We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$107
US$102
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$138
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$99
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fleur de Lys(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$56
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Casa Colon(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aldea San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Costa Rica Guesthouse(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$41
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
162
165
93
27
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
165
93
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini barcosta ricanational stadiumbig parksabana parkbreakfast was excellentrooms are comfortablehotel is locateddental workvery nice hoteljavierserranoshuttleconciergebellboygymbedding
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Staff and Manager very helpful. The food in the Restaurant is super good.
Thank you Chef Andries Mendez and Mr. Javier Soto. Chef Mendez is a great Chef.
Captain Javier Soto helped me avery day with my food selection since I don't speak
Spanish.. The people at the front desk very helped my with all my questions.
The room was very nice and quiet. I also liked the gym. Location is the best.
I enjoyed Sabana Park, walking to food stores and bus stops.
I hope I can stay there again soon.
Angela Ghaman

Room Tip: I was on the upper floor, very quiet and darkening drapes, wood floor and very comfortable bed.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank total027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Angela

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your visit to San Jose, we are glad everything went well during your stay and that our staff service was one of the most important highlights of your stay.

We pay extra attention to details, work based on our clients suggestions to be able to offer a better service every day.

We thank you for rating us here on TripAdvisor and hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Palma Real for 10 days! The staff was beyond helpful and knowledgeable of all the activities around the area! They assisted in setting up trips and stated which were great and which were just okay! We were never disappointed. Javier, Jose and Ederick were the best! Javier and Jose made reservations and all arrangements for our excursions for reasonable prices! They pick you up and dropped you in front of the hotel! Maria at the Reception desk was great too! She was more than willing to help and assist you in anyway! You make out better exchanging current at the Hotel casino than at the Airport or anywhere else! We stayed long enough there that we became close and they all hated to see us go! I would recommend this Hotel just on the great staff members they have! The breakfast is good and rooms are fine! Not 5 star hotel but very nice! The hotel is located outside of San Jose notions far from the airport! If you are going to rent a car take the shuttle to the hotel and there are rental company closer to the hotel than the Airport! You just call and they will drop it to you at the hotel. We realized you really don't need one if you are going on excursions they pick you up and drop you at the hotel! The taxis are not expensive and everything is pretty close by! All around we had a good stay at the Palma Real Hotel!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SonGeo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for selecting us during your visit to San Jose, we are happy to see that you had a great stay and that our services, facilities and most importantly our staff, helped make your stay special.

Making the stays of our clients something unforgettable is our goal, this way you will be taking back home beautiful memories our our country and our hotel.

We thank you for your comments and for your recommendations. We will be pleased to have you again as one of our guests if your travel plans bring you to Costa Rica.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

This was our second time to stay at Palma Real. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was cool and comfortable and quite attractive. The free breakfast is reason enough to stay here. So many interesting fruits,cheeses and juices. Always an egg and meat dish and lots of great breads.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Barbara

Thank you for your preference, we are so glad to see returning customers and even more glad to hear that everything has been great while staying with us.

At our hotel, all our guests will always receive the best service and quality in all areas of the hotel. We can see that you enjoyed of the breakfast included in our rates, a very good variety of options for your enjoyment are available every day. There are more free perks in our rates, such as free Wi-Fi and airport transportation, our reservations department will gladly explain all this before or after booking.

We thank you for rating us and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We slept in this hotel after our flight and we must say, it was a great stay. The staff is really really helpfull and the breakfast is great. Rooms are spacey and very clean. The perfect beginning/ending for your Costa Rican roadtrip!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dennisvanevert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Dennis

Thank you for sharing details of your stay and rating us here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that everything went well while staying with us and that our staff and services helped make this happen.

We aim to please all our clients and we can tell we succeeded with you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We've been staying in this hotel two times during our trip around costa rica. First time when we arrived in the evening after a long flight from Amsterdam. We checked in fast and received a room at one side of the hotel, room 314. The room was just ok, bathroom was small, nothing special. The second time, at the end of our trip, we received a room at the other side, room 303. This room was recently updated I suppose. Nice clear room, with spacious bathroom. Our complimentary breakfast was very good, lots of fresh fruit, warm costa rican specialities, cakes,...
Special thanks to the man who was responsible for the safety of the (small) parking lot. He was so friendly and took care of our rental car.

Room Tip: choose wing at right side of the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Ann

Thank you for sharing details of your experience at our hotel with all of us and also for rating us here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that you had a great stay and that our services, facilities and staff were up to your expectations.

We are in constant renewal, to be able to offer our clients always the best service and quality. Also our staff will always try to make your stay a special one.

We hope to be able to serve you again when your travel plans bring you to Costa Rica.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews