We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$98
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$133
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$103
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hostel Casa Colon(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$52
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Aldea San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Costa Rica Guesthouse(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$41
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amon 1894(San Jose)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
157
240
97
28
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
240
97
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational museumcosta ricatrains startrecommend this hoteltrain noisebuffet styleold victorianclose to the city centerno elevatorcharming hotelbars and restaurantswalking distancebring earplugslight sleeperbreakfast was includedhot watercommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

I only spent one night in this lovely looking hotel. Friendly and helpful staff and not too bad restaurant. Rooms are small in this all wooden place and there is a fan but no airco. Conveniently located to city centre but too close to railroad. Horn is too loud and you can feel the vibration. Reviews like this kill this place but one should be able to get a night's sleep.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank heer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear guest: thank you . Unfortunately, train service is part of this city and during special events the train can run up to two hours later that usually. I am afraid and sorry during your stay it might be one of those nights. I wish you contacted me to move you to the other side of the hotel that is more quite and we do have available ear plugs for the train service hours that could be from 7 am to 7 pm. We are glad to hear our staff are making a good job. Please contact us to make sure you got a quiet room in your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We have a beautiful, spacious room, and the overall ambience of this hotel couldn't be better. There are common areas with couches and beautiful decor around the stairwells and hallways at every level. The staff at the desk in the lobby speak excellent English and are ready to help in every way. The barman was quick with our welcome smoothie. The hotel is within walking distance of every place we wanted to go in town. We love the music from the bar downstairs and from the town that we hear in our room early this evening. It could be noisier than usual because San Jose has an Arts Festival this weekend. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Jose.

Room Tip: I believe any room would be beautiful.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest: We appreciate every comment but overall comments like yours made with kindness and in such constructive and motivating way, thank you very much. The international Arts Festival, welcomes more that 200 artist and art expressions from all over the world and we are lucky this year that the main location is across our street, we are glad you take the opportunity to enjoy some of this magnificent activities. The management and all the team we put our effort in provide the best service and ambiance for our guest and we are happy and thankfull that you appreciate and enjoy it. We hope to welcome again and we promise keep improving every day.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This hotel is well located near the artisans market and the National Museum. Service is excellent and the rooms clean.
On the downside, the rooms are Ok but need to be refunished. Furniture is dated and the bathroom sink/shower need to be replaced. Water temperature was random.
There's a tramway line close to the hotel but it's not a big noise problem.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest: thank you for writing about our hotel, every comment makes us improve every day. We are renovating all our rooms, this process started last year and hopefully will be finish by December 2017, we hope you can come back and enjoy the improvement in a near future. We are glad you enjoy our strategic location right in the cultural hearth of the city of San Jose. We use solar system to heat all our water and normally we never have temperature problems, but we have take note to check this out and couldn’t find anything in any room, so we think it wasn’t enough time to allow the water emerge or a faucet handling issue. Hope to see you on your next trip to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Love the charm of this older hotel just minutes walk from Central Avenue. High quality linens, awesome mattress, pillows and filtered water in the rooms are all little things that are appreciated and add up. Wifi was good in our room and the staff is wow!!! I want to bring Alfredo home with me!! He obviously loves his job and goes above and beyond to provide amazing service. We ate dinner and lunch at the hotel and it was delicious! Breakfast is included with your stay and it is a yummy buffet that will satisfy everyone. Yes, you can hear the train around dawn however it truly added to the charm of the hotel and did not prevent us from a great night's sleep. Each room is named after a flower and again, a unique quality to this wonderful gem.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ConnieRideout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your positive feedback and referral. We are in process of refresh our rooms, so we are so glad you enjoy the new mattress, linens, pillows and room improvements, placed for maximize your confort. We continusly improve the variety of ur breakfast buffet with fresh quality products as part of our eager to provide the best personalized service possible. Alfredo has a big smile after reading your comment, we said we love to hear your comment and our goal is to serve you in the best way and be part of a great memory in your visit to San Jose. We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Our first night was spent here before we started our self drive tour. It is very well located and we had a comfortable, spacious room. Breakfast was fine- standard costa rican hot and cold buffet.
As others have mentioned the train is very noisy but must stop honking late night to early morning, as we did manage a reasonable night sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 4dchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for this comment and for choosing our hotel as your first stay in Costa Rica. We only use home-made fresh ingredients to make the best breakfast in the area. Luckily as you mentioned the city train works only during the day, so guest can have a good night rest and doesn’t pass during the weekends. We hope you had a good time in Costa Rica and look forward to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews