We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$98
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$133
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$103
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fleur de Lys(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Casa Colon(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$52
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aldea San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Costa Rica Guesthouse(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$41
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amon 1894(San Jose)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (2 612)
Filter reviews
2 612 results
Traveller rating
1 718
687
132
55
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 718
687
132
55
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportmoon glow restauranteric robinsoncosta ricalast nightkoi pondfree shuttlefree breakfastfree international callscar rentalhot tubnext morningthe san jose airportrestaurant barrooms are largepura vidaan early flight
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 2 612 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2017

I run a tourist-centered business in the Caribbean village of Puerto Viejo, we are very selective of where we recommend our guests stay entering/leaving the country. Adventure Inn offers a warm welcome, and demonstrates the classic Tico courtesy that CR known for. Staff are (at least) bi-lingual and informed about local area and many of the destinations and attractions. Guests are greeted by a doorman who assists them with their luggage, receptionists clearly describe hotel's amenities and features, providing advice on meals, shopping, tours, etc. The hotel is in an area that is very safe and walkable to several excellent restaurants, a well-stocked market, and some tourist shopping centers.
Rooms are generously sized, with TVs and many channels in English and Spanish, seating areas, comfortable beds, overhead fans and attractive cultural decor.
I assume people traveling to Costa Rica want to see/experience a foreign culture and scenery. This hotel is my go to lodging to start their vacation with ease and to end it sealing the memories in a comfortable departure.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you so much. With a plethora of hotels to choose from, yet so many travel agents recommend us to their clients as their 'go to' hotel in our area, we must be doing most things right, though admittedly, there is always room for improvement. Free airport transfers, large comfortable accommodations, indigenous decorations, an included unique breakfast experience, an inviting pool and Jacuzzi, value pricing and a friendly, knowledgeable and efficient staff all help Adventure Inn rise above the rest. Book direct and save.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The staff is outstanding. I loved working with the gentleman who helped me book the rooms. They are conveniently located, with a grocery store and several restaurants in easy walking distance. They have a great bar and restaurant on site. Everyone there went out of their way to make certain we had a nice stay. I can't say enough good things about the Adventure Inn. When I return to San Jose, I will be staying with them!

Room Tip: Location, cleanliness and service were all outstanding.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank lovesthec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for the kind review. My staff certainly love their work and it shows in their attention to details. I give them our guest reviews and it allows them to realize how a visitors think and feel in a new country, and to help visitors get the most out of their vacation. We have free airport transfers, comfortable clean, 'jungly' accommodations, a great breakfast, a friendly restaurant and bar, an attractive pool and Jacuzzi, a convenient location and seven travel advisers on staff to help you rent a low cost new vehicle, advice on day tours, private and semi-private transfers to and from anywhere in Costa Rica. We even founded our own 177 member hotel association with discounted hotels strategically located all over Costa Rica, search for ADVENTURE HOTELS OF COSTA RICA. We aren't perfect but there is nobody who tries harder for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Returned to the Adventure Inn with some friends new to Costa Rica. As usual, we had a great couple of nights.
Everyone is very friendly, .. the rooms are comfortable..things are so clean!
And the owner was so responsive and quite helpful to me regarding scheduling tours! We really enjoyed the La Paz Waterfall Garden tour with the company Eric recommended, and today had a wonderful visit to Irazu volcano (and beyond) with a private driver that the owner recommended (hi Ronald!)!!!
The tour information on the web site is spot-on for selecting things to do and making reservations!
I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

It is such a privilege to share beautiful Costa Rica with appreciative guests, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Eric, owner of the Adventure Inn, and his staff, made my wife and my first of many trips to Costa Rica memorable and relaxing. We bookended our 8 days in Costa Rica with one night stays at the Adventure Inn and it was the smartest decision we made.

Chill out, shake off your micro-management and let the Adventure Inn staff handle the details. They picked us up at the airport the night we arrived and provided veggie and chicken wraps when we got there. We rented a car through Adventure Inn, got a competitive price and they delivered the car to the hotel exactly when we wanted it.

A hot breakfast is included and the food is fresh and delicious. Upon our return to the Inn we worked remotely by the pool and even took a dip in the clean water. All the while sipping 2 for 1 happy hour drinks and finally enjoying another fresh meal for dinner. And oh yeah - the rental car, they picked it up at the hotel and we didn't have to go anywhere to return it.

The morning of our departure there was no problem with the shuttle to the airport. Clockwork!

Trust Eric and his staff, and leave it to the Adventure Inn team when flying in and out of San Jose, Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Let the staff handle everything and don't overthink the room.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thanks so much for the five star review. We aren't perfect and everything doesn't always go like clockwork, travel is travel, but there isn't anyone who tries harder to take the stress out of your vacation planning. With free airport transfers, and private and semi-private transfers arranged to and from anywhere in Costa Rica, low cost new car rentals, over fifty day tours to choose from our location and our own 177 member Costa Rica hotel association that we founded and operate, each offering a 10% discount, search for ADVENTURE HOTELS OF COSTA RICA, why stay at a brain dead hotel?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Want to see Costa Rica but are not keen on driving yourself around in a rental car? Not sure how best to book some of the more popular excursions?
Those were some of our thoughts when my wife and I planned our trip and the Adventure Inn made our visit virtually stress-free.

An Interbus shuttle can take you from the airport to your hotel (and back again).
The hotel itself is not too far from the airport and is in--as far as would could tell--a nice area of town. You can walk around the area and feel safe.
There is an upscale grocery store just down the street. Further down another street you'll find an amazing souvenir store and the Hard Rock Cafe. And if you take the skybridge across the highway you can go to a mall which also has a food court and some regular restaurants.

The rooms were very nice, especially the large jacuzzi tub. I wish all tubs were that wide!

As for the tours, one of the biggest advantages to booking a stay at Adventure Inn is the large number of tours they can arrange for you to go on.
My wife and I went on:
Horseback Riding at Finca Caballaro Loco
The Irazu volcano half-day
Dinner at Ram Luna
Pacuare River Whitewater Rafting
(we were also supposed to do a catamaran trip but had to cancel that one (more on that later)).

Without going off on too much of a tangent, the Irazu volcano, Ram Luna dinner and Whitewater rafting were the definite highlights of our trip.

Now here's the important thing you need to keep in mind: For most if not all of the tours, we were the first to get picked up . . . but that also meant that we were the last to be dropped off at the end of the day. Be ready for some very long days, even if they're called "half-days". Like our rafting guides said, "The whitewater rafting is Class IV (hard) but driving on the roads is Class V (hardest)." No joke! Those tour bus rides will wear you out!
So my official recommendation is this: If you book excursions at Adventure Inn, only do something every other day. If you book tours every day like we did, you may very well burn yourself out.
Case in point: It takes 2-3 hours one-way to get to the whitewater rafting site (Pacuare river). (And having a bus-load of noisy Dutch people doesn't help the situation!). For that tour, our day started at 0600 and ended around 1800 and by then we were exhausted. But our Catamaran tour the next day would have had us take the same grueling bus ride all over again. So we canceled that one.

The Adventure Inn does have an excellent restaurant (breakfast is free and puts those pathetic Hampton Inn breakfasts (in the US) to shame). Every meal we had was good and there was quite a bit of variety.

Bottom Line: If you've never stayed in Costa Rica before, don't want to drive but still want a good jumping-off point for doing some fun activities, you can't go wrong with Adventure Inn. Just don't be too gung-ho and wear yourself out (especially if the activities are several hours away from San Jose).

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank james09173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you, and correct, our tours should be spaced out a bit, take time between them to enjoy Adventure Inn as an inexpensive destination; the pool, the food, the staff, the gym, the neighbourhood, the powerful WiFi, the year-round spring-like climate, feed the ducks, shop nearby, smell the flowers, literally! A change is as good as a rest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews