We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Colonial(San Jose)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dona Ines(San Jose)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vesuvio(San Jose)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
154
238
95
28
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
238
95
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational museumcosta ricarecommend this hoteltrain noiseold victorianbuffet styleno elevatornice hotelbars and restaurantswalking distancebring earplugshotel is locatedlight sleeperrooms are cleanbreakfast was includedhot watercommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This hotel is well located near the artisans market and the National Museum. Service is excellent and the rooms clean.
On the downside, the rooms are Ok but need to be refunished. Furniture is dated and the bathroom sink/shower need to be replaced. Water temperature was random.
There's a tramway line close to the hotel but it's not a big noise problem.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest: thank you for writing about our hotel, every comment makes us improve every day. We are renovating all our rooms, this process started last year and hopefully will be finish by December 2017, we hope you can come back and enjoy the improvement in a near future. We are glad you enjoy our strategic location right in the cultural hearth of the city of San Jose. We use solar system to heat all our water and normally we never have temperature problems, but we have take note to check this out and couldn’t find anything in any room, so we think it wasn’t enough time to allow the water emerge or a faucet handling issue. Hope to see you on your next trip to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Love the charm of this older hotel just minutes walk from Central Avenue. High quality linens, awesome mattress, pillows and filtered water in the rooms are all little things that are appreciated and add up. Wifi was good in our room and the staff is wow!!! I want to bring Alfredo home with me!! He obviously loves his job and goes above and beyond to provide amazing service. We ate dinner and lunch at the hotel and it was delicious! Breakfast is included with your stay and it is a yummy buffet that will satisfy everyone. Yes, you can hear the train around dawn however it truly added to the charm of the hotel and did not prevent us from a great night's sleep. Each room is named after a flower and again, a unique quality to this wonderful gem.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ConnieRideout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your positive feedback and referral. We are in process of refresh our rooms, so we are so glad you enjoy the new mattress, linens, pillows and room improvements, placed for maximize your confort. We continusly improve the variety of ur breakfast buffet with fresh quality products as part of our eager to provide the best personalized service possible. Alfredo has a big smile after reading your comment, we said we love to hear your comment and our goal is to serve you in the best way and be part of a great memory in your visit to San Jose. We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Our first night was spent here before we started our self drive tour. It is very well located and we had a comfortable, spacious room. Breakfast was fine- standard costa rican hot and cold buffet.
As others have mentioned the train is very noisy but must stop honking late night to early morning, as we did manage a reasonable night sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 4dchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for this comment and for choosing our hotel as your first stay in Costa Rica. We only use home-made fresh ingredients to make the best breakfast in the area. Luckily as you mentioned the city train works only during the day, so guest can have a good night rest and doesn’t pass during the weekends. We hope you had a good time in Costa Rica and look forward to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very cute. Close to all the transportation, bars and restaurants. Walking distance. Rooms are spacious. It's a big mention converted to a hotel. Staff is very helpful. Walk to downtown as well.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Vic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind comment and for taking your time to write about Hotel Fleur de Lys. We love to hear you make the most of our location right at the cultural center of San Jose and just steps away from the main attractions of this city.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us, our staff compromises for making every stay comfortable for our guests.
We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Great little hotel in the heart of San Jose Theater district. Walking distance to Jade museum,National Theater, National Museum, Market and more. Hotel room was plain but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and so was the food at the restaurant. Would definitely go there again. We stayed one week with rental car. Driving was crazy and traffic in and out of the city and around the island was draining, that's why I would split up my stay between different hotels next time, so I could see more of the islands major attractions.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Irmgard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur L, Gerente at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for your election and recommendation to other visitors to stay with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed visiting the principal attractions of San Jose that are steps away from our Hotel, and that you liked our buffet breakfast, which we prepare with lots of love. We hope next time you come to Costa Rica you visit us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews