We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Victorian B & B!”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 4 September 2017

This little hotel is a gem! Absolutely darling, clean, and with a very warm, friendly staff. Nicely decorated to make you feel like an invited guest into a grand Victorian home.

The location to museums, city squares, the mercado de artesanías and some really good restaurants (although we LOVED the hotel restaurant) makes this place perfect!

Breakfast was good and basic. What we loved the most was the little restaurant in the front of the hotel, as it was the perfect place to meet both hotel guests and locals alike and enjoy a wonderful meal!

Yes, it has creaky wood floors (added to the character!!) and a train goes by fairly often, neither of which bothered us at all. We read about the train, so were prepared (turns out it was not nearly as loud as we had read!).

I rated it as "quiet", because for us, it really was. The hotel was at 100% occupancy and yet the only creaking floor we heard was when we ourselves walked on creaky boards. We have been in bigger, more expensive hotels that were much, much louder without any trains going by. So we felt it was quiet!

My only advice is to make sure you bring the address and phone number of hotel with you. San Jose does not have "normal" addresses, and not all taxi drivers know of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guest:

Thank you for this beautiful comment about our hotel. Despite of being in a big city, our hotel is very quiet and the train is not that loud, this is a comment we get from many other guests and yourself. We really appreciate this kind of comments because it helps other possible guests to know that they can have a pleasant night sleep with us and not be disturbed by the train, also enjoy the charm and services Hotel Fleur de Lys has to offer. We really hope to see you again on your next trip to San Jose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017

I spent 3 weeks in Costa Rica, staying in different hostels, hotels and lodges. Hotel Fleur de Lys was my last stop before going back home. This may not be a perfect place if you care about the noise from the nearby train station as the horn from trains will wake you up in early morning (On Sunday there will not have any train so for Sunday morning it's fine).

It is a wooden, Victorian style building, so there's no elevator but wooden stairs. Don't be scared away, it's not a tall, modern building anyway.

I like the way they named the rooms, not with numbers but with hearty names of flowers that could be seen in Costa Rica.

Room is not big (at least mine was not big), but clean. There was no TV signal in my room ( I didn't ask the hotel people to help checking, as I didn't actually need a TV).

Front desk people were helpful and nice. They spoke fluent Spanish and English.

I like the bar, small but cozy. The bar tender was nice and we had a good chat.

Breakfast was included (I booked via booking.com), you would have continental breakfast or Tico's breakfast (buffet style anyway, so just pick what you want, and I always pick the Pinto during my stay in Costa Rica).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 6selenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Don't ever go to this hotel. You get a closet in stead of a room. There is no window and no fresh air. Avoid this hotel! It is better to sleep outside in the open air. The staff is also unprofessional.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Guest, unfortunately we don’t have any track of your visit in our hotel and we are afraid you place this comment by mistake since this happened sometimes. All our rooms have windows and fresh air, the most economic standard rooms have a standard hotel room measure of 26 M2. Our staff at the front desk, bar and restaurant speak English and our front desk is at your service 24 hours for any assistance. We are proud to believe, live and being trained in the personalized attentive service, so we feel very disappointed of not having track of your stay, or any guest in the past weeks that has bring to our attention any concern like yours with the service or the room, so we could give you to a room of your satisfaction or clear any situation. But if you stayed here, you didn’t give us any chance, and I am sorry about this. I am the operation manager, myself and the owners look forward to receive a mail from you either is your score our hotel by mistake or to let us know what could possibly be your concern in order to fix it. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

I only spent one night in this lovely looking hotel. Friendly and helpful staff and not too bad restaurant. Rooms are small in this all wooden place and there is a fan but no airco. Conveniently located to city centre but too close to railroad. Horn is too loud and you can feel the vibration. Reviews like this kill this place but one should be able to get a night's sleep.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank heer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We have a beautiful, spacious room, and the overall ambience of this hotel couldn't be better. There are common areas with couches and beautiful decor around the stairwells and hallways at every level. The staff at the desk in the lobby speak excellent English and are ready to help in every way. The barman was quick with our welcome smoothie. The hotel is within walking distance of every place we wanted to go in town. We love the music from the bar downstairs and from the town that we hear in our room early this evening. It could be noisier than usual because San Jose has an Arts Festival this weekend. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Jose.

Room Tip: I believe any room would be beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest: We appreciate every comment but overall comments like yours made with kindness and in such constructive and motivating way, thank you very much. The international Arts Festival, welcomes more that 200 artist and art expressions from all over the world and we are lucky this year that the main location is across our street, we are glad you take the opportunity to enjoy some of this magnificent activities. The management and all the team we put our effort in provide the best service and ambiance for our guest and we are happy and thankfull that you appreciate and enjoy it. We hope to welcome again and we promise keep improving every day.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6,6 km away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#31 of 78 in San Jose
243 reviews
0,6 km away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#44 of 78 in San Jose
113 reviews
0,7 km away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#39 of 78 in San Jose
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#55 of 78 in San Jose
510 reviews
0,8 km away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#17 of 78 in San Jose
424 reviews
0,9 km away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#26 of 78 in San Jose
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: R627 - R1 508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing