We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of my trip!”

Glacier Wind Charters
Ranked #1 of 18 Tours in Hoonah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glacier Wind Charters provides personalized, small-group whale watching tours departing from Hoonah, Alaska near Icy Strait Point. Icy Strait affords our guests a unique whale and wildlife watching experience which will be enjoyed aboard our specially designed catamaran, Kohola. With a lifetime of experience on the local waters, captain Shawn has been providing our guests with memories that will last a lifetime since 1995.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Captain Casey lead us on an amazing journey for whale watching. We appreciated all the knowledge he shared with us as we were boating to our viewing location. Teresa was as kind as could be providing us with water and hot chocolate as well as transporting us from the ship and back. What a great experience!

Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, Owner at Glacier Wind Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for your kind words for Captain Casey, we are so glad he's been able to work with us again this season. We're glad you had an amazing time - and having it be the highlight of your cruise means a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain shawn"
in 57 reviews
"salmon dip"
in 54 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 26 reviews
"crackers"
in 18 reviews
"sea otters"
in 39 reviews
"whale watching tour"
in 29 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 32 reviews
"salmon spread"
in 11 reviews
"great couple"
in 4 reviews
"snacks and drinks"
in 11 reviews
"small boat"
in 20 reviews
"her husband"
in 12 reviews
"a family run business"
in 5 reviews
"based on reviews"
in 5 reviews
"icy strait"
in 24 reviews
"provided binoculars"
in 3 reviews
"clear directions"
in 3 reviews
Filter

55 - 59 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

We recently cruised into Icy Strait Point with a group of eight on The Princess Island. We really wanted an up close whale watch experience so found Glacier Wind Charters on Trip Advisor. After very helpful email conversations with Teresa, we booked both boats for a four hour tour and split up 4 and 4 with each boat also carrying an additional two people. From this perspective I can give a true review of the ENTIRE operation. From the beginning, Teresa was on top of all the details and never skipped a beat about giving clear directions on how to navigate Icy Strait Point. This was important because one of our group uses a wheelchair and needed additional assistance to get to the meeting place. Teresa met us and delivered us right to the dock where we boarded with Captain Shawn and Captain Casey. Our two skippers gave us great tours (provided binoculars if we needed them) and we saw many humpbacks, lots of sea otters (with their babies on their chests), sea lions, and even brown bears on the shoreline. We were sorry when it was time to return to port, but again, Teresa was there to greet us and drive part of the group back to the ship while the rest of us walked (an easy flat walk along the shoreline path). Did I say customer service was top notch? One of our group left a tote on board the boat and Teresa sent it back to the cruise ship with a later customer and called and emailed us to be sure we knew where to find it. Five stars all around!

Thank colbygrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, Owner at Glacier Wind Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you very much for your Top Notch review. It means a lot to us. We are so glad that everyone had a great time that afternoon and that your group didn't mind "splitting up" and going on the two boats. You all are super nice folks. I'm glad the tote made it back to its owner to have for the rest of the Alaskan adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Do yourself a favor and book your Whale Watching with Captain Shawn. WORTH EVERY PENNY. Only 6 people on the boat at a time. PLENTY of room for everyone to get GREAT pictures. Saw Bald Eagles, sea otter, sea lion and of course WHALES. Also, Teresa does a GREAT job of picking you up and dropping you off. Both are EXTREMELY nice and very knowledgeable. I do not think we could have had a better time. From the time you book, till the time you get back on the ship. They keep you well informed with clear directions. CAN NOT SAY ENOUGH GREAT THINGS ABOUT THIS TOUR!! (OK, the ABSOLUTELY beautiful weather MIGHT have had a little to do with our good time!)

Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, Owner at Glacier Wind Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for writing a TERRIFIC review for us! Having room for everyone, 6 or less, to get around for the best views is important to us as well. We are glad you had a great experience from booking to returning to the ship! We want it that way, for sure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Icy Strait point has to be the best place to see Whales - they even greeted us before our Celebrity Infinity Ship docked. Not only Whales, Eagles ..we can die ahppymore than we could count and Bears too..... we can die happy!
Thank you so much to Captain Casey
From the start of our trip, being collected by Theresa and arriving at the dock to board the 6 person boat - it was all perfect. Even the weather was good.
I am sure we had the best sighting so far this season, from groups of Whales bubble feeding to a mother bear with 2 cubs feeding at the waters edge - we got so close to them all.
Thank you all again for a wonderful trip.

Thank olismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, Owner at Glacier Wind Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

We are glad you are able to tick this off your bucket list!! What a wonderful trip - seeing the bubble feeding whales and even bears! Having perfect weather was definitely a bonus. Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review for us! It is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Just got home from our Alaska adventure. We booked a whale watching tour with Glacier Wind Charters and they wowed us. Captain Shawn and wife Theresa were great. Small boat with room for only 6 passengers made the outing comfortable, intimate and relaxing. Captain Shawn and his son on another boat communicated when whales were spotted. Captain Shawn is very knowledgeable of the area and had great stories to tell us. Also great at finding whales - we saw a lot of them. Well worth the money spent. I highly recommend Captain Shawn and Glacier Wind Charters - you won't be disappointed if you book too!

Thank bchwsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, Owner at Glacier Wind Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Glad you had a wonderful, relaxing time with us! Looking at your great whale tail pictures is very relaxing! Thank you for taking the time to explain about your trip and recommend us! That's awesome you saw lots of whales!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glacier Wind Charters also viewed

 

Been to Glacier Wind Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing