We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities for a business trip.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Intercontinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 16 April 2017

On business, arrived late evening and used transportation services for pickup at airport. Meal that evening was very good, restaurant friendly for single woman. Room was clean and well appointed, nice toiletries and robe was good to have. Conference room was very well done and food at restaurants and during conference was above average.
Air conditioner running too cold and not needed, I was freezing in the conference. Transport to airport not available for private car on a Sunday, wish they'd advised me to book earlier, taxi worked out ok, but I don't speak Spanish so I was a bit worried. Would return. Oh, and I was on second floor, wish I could have taken the stairs instead of elevator.

Room Tip: Don't be by elevator bank it was very noisy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2017

We were on a family trip to Costa Rica. We stayed at 4 different hotels including this one. The tragedy was that the hotel environment, the room, the setting etc. was tremendous despite being in a busy part of the city. The food was quite good but the staff and service were marginal at best. We checked in late at night only to find the room un-serviced among other things. The rooms have NO instructions for use of any devices etc. We found the attitude of the staff for every interaction to be lackadaisical at best. I don't mean laid back and friendly, I mean blase. This was not an inexpensive location so I did not appreciate the attitudes. We love Costa Rica but will not return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I stayed here for one night at the beginning of a tour and was very happy with both the property and the staff. The property itself is not only beautiful, with a series of pools and hot tubs, but convenient to shops for quick access to things you might need.

The rooms have the typical amenities of the brand including coffee maker and great beds! The gym is no only 24 hours but greatly equipped. The lobby bar should be visited at least once. The bartenders were friendly and ready with suggestions to meet your thirst needs. If you go to the breakfast buffet and can't find something you like, you won't find food anywhere! They are stocked for international tastes of most cultures and have a fancy coffee bar to keep you caffeinated.

While we were there, it looked to be a popular place for conferences. The conference rooms that I saw (during a pre-tour briefing) were very nice and met the standards of what I would expect from the brand as well. They have some other private banquet areas by the pool as well, which look like they would be a slightly more picturesque location for a dinner or presentation than a stuffy conference room.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank NCTexan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

I stayed with my two children (ages 7 and 9) for three nights, and after a small hiccup at check-in, we had a marvelous time. There were several staff members who went above and beyond for my children. I was attending a conference, and the concierge Bryan was able to arrange a babysitter for me. My boys spent half a day at the pool with Karol (from housekeeping), and Gustavo and Christopher (who staff the pool bar), and they had a ball. Karol was so loving and patient with the boys, and taught them Spanish. The boys wanted to spend the next two days with Karol, Gustavo, and Christopher at the pool. The concierge Bryan was also helpful beyond words. He answered so many questions that we had, and did his best to make our stay great. Another high point was the morning breakfast buffet. It included a mix of US/European and local foods, there was a lot of variety, and it changed daily. We sat out on the patio and the temperature was perfect with a view of the gardens and pool. Our server Anthony was so nice. We made a point to sit in his section after meeting him our first morning there.

We thought the hotel was very nice, and the front desk manager was extremely responsive to the problem I had at check-in. But most importantly, we would stay here again in a heartbeat just to visit with the people who made the trip so comfortable and fun for my children. Karol, Gustavo, Christopher, Bryan, and Anthony were all genuinely kind and caring people who made our stay at the hotel absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank blew2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Pros: Nice rooms, very clean, good bath amenities, nice pool area, food was very good.

Cons: pool seemed to be under constant maintenance, hallway carpets need to be re-stretched, check in was chaotic, not close to downtown.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1,7 km away
Best Western Plus San Jose
Best Western Plus San Jose
#46 of 78 in San Jose
7 reviews
0,6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
1,6 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4,7 km away
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
#29 of 78 in San Jose
347 reviews
1,4 km away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1 533 reviews
1,7 km away
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intercontinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intercontinental Costa Rica At Multiplaza Mall

Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | In front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, San Jose 00001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall is ideal for business and leisure, we invite you to discover this urban retreat in the heart of Escazu, San Jose's most exclusive neighborhood. The hotel is located within the city's most prestigious shopping mall complex, where you will find upscale stores, bars and the finest restaurants. Escazu Corporate Center and Plaza Roble Corporate Center are just a short stroll away from the hotel. This San Jose, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including four trendy and lively concept restaurants: The Market, Factory Steak and Lobster, NAU Sushi Lounge and Pimento. The hotel's full service spa blends with nature, it is perfect for guests that want to escape and relax in our outdoor massage rooms or enjoy our Finnish sauna, Vichy showers, steam baths or an array of other relaxing massage treatments. The hotel's updated fitness center overlooks serene tropical gardens, a Jacuzzi and three heated ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing