We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at quaint roadside roadhouse”
Review of Gwin's Lodge

Gwin's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The historic Gwin's Lodge is located in Cooper Landing in the Kenai Peninsula in south central Alaska, which is known as "Alaska's playground." We are the closest lodging near the confluence of two world-class salmon streams - the Kenai River and the Russian River. Gwin's Lodge is open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and has 17 cabins that can each accommodate 4 to to 6 guests with two cottage houses that can each accommodate up to 12 guests.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

When you need a stop for lunch along your way between Homer and Seward, stop here. Skip the large towns further on. Have a piece of carrot cake too. Scrumptious and big!

Thank architect102015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

YES please stop in hungry travelers! We do need more people to stop to support Gwin's Lodge & Roadhouse! Our low pricing requires a higher volume to break even and we have not been meeting that level. We currently have fish & chips for $15. Thanks for your support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2018

The mock bear and crab battle near the highway got our attention! We stopped for a great meal. Amazing burger and the carrot cake was delish. Wonderful stop on our adventure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Great! Thanks for the great review and 5 stars! We have low prices for the area and need volume so thanks for dropping in and spreading the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Fun bar and restaurant with a small tilt at the bar literally. Good beer and a few antimatter locals. Only dropped the rating for the food prices and quantity. Worth a stop if you need a refreshment.

Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thanks for stopping in! The slope is very significant!! The 1/2 lb. hand made Angus burger with fries is $13 so that is very inexpensive for being in a remote national forest in Alaska that only has good business volume in June & July. Please come often as like to please people with the delicious food made from the best products yet at a reasonable price. Draft beer at the brewery in Anchorage is $7/pint and we server the very SAME Glacier IPA for $5. Please come in as we need high business levels to compensate. Try our homemade appetizers and deserts like our famous carrot cake. Be patient if we are packed and enjoy a beer. We want to be around for another 66 years but we need your support! Thanks again! Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Many years ago my Grandfather, Father and I ate here daily. It was imperative that I drive from Anchorage immediately after my plane landed to eat here years later. Not disappointed at all. The staff and locals were quite friendly. Keith was willing to take a few moments out of his busy day to sit and visit. Place was very busy and food was great! Recommended highly!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ErikSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thanks Erik and thanks for the history on the surrounding area!

NOTE: Fishing has been great! Come check out our new menu and try a cabin for the week for the best rate with meal credits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Driving through Cooper Landing we stopped for dinner at Gwin’s. The place was full but we were able to grab an open table. The food is similar to a diner. We ordered the Philly steak sandwich, which was a generous portion of grilled steak, onions, and bell peppers served on a buttered and toasted hoagie roll - open faced. The sandwich came with fries. We were so full with the sandwich that we did not get to try their delicious desserts. The burgers also looked very good. We will have to try it next time we’re driving through Cooper Landing.

Thank MarktheWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, General Manager at Gwin's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you and see you again! We also have cabin rentals. If you book direct you get a $20 meal credit per cabin day rented.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gwin's Lodge also viewed

 
Cooper Landing, AK
Cooper Landing, AK
 

Been to Gwin's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing