We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good comfortable home with great verandah”
other travellers have booked this property
Polynesion styled villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Polynesion styled villa
Large under-cover outdoor area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Polynesion styled villa
Large under-cover outdoor area
Living room with ocean views, flat screen TV & blu ray, air con(on request), louvre windows, fan
Living room
View from the verandah
Lounge area
Modern oak kitchen well equipped. Open plan.
Dining area
Kitchen area looking across to dining
Kitchen with island bench
Wardrobe in bedroom
Master bedroom with Queen bed
Spacious Bathroom. Large shower. Toilet is separate.
Spacious Bathroom. Large shower. Toilet is separate.
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Large laundry located on the first floor.
Enjoying Ootu beach, Aitutaki
View from the verandah
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rustyjamt...
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good comfortable home with great verandah”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Te Vai Moana Villa is actually a relatively new 2 storey home set on a large flat block of land.
it has a terrific verandah thats very large with good tables and chairs. We spent more time here than inside.
2 bedroom, user friendly kitchen, downstairs laundry and lots of friendly chooks. Oh and some cool local piglets who like to come and say g'day.
We found this place very comfortable. You need to rent a car on Aitutaki. Its a great little island to drive around.
We wont hesitate to book here again in the future. Aitutaki is a very special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A house away from other tourist accomodation
Liked least: Nothing. All good
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris j
Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect tropical home away from home in paradise”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed with our 3 adult children on our last family holiday together as 2 of our children were about to 'fly the coop'. Te Vai Moana was hard to find but who cares, we saw more of this beautiful island getting there. The house was fantastic, very comfortable and modern. It was within walking distance of the market and town centre but easier to have a car or scooter for early morning market trips. Meali (housekeeper) had stocked the fridge and fruit bowl with local produce and asked if there was anything else we needed. The impression given was nothing would be too much trouble. Beds and lounge room were comfy, laundry and bathroom were well appointed. Drinking water was provided with free top ups of water available at the market. Te Vai Moana had UV treated tank water for washing and showering. Internet was available once a ticket was purchased at the local Telecom Cook Islands. Good for emails and minimum surfing.
The louvre windows provided a beautiful cool breeze of an evening....no need for aircon.
It was great to be able to use the TV to look at our photos from each day.
Puk & Sara went above and beyond in helping us prepare for the trip with maps and all the little secrets of places to see and where to get this and that.
The market provided breakfast each morning (Island Donuts) and a taste of local cuisine. There's not much at the market of a weekday but donuts but the Saturday market there are many treats to try.
We loved the laid back people of Aitutaki and through chatting to some locals scored an invite to the local primary schools Island Dancing night which was a real treat!
Sunday Church was not to be missed..what an amazing building and such passionate parishioners! Pacific Islanders are amazing singers and their harmonies are perfection.
We took a snorkelling trip to One Foot Island with Bishops Cruises and although no bells and whistles like the bigger tours it was by far better as we got more personal attention. NB Take your own snorkel & mask as those provided were a little worse the wear with some mould but everything else was A1 including the beautiful lunch at One Foot. Snorkelling with the Giant Trevally’s was an experience not to be missed too.
We loved Aitutaki. Unfortunately it rained for 5 of our 7 days there which was a bit disappointing but also made us extra glad of such a roomy house as we had plenty of space to just hang out without being under each others feet. Our loss was Aitutaki’s gain as they had been without rain for some time and it was desperately needed.
We will definitely be going back and certainly staying at Te Vai Moana!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house had room for the family to spread out.
Liked least: Roosters crowing at 4am but all part of the experience. Reminded us we were living in the community, not a resort so not a negative really.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to having you back soon! We have passed on your kind words to Meali.
Regards,
Mii
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were welcomed at the airport by the hostess Meali, who presented us with the most beautiful necklace made entirely of gardenias. The scent was fabulous.

Meali drove us to the villa and showed us around, and explained where things were etc.

The villa is very modern and was very clean and neat when we moved in. During our stay, Meali cleaned the villa and changed the linens for us.

Location: The villa is a short walk to a beach and the main town centre. We liked being in a street with locals next door instead of in a resort with other tourists.
There is lush greenery on the other side and at the rear, and a grassed area in front, so it’s very private and quiet.

The Villa: On the ground floor there is a laundry with a large washing machine, sink and linen cupboard. Outside the laundry is a large concrete area under the deck which has a washing-line and is a good spot to park the scooter.

Upstairs on a large deck there is a dining table, two-seater couch and BBQ.
All windows are screened and the glass louver windows on all sides allow the breeze through all areas of the villa.

The open-plan lounge, dining and kitchen area is spacious and comfortable.

One bedroom has a double bed with a single bunk bed over it, block-out curtains, a wardrobe and a chest of drawers.
The other bedroom has a queen size bed, block-out curtains, a chest of drawers and bedside tables with reading lamps.

The bathroom has a large shower, a vanity basin, 3 towel rails and a storage unit.

The kitchen is spacious and fully equipped with a full-size fridge/freezer, a 4-burner cook-top and oven. There is also a microwave oven, large toaster, blender, electric mixer and kettle.
The kitchen also features a double-bowl sink, an island bench and ample cupboards.
There is a good supply of cutlery; cooking utensils; crockery; plastic-ware and a set of quality saucepans etc.
Also a coffee plunger and a great set of knives, as well as tea-towels, oven-mitts and even an apron!
We found plastic-wrap, paper-towels, salt and pepper and dried herbs and spices in the pantry.
Included in one of the cupboards is an iron, ironing board, first aid kit, sun-screen, fly-spray, vacuum-cleaner and other cleaning products, as well as mozzie coils.

The lounge area was very comfortable with a TV, DVD/CD player, lounge, coffee table and amazing cane chairs to curl-up in. There was also a telephone and Wi-Fi.

All rooms had ceiling fans which we didn’t use much, as there was usually a cooling breeze.

The View: There is a great view of the lagoon from the deck through the palms. The bedroom windows look out onto a lovely tropical view of palms and greenery

We enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay at Te Vai Moana again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and quiet.
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thankyou for your review. Sounds like you loved the Villa as much as we do! We look forward to you staying at Te Vai Moana again soon.
Kia manuia,
Miimetua
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRCLofCO
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, noisy neighbourhood”
Reviewed 20 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Te Vai Moana for three nights and found the house to be well equipped with everything we could possibly need. After seeing much of the island I think it's one of the nicest houses which is all the more impressive considering the building materials, fixtures, furnishings and probably craftsmen were all imported.

While we enjoyed the house, it is situated in a neighbourhood with several families that raise free range chickens. As there is no fence around the house we were awoken every morning between 3:30 am and 4 am by the sounds of several rosters right outside the bedroom windows and the sound continued until between 9 and 10 am. It was impossible for any of us to sleep once the animals started, even when we wore earplugs, hence the lack of sleep made renting this house a 4 star experience.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleywel...
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful location, wonderful accommodation, great people who bend over backwards to look after you.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$177
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing