We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel to stay overnight while waiting for a plane”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Very good hotel to stay overnight while waiting for a plane, or when you first arrive. Rooms are big, there is an outdoor pool, and breakfast starts early which is a plus. Roughly 15 minute drive to the airport. A few places to shop for supplies in the area (walking distance) and a few restaurants too.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JoeJets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thanks, we also make a great central home base destination for over fifty tours that leave from Adventure Inn each day; canopy ziplining, whitewater rafting, volcanoes, hot springs, animal rescue centres, rainforest adventures, horseback riding, waterfalls, coffee plantations, cultural and historic locations, the Central Market, museums, souvenir shopping, banking, golf, even bowling. Spend a few days on any of a hundred beautiful jungle back drop beaches on two warm oceans like so many global destinations but since you are in Costa Rica, also take time to check out some of the unique and different family and couples experiences found away from the beaches.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 2 518 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017

I run a tourist-centered business in the Caribbean village of Puerto Viejo, we are very selective of where we recommend our guests stay entering/leaving the country. Adventure Inn offers a warm welcome, and demonstrates the classic Tico courtesy that CR known for. Staff are (at least) bi-lingual and informed about local area and many of the destinations and attractions. Guests are greeted by a doorman who assists them with their luggage, receptionists clearly describe hotel's amenities and features, providing advice on meals, shopping, tours, etc. The hotel is in an area that is very safe and walkable to several excellent restaurants, a well-stocked market, and some tourist shopping centers.
Rooms are generously sized, with TVs and many channels in English and Spanish, seating areas, comfortable beds, overhead fans and attractive cultural decor.
I assume people traveling to Costa Rica want to see/experience a foreign culture and scenery. This hotel is my go to lodging to start their vacation with ease and to end it sealing the memories in a comfortable departure.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you so much. With a plethora of hotels to choose from, yet so many travel agents recommend us to their clients as their 'go to' hotel in our area, we must be doing most things right, though admittedly, there is always room for improvement. Free airport transfers, large comfortable accommodations, indigenous decorations, an included unique breakfast experience, an inviting pool and Jacuzzi, value pricing and a friendly, knowledgeable and efficient staff all help Adventure Inn rise above the rest. Book direct and save.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The staff is outstanding. I loved working with the gentleman who helped me book the rooms. They are conveniently located, with a grocery store and several restaurants in easy walking distance. They have a great bar and restaurant on site. Everyone there went out of their way to make certain we had a nice stay. I can't say enough good things about the Adventure Inn. When I return to San Jose, I will be staying with them!

Room Tip: Location, cleanliness and service were all outstanding.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank lovesthec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for the kind review. My staff certainly love their work and it shows in their attention to details. I give them our guest reviews and it allows them to realize how a visitors think and feel in a new country, and to help visitors get the most out of their vacation. We have free airport transfers, comfortable clean, 'jungly' accommodations, a great breakfast, a friendly restaurant and bar, an attractive pool and Jacuzzi, a convenient location and seven travel advisers on staff to help you rent a low cost new vehicle, advice on day tours, private and semi-private transfers to and from anywhere in Costa Rica. We even founded our own 177 member hotel association with discounted hotels strategically located all over Costa Rica, search for ADVENTURE HOTELS OF COSTA RICA. We aren't perfect but there is nobody who tries harder for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Returned to the Adventure Inn with some friends new to Costa Rica. As usual, we had a great couple of nights.
Everyone is very friendly, .. the rooms are comfortable..things are so clean!
And the owner was so responsive and quite helpful to me regarding scheduling tours! We really enjoyed the La Paz Waterfall Garden tour with the company Eric recommended, and today had a wonderful visit to Irazu volcano (and beyond) with a private driver that the owner recommended (hi Ronald!)!!!
The tour information on the web site is spot-on for selecting things to do and making reservations!
I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

It is such a privilege to share beautiful Costa Rica with appreciative guests, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Eric, owner of the Adventure Inn, and his staff, made my wife and my first of many trips to Costa Rica memorable and relaxing. We bookended our 8 days in Costa Rica with one night stays at the Adventure Inn and it was the smartest decision we made.

Chill out, shake off your micro-management and let the Adventure Inn staff handle the details. They picked us up at the airport the night we arrived and provided veggie and chicken wraps when we got there. We rented a car through Adventure Inn, got a competitive price and they delivered the car to the hotel exactly when we wanted it.

A hot breakfast is included and the food is fresh and delicious. Upon our return to the Inn we worked remotely by the pool and even took a dip in the clean water. All the while sipping 2 for 1 happy hour drinks and finally enjoying another fresh meal for dinner. And oh yeah - the rental car, they picked it up at the hotel and we didn't have to go anywhere to return it.

The morning of our departure there was no problem with the shuttle to the airport. Clockwork!

Trust Eric and his staff, and leave it to the Adventure Inn team when flying in and out of San Jose, Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Let the staff handle everything and don't overthink the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thanks so much for the five star review. We aren't perfect and everything doesn't always go like clockwork, travel is travel, but there isn't anyone who tries harder to take the stress out of your vacation planning. With free airport transfers, and private and semi-private transfers arranged to and from anywhere in Costa Rica, low cost new car rentals, over fifty day tours to choose from our location and our own 177 member Costa Rica hotel association that we founded and operate, each offering a 10% discount, search for ADVENTURE HOTELS OF COSTA RICA, why stay at a brain dead hotel?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6,7 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
945 reviews
7,8 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
9,4 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9,1 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
989 reviews
5,9 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1 537 reviews
7,9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: R1 306 - R1 850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing