I tagged along solo with 3 other gentlemen for an outing of Halibut and Rockfish fishing. Originally I had wanted to go for Kings/Chinooks but Captain Shelby was very honest that the salmon fishing hadn’t been great that week and suggested going for Halibut and Rockfish. I took her advice and the Captain didn’t disappoint - within 30 minutes of dropping line the boat had limited on Halibut! We then spent the next 3 hours on Rockfish and the boat limited on everything before heading home.
Captain Shelby’s boat the Alaskan C Shell is fantastic - rides great with plenty of amenities and it’s fast!
Both Captain Shelby and Holly (deck hand) were fantastic at keeping our hooks in the water with tasty treats the fish couldn’t refuse.
You’ll see whales and marine life along the way, too :)
Highly recommend using 49th Fathom

Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captain S, Owner at 49th Fathom Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

This was a great day on the water! We were able to hook into just about everything we came across. Enjoy your fish! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Our family arrived in Juneau the first week in June. My daughter booked a half day fishing trip for my grandson, son-in-law and myself as a guys adventure. Captain Shelby picked us up next to our Princess Cruise ship and drove us to the marina where her boat the Alaskan C Shell was docked. Captain Shelby and her deck hand Holly quickly made us feel at home and we were soon skipping across the water on our way to go fishing for rock fish.
After my son-in-law hooked an octopus (it took both Shelby and Holly to peel it's sucker's off the boat and get it back in the water) we started catching fish. It seemed like Captain Shelby kept the boat on top of the fish and we were able to enough fish that we were only one short of our limit.
My grandson is four years old and both Shelby and Holly made sure he was safe and had a fun time. On the way back we were able to stop by an island and soon had over a dozen Eagles flying around the boat and just over our heads. Next time I'm in Juneau you can be sure I will visit 49th Fathom Charters again.

Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captain S, Owner at 49th Fathom Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

This was such a fun day on the water and that octopus was such a fun catch for everyone! I'm glad we were able to get you guys lots of rock fish. I look forward to taking you out fishing again soon in Juneau!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We booked for 1/2 day fishing. Captain Toni picked us up when our cruise ship docked and took us straight to the marina. After a short boat ride we fished for rock fish, yellow eye and tiger fish. We had continuous action. Caught numerous fish including a 35" ling cod. Was told this was the first one in 2 years. On way back in we stopped and watched a show put on by bald eagles!! You can bet we will book with them again if our travels take us back to Juneau. I can not recommend them high enough. Great boat, clean environment, quality equipment and knowledgeable friendly guides. Do yourself a favor and book a charter with them.

Thank J. Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captain S, Owner at 49th Fathom Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

It's great to hear you had a fun day out on the water with Captain Toni. She said she had an amazing charter celebrating your wife's birthday and the other couples 50th wedding anniversary! Your ling cod was a great rare catch for the Juneau area and something to be very excited about it. We look forward to taking you back out fishing the next time your in town! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

After a Flight seeing Trip Captain Shelby picked us up at the airport and escorted us to her boat for a 2 hour whale watching trip. We were a family of 4 with two little girls Captain Shelby made all of feel welcomed and educated the girls on the whales and what to look for. Captain Shelby is very knowledgeable and you can tell she is loving what she is doing! We were lucky to see Humpbacks, Orcas, seal Loins and lots of Bald Eagles! We had an amazing time the only thing we wished we had was more time so we could have had Captain Shelby take us fishing as well!

Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captain S, Owner at 49th Fathom Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thanks for the great feedback Jennifer! There was so much to do see on that day, it was incredible. So glad you got to see the orcas! I sure do wish we would have had more time to do some fishing as well, but thats even more reason to come visit us again in Juneau. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 49th Fathom Charters also viewed

 

Been to 49th Fathom Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing