We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$133
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fleur de Lys(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$103
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Costa Rica Guesthouse(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Casa Colon(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$52
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aldea San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
71
28
15
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
28
15
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan art gallerycosta ricanever felt unsafewe arrived late at nightspoke englishbeautiful hotelflight homebreakfast includedgreat place to stayclean roomspavasairportneighborhoodfurnishingsdowntownadventuretours
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Very friendly staff. We stayed one night at both the beginning and end of our trip. Rooms are well appointed and spacious. One of the better wi-fi connections in Costa Rica. Really a top end boutique hotel, I would highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessManager1, Gerente at Hotel Casa Roland San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you! Your opinion has an enormous value to us. We feel proud that you have chosen us to be part of your experience. Seeing that you loved your stay at our hotel fills us with joy and drives us to continue exceeding our customer expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

Please follow us on our profile in Facebook for new deals and relevant information!

Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Employees are friendly and helpful, but that's not enough to rest well.

We stayed here for 1 night before catching a flight home from San Jose Airport. Not only were the bedsheets dirty, rooms smelled like smoke, but the other guests staying in the hotel were extremely obnoxious and rude. We were woke up first at 2am by the people checking into the room next door, then again at 4am by other guests talking obnoxiously loud in the halls (separate guests). It is a very small hotel and the staff did nothing.

If I didn't want to shower after a long day of driving from Puerto Viejo, I would have rather slept in our car at the airport for night.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessManager1, Gerente at Hotel Casa Roland San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time share your experience and we apologize that you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be considered for improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly.
Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

The service was delicious and the breakfast was perfect!!! Definitely recommend... Its a cute hotel... With a great location... All the pieces of art and plants make the hotel so comfortable. Best hotel in San Jose

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessManager1, Manager at Hotel Casa Roland San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

This hotel is done in the most incredible design with wonderful artwork everywhere including in the rooms. Close to the airport. The staff is super friendly and the breakfast buffet has wonderful fruit and home made waffles along with a lot more. Plan to stay 2 nights because you will be hard to find this quality anywhere else in CR. Really is a 5 star hotel at a very good price.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessManager1, Manager at Hotel Casa Roland San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

I travel to San Jose frequently and have stayed at many different hotels. But without exception my favorite is Casa Roland. Conveniently located and well priced, the hotel is a little gem. So much so, that I am surprised more people do not know of it. The artwork is amazing, the rooms are great and the staff is fantastic (special thanks to Cindi, Tati, and Yessie). If you are looking for a unique boutique hotel I highly recommend Casa Roland.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Benchwarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BusinessManager1, Gerente at Hotel Casa Roland San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you! Your opinion has an enormous value to us. We feel proud that you have chosen us to be part of your experience. Seeing that you loved your stay at our hotel fills us with joy and drives us to continue exceeding our customer expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

Please follow us on our profile in Facebook for new deals and relevant information!

Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews