We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chain Japanese gets it pretty wrong”

Matsuri Restaurante Japones
Ranked #122 of 851 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 May 2017

This review is for the La Sabana location, across from the Hilton Garden Inn, but I think it must be consistent given the chain nature of the restaurant.

I ordered soba tempura - broth was way too sweet, and soba was clearly from a packet. The tempura was well fried but the tempura was thick and tempura red bell pepper will always (ALWAYS) be a mistake. It seems that instead of sweet potato they used carrot? Shrimp were bland. For $20 a bowl, a very poor show.

Perhaps their sushi is better. They have a large menu, and their beer is cold. Still, very disappointing.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We've been there for a couple of times, the menu is overwhelming in the positive sense, have tons of choices to choose from, all dishes we tried were delicious and with adequate portions, service was fast and friendly, prices a bit on the high end but ok for the great quality of the food and service.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank ronny_sanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

here with business associate and ordered thr Benti Box #1. They brought our miso soup, piping hot with lots of flavor. Great Service and so far good food as well. I'd make this a place for good japanese food. looked at other people's plates and was impressed.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Some of the best sushi I've had in CR! Matzuri resto's always have good, clean and cosy establishments. It is expensive, but worth the visit.

Date of visit: December 2014
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014

I have been at Matzuri several times now. the food is fresh and tasty. the chef prepares the sushi right there. waiters are very courteous and the attention is pretty good. I recommend the place for a nice and relaxing dinning or even at lunch time it will work fine.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DafnerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matsuri Restaurante Japones also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
Curridabat, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Matsuri Restaurante Japones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing