We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded Paradise on Alaska Coast”
La Caleta in Sadie Cove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Caleta in Sadie Cove
view from upstairs view from kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
La Caleta in Sadie Cove
view from upstairs
view from kitchen
kitchen
inside of door
Outside door
Sauna and showerhouse
La Caleta and the sauna
Dolly Varden trout
It takes lots of work to get this done!!!
Arrange to see the Katmai Brown bears across Cook Inlet
Let's see, bear viewing or sailing?
Fun day sailing on Sadie Cove
kayaking and tidepooling
High Tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Homer, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jessica K
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secluded Paradise on Alaska Coast”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I don't even know where to start. This place was magical, to say the least. My husband and I stayed for 6 nights at La Caleta/Sailwood Adventures. Marcee and Willie (the couple who own the property) were amazing hosts. From the water taxi to the cabin, to the Chilean bottle of wine they left us to enjoy, they were just great. The cabin was built by Willie, and it is a work of art. It's cozy and has everything you need to enjoy your stay there, including many kayaks, a paddle boat, and misc things for the kitchen. There is a wood fired sauna and a bath house to enjoy and you even have an amazing view from the outhouse! The area that the cabin is located is very remote, which is what we were looking for. It almost feels like you own the entire cove. We kayaked every day and enjoyed watching all the wildlife. We saw a couple of black bears in the lagoon, tons of bald eagles everywhere, mountain goats on ridge across from the cabin, sea otters, seals, jellyfish... you name it. I could go on and on, but I'll just say... BOOK THIS PLACE. You won't regret it.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind words Jessica! We enjoyed meeting new friends from far away. Jessica and her husband were well prepared and up for adventure. Thanks for checking us out and including us in your Alaskan adventure! We look forward to seeing you folks again soon :-)
Take care, Marcee and Willie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janicet
El Sobrante
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical and Enchanting”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I had 3 magical days at La Caleta. The home is absolutely stunning. Not just the views, which are magnificent but also the artistry of the home itself. We collected blue lip mussels (the sweetest mussels you could imagine), clams (there was an exceptionally low tide so we could harvest butter and little neck clams), we fished, hiked, read, played cards and connected with nature. Marcee and Willie are wonderful, kind and helpful people that are easy to connect with and call friends. The boat ride with Willie was very cool. Prepare to come back home revitalized and renewed.

Liked best: Location and beautiful home
Liked least: out house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy G
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“PRADISE!!”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a week at La Caleta in July with our two boys 11 and 13. It was the trip of a life time. we never heard any complaints about them being bored with no tv, internet, phone or video games. There was plenty of adventure and scenery to keep us all happy! We fished and kayaked everyday!!!. The house was comfortable and cozy. The sauna was a nightly treat for the whole family. We are already planning our next trip and would love to stay longer. Marcie and Willie were fabulous hosts! Everything was perfect.

The only tip I would have is don't forget towels for the sauna :)

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and facilities
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheriGrim...
Kasilof, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I am always looking for unique vacation spots locally for my anniversary, and this was by far the most unique and special place so far!!! It is just magical!!! The views and serenity we found there were unparalleled!!! We were visited by porpoises, sea otters, a family of river otters, and when the tide came up, the jellyfish that came right in to shore were amazing to watch. Even though it rained the second day we were there, the view was still beautiful!! The house is a fantastic work of art in itself, and it is so fun to wake up and have that view of the mountains every morning!!! We will be going back. Willie and Marcee are warm and welcoming and make you feel like you have been friends for years upon meeting them. As a local, I recommend this experience to anyone looking for a soul renewing alaskan experience!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peacefulness and lack of people around
Liked least: Having to leave!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly...
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adventure, secluded, enchantment, magic, love, this place has it all”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights with two families of four. Willie was a gracious and kind host. We had no idea what we were getting into, but this place delivered in spades. It is a one-hour boat ride to arrive in a heavenly cabin Willie built with his bare hands in a very rugged cove in the middle of Kachemak Bay State Park. The extreme tides exposed hundreds of starfish and anemones. We caught fresh fish with the children and cooked them over the open fire. We gathered mussels for a fresh seafood stew. The cabin itself is stunning. I brought a book and couldn't read past the first page, with so much to do and see, there simply wasn't time. At night we lit a fire in the Sauna and then tried to fall asleep while gazing at the full moon outside our floor to ceiling windows. There is no denying that an experience like this only comes along once in a lifetime. If you are looking for a luxury accommodations with fancy towels and linen service, this place is not for you. If you are looking for the true Alaskan experience with nature right outside your front door, then dive right in to heaven at Sadie Cove. Thanks so much, Willie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing