We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
41
21
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
21
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caravan tour steak lobster lobby lounge great gym nice hotel conference room pool area luxury hotel the air conditioning comfortable beds costa rica mini bar buffet breakfast three nights pura vida great place to stay hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We were on a family trip to Costa Rica. We stayed at 4 different hotels including this one. The tragedy was that the hotel environment, the room, the setting etc. was tremendous despite being in a busy part of the city. The food was quite good but the staff and service were marginal at best. We checked in late at night only to find the room un-serviced among other things. The rooms have NO instructions for use of any devices etc. We found the attitude of the staff for every interaction to be lackadaisical at best. I don't mean laid back and friendly, I mean blase. This was not an inexpensive location so I did not appreciate the attitudes. We love Costa Rica but will not return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Intercontinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Mike B,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and choosing our hotel. It is always a pleasure to serve you. We hope you come visit us again very soon.
Best regards,
Ricardo Menendez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I stayed here for one night at the beginning of a tour and was very happy with both the property and the staff. The property itself is not only beautiful, with a series of pools and hot tubs, but convenient to shops for quick access to things you might need.

The rooms have the typical amenities of the brand including coffee maker and great beds! The gym is no only 24 hours but greatly equipped. The lobby bar should be visited at least once. The bartenders were friendly and ready with suggestions to meet your thirst needs. If you go to the breakfast buffet and can't find something you like, you won't find food anywhere! They are stocked for international tastes of most cultures and have a fancy coffee bar to keep you caffeinated.

While we were there, it looked to be a popular place for conferences. The conference rooms that I saw (during a pre-tour briefing) were very nice and met the standards of what I would expect from the brand as well. They have some other private banquet areas by the pool as well, which look like they would be a slightly more picturesque location for a dinner or presentation than a stuffy conference room.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank NCTexan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Intercontinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear NCTexan2011,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and choosing our hotel. It is always a pleasure to serve you. We hope you come visit us again very soon.
Best regards,
Ricardo Menendez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

I stayed with my two children (ages 7 and 9) for three nights, and after a small hiccup at check-in, we had a marvelous time. There were several staff members who went above and beyond for my children. I was attending a conference, and the concierge Bryan was able to arrange a babysitter for me. My boys spent half a day at the pool with Karol (from housekeeping), and Gustavo and Christopher (who staff the pool bar), and they had a ball. Karol was so loving and patient with the boys, and taught them Spanish. The boys wanted to spend the next two days with Karol, Gustavo, and Christopher at the pool. The concierge Bryan was also helpful beyond words. He answered so many questions that we had, and did his best to make our stay great. Another high point was the morning breakfast buffet. It included a mix of US/European and local foods, there was a lot of variety, and it changed daily. We sat out on the patio and the temperature was perfect with a view of the gardens and pool. Our server Anthony was so nice. We made a point to sit in his section after meeting him our first morning there.

We thought the hotel was very nice, and the front desk manager was extremely responsive to the problem I had at check-in. But most importantly, we would stay here again in a heartbeat just to visit with the people who made the trip so comfortable and fun for my children. Karol, Gustavo, Christopher, Bryan, and Anthony were all genuinely kind and caring people who made our stay at the hotel absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank blew2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Intercontinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear blew2015,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and choosing our hotel. It is always a pleasure to serve you. We hope you come visit us again very soon.
Best regards,
Ricardo Menendez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Pros: Nice rooms, very clean, good bath amenities, nice pool area, food was very good.

Cons: pool seemed to be under constant maintenance, hallway carpets need to be re-stretched, check in was chaotic, not close to downtown.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Intercontinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Tim E,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and choosing our hotel. It is always a pleasure to serve you. We hope you come visit us again very soon.
Best regards,
Ricardo Menendez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Our family has not been to CostaRica for 9 years, CostaRica is a much busier place.we did not know how our stay was going to be . I'am glab that my wife had found this hotel to stay the three nights, we got good rest, the rooms were big rooms, a very nice swimming pools and very afordable price .Thank you for a great stay and wouderful staff. We would have love to stay longer then three days, was not long enough ,also the food from the restaurant was delicious and the staff was wonderful .keep up the good work guys. (Randall and staff. We hope to be there for next year. Have the best 2017 "PURA VIDA"

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mynor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Intercontinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Mynor R,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and choosing our hotel. It is always a pleasure to serve you. We hope you come visit us again very soon.
Best regards,
Ricardo Menendez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews