We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Perfect”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Tahiti beach house

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
house and mountain private outrigger canoe
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
house and mountain
private outrigger canoe
tahitan neighbour fishermen
master's bedroom
living room
tahitian food
fresh raw fish and coconut milk
breadfruit from the garden
smooth lagoon
white sand
rainbow in the evening
sunset bliss
living room from the loft
roofed alley through luxurious garden
room 2
Bathroom 2
room 3
pieces of art
fresh tropical fruit
room 2 and alley
gardens
kitchen
bathroom 1
master's bedroom
terrace, front garden and lagoon
outrigger canoe
morning or evening glaze on the lagoon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Moorea, Society Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
yogagirl4...
Ilwaco, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having never been to French Polynesia I didn't quite know what to expect in terms of amenities and comfort in a private home. Tahiti Beach House is perfectly set up for a long term stay. We were three girlfriends traveling together and each of us was comfortable in our respective bedrooms. If there had been more of us the loft has more beds as well. The main area of the house has oodles of sitting areas although we spent most of our time out on the deck or in the yard. The yard became our morning base for yoga practice. The dogs and crabs kept us company. Kind and thoughtful Natea made sure we had what we needed and connected us with people who could take us on tours. We are active travelers and had something arranged for each day. Living next door, Natea regularly checked in evenings and weekends. Julienne, the longtime housekeeper, masseuse and now part of the family, gives outstanding massages and is one of the nicest funniest people I met. We had lengthy conversations in French full of hand gestures and laughter. I give her lots of credit for improving my French skills while there. I would have loved to have spent more time with the two of them. Frederic, another family member, took care of our car needs and checked every day to see what fish had been caught. He had designs to cook us a meal, but wasn't satisfied with the catch of the day. One evening Natea arranged for her former sister in-law to cook for us a traditional Tahitian dinner at her house. Nita was at one time the best Tahitian dancer on the island and we were in for a one of a kind treat. She not only made the best meal we had- sooo many ways to prepare fish-- but also played the ukele and sang and danced for us. Her Brazilian husband is equally talented and both made us feel right at home.

The house is within walking distance of a fantastic French coffee shop, Carmeline. They have breakfast, lunch and the best pastries we found in French Polynesian. We could also walk to the ATM and the Moorea Beach Cafe, a great place for sunset and dinner. We were able to go for runs along the road and snorkel right out from the house. I saw a shark and sting ray though for truly incredible snorkeling you will want to go to the Lagoonarium. We did find that having a car was a necessity. All three of us agree that a hotel or resort is no match to the quality of vacation that can be achieved through a home stay. I would not look any further than Tahiti Beach House.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReJoyceJo...
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Tahitian Beach Front House in Maharepa, Moorea”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a great way for my husband and I to experience the island and culture of Moorea with 6 of our good friends! We traveled as a group of 8 adults and stayed in this wonderful, cozy, Tahitian beach house, right at the water's edge, in the heart of the island's biggest little town, Maharepa.
This house is not modern, so if that's what you're looking for, keep looking. This is a real island beach house that was built by the owner's father 35+ years ago! The house has 3 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms on the main floor, each room having a king size bed. The loft on the 2nd floor, has 2+ beds, queen & king size. There are also 3 more couches in the Living Room that could accommodate 3 more people if you needed more beds.Only the main Master bedroom which has its own bathroom has A/C, the rest of the house has fans.
The best part of the house, in my opinion, is it's location! Right out the back of the house is a large grassy backyard, and just beyond that is the clam beautiful ocean with great snorkeling. Keep swimming/paddling just past the deeper, darker blue water (we saw 15 Monterey swimming down at the bottom here!) , about 50-100 yards out, and you'll come to a shallow sand coral area with lots and lots of fish, unique sea shells and coral...it's amazing!! The house comes with a 1 person kayak (we fit 2 people) and a 2 person outrigger (we fit 3 people but we tipped it!). Then we also rented 3 stand up paddle boards for the week from Mika (he owns an independent SUP business on the island, http://www.fenua-standuppaddle.com) who dropped the boards off at the house for us, and then picked them back up. So, we had plenty of water toys for everyone for the week. Plus we all brought our own snorkel gear, fins, vests, etc. so we never ran out of things to do.
The house comes with a bbq grill so most days we grilled fish, chicken or steak for dinner and ate out back on the picnic table under the stars in our bathing suits! Then we often danced the night away on the backyard deck. The owner told us the next morning that she loved hearing us having such a good time!
The grocery store is just across the street, which makes it very convenient to buy daily fresh baguettes, croissants, Hinano Beer, etc. Liquor is very expensive here, glad each of us brought some in water bottles packed in our suitcases! Shopping for jewelry/souvenirs is just up the street 1/2 mile, best shopping on the island is right in this town, Maharepa. We did venture out to the Sofitel Hotel & The Moorea Pearl Hotel for 2 dinners which was a quick 5-15 minute drive away, very nice to see & experience. It is pricier than eating at the house of course, but we expected that and had 2 wonderful nights out all dressed up in our resort casual wear.
We only did 1 paid excursion for the week and it was AWESOME, The Lagoonarium (look for my review on Trip Advisor). It's about a 25 minute drive from the house, 10 minutes past the ferry/dock area, past the hospital and a big "Locals" grocery store (best/cheapest place to buy groceries, beer etc. All the local residents shop there). The Lagoonarium was a highlight and only $35 US Dollars per person for all day, including boat transport to and from the little jewel island! It's a must do when in Moorea.
The house comes with a german shepherd dog name "Itsu." Very well behaved, doesn't beg for food, doesn't come in the house and loves to swim with anyone who enters the ocean. Everyone took turns falling in love with him.
Bring water shoes, the beaches here have a lot of coral. I was happy that I brought Neosporin and bandaids because someone fell off the paddle board and scraped his back on the coral. It healed nicely. Bring an underwater camera with several SD cards because you will take a lot of pictures, esp when you go to the Lagoonarium! Also bring plenty of DEET for mosquito repellent! I recommend bringing a blow up snorkeling vest, mask and your own fins so no matter where you go you have your own equipment that is fitted to you, your face, your feet, etc. This way you can thoroughly enjoy the sea life under the water without frustration of equipment that doesn't fit or work, and/or fear.
On the very last full day we rented 2 cars, 1 from the owner of the house and the other from a car rental at the ferry, and drove around the island in about 1 1/2 hours. It was a nice drive to see the entire island. If you do this, visit Tamae Beach to see the aqua blue water. If you get hungry stop at Snack Makaha, you'll see it on the one and only main road. They serve great seafood and burgers!
I hope you enjoy your visit to this wonderful island & Tahitian beach house. Tell the owner, Natea, "Joyce" says hello.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house, the water, the backyard, affordability for group of 8 to travel together
Liked least: No complaints!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: on the water --great coral and fish to see
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
los angeles california
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScottHaid...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Perfect Place to Stay with Friends”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My wife and I and a couple of friends stayed here for a week in June, and could not be more positive about our time at the Tahiti Beach House. Natea was so welcoming, kind and helpful. This is not a holiday apartment, rather it is a big spacious and breezy house, which is great for relaxing and sharing good times with family and friends. While there is a cat and dog, they are both lovely and do not cause any troubles at all (just entertainment). We hired a scooter, as transport really is necessary, and spent a lot of time around the wonderful different places on the island. It is also very affordable when compared with other options around the island. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing