We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location, Good Breakfast, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We stayed for both our first and last night in Costa Rica. The rooms are comfortable and nice and the breakfast is good value. There is a casino but we never went. The gym on the top floor was pretty reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Judy

Thank you for sharing with all of us details of your stay at our hotel. We are happy to see that everything went well.

We are the ideal place to start your Costa Rican discovery, our facilities, staff and services are the best complement for this adventure. Our buffet breakfast has a wide selections of dishes for your enjoyment, this way you can start the day with renewed energies and enjoy of all the country has to offer.

We thank you for rating us and hope to have you as one of our guests again when your travel plans bring you to San Jose.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Staff and Manager very helpful. The food in the Restaurant is super good.
Thank you Chef Andries Mendez and Mr. Javier Soto. Chef Mendez is a great Chef.
Captain Javier Soto helped me avery day with my food selection since I don't speak
Spanish.. The people at the front desk very helped my with all my questions.
The room was very nice and quiet. I also liked the gym. Location is the best.
I enjoyed Sabana Park, walking to food stores and bus stops.
I hope I can stay there again soon.
Angela Ghaman

Room Tip: I was on the upper floor, very quiet and darkening drapes, wood floor and very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank total027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Angela

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your visit to San Jose, we are glad everything went well during your stay and that our staff service was one of the most important highlights of your stay.

We pay extra attention to details, work based on our clients suggestions to be able to offer a better service every day.

We thank you for rating us here on TripAdvisor and hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Palma Real for 10 days! The staff was beyond helpful and knowledgeable of all the activities around the area! They assisted in setting up trips and stated which were great and which were just okay! We were never disappointed. Javier, Jose and Ederick were the best! Javier and Jose made reservations and all arrangements for our excursions for reasonable prices! They pick you up and dropped you in front of the hotel! Maria at the Reception desk was great too! She was more than willing to help and assist you in anyway! You make out better exchanging current at the Hotel casino than at the Airport or anywhere else! We stayed long enough there that we became close and they all hated to see us go! I would recommend this Hotel just on the great staff members they have! The breakfast is good and rooms are fine! Not 5 star hotel but very nice! The hotel is located outside of San Jose notions far from the airport! If you are going to rent a car take the shuttle to the hotel and there are rental company closer to the hotel than the Airport! You just call and they will drop it to you at the hotel. We realized you really don't need one if you are going on excursions they pick you up and drop you at the hotel! The taxis are not expensive and everything is pretty close by! All around we had a good stay at the Palma Real Hotel!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SonGeo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for selecting us during your visit to San Jose, we are happy to see that you had a great stay and that our services, facilities and most importantly our staff, helped make your stay special.

Making the stays of our clients something unforgettable is our goal, this way you will be taking back home beautiful memories our our country and our hotel.

We thank you for your comments and for your recommendations. We will be pleased to have you again as one of our guests if your travel plans bring you to Costa Rica.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

This was our second time to stay at Palma Real. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was cool and comfortable and quite attractive. The free breakfast is reason enough to stay here. So many interesting fruits,cheeses and juices. Always an egg and meat dish and lots of great breads.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Barbara

Thank you for your preference, we are so glad to see returning customers and even more glad to hear that everything has been great while staying with us.

At our hotel, all our guests will always receive the best service and quality in all areas of the hotel. We can see that you enjoyed of the breakfast included in our rates, a very good variety of options for your enjoyment are available every day. There are more free perks in our rates, such as free Wi-Fi and airport transportation, our reservations department will gladly explain all this before or after booking.

We thank you for rating us and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We slept in this hotel after our flight and we must say, it was a great stay. The staff is really really helpfull and the breakfast is great. Rooms are spacey and very clean. The perfect beginning/ending for your Costa Rican roadtrip!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dennisvanevert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Dennis

Thank you for sharing details of your stay and rating us here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that everything went well while staying with us and that our staff and services helped make this happen.

We aim to please all our clients and we can tell we succeeded with you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1,2 km away
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
1,2 km away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#41 of 78 in San Jose
245 reviews
2,9 km away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,2 km away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
0,9 km away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
0,7 km away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Real Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Real Hotel & Casino

Address: AV 9 Calle 50 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 250, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: R854 - R1 342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Palma Real Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from San Jose center, the capital of Costa Rica, and only 15 minutes by car from Juan Santamaria International Airport. Furthermore, it provides easy access to the main business, shopping and leisure areas in the capital. In 2010 the hotel was renovated and presently boasts very modern facilities and many services, especially for guests visiting San Jose on business. The hotel has a fully-equipped business center with internet access, photocopiers, fax, messenger service and plane ticket confirmation service. In addition, it has comfortable and spacious rooms that will make your stay relaxing and pleasurable. The Palma Real hotel has obtained the Sustainability Certificate, which helps to preserve one of the most virgin destinations in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palma Real Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Palma Real Hotel San Jose
Barcelo San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing