We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”

Lolo's Pizza and Vinery
Ranked #138 of 864 Restaurants in San Jose
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Amazing place with fantastic pizza and a great vibe. Best place I've been to since I arrived in Costa Rica. Don't be put off by the location...it's worth the effort. Yes it is on the railway line...I would recommend not going alone just because of the location.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank steverE2381VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2017

The pizza is very good, despite the limited variety of toppings. Prices are average, service is good. Good atmosphere with live music.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Silvian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

This tiny place has a great bohemian vibe flowing through the room. The pizza is cooked to perfection and the small menu makes everything a speciality. The wait to get a table can be a bit of a bummer but then again it it creates a great moment for conversation. I suggest you don't show up too hungry or you might end up leaving. The only observation I can make, is that I wish there was more variety in the ingredients. But then again less options makes the decision process a lot easier.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Gabzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This is a hidden treasure with simple but great Pizza and service. Do not expect 100 menu items cause you will never find them here. The equation is simple, 2 Pizzas either the House Pizza with ham and pepperoni or the Vegetarian with fresh mushrooms. To drink, beer, wine or soft drinks, as simple as that. You won't regret it.
The place has been around for more than 2 decades and there is a good reason for this. We had 3 bottles of Greek Wine, 4 pizzas and paid 76000 colones, not bad considering wine is expensive in Costa Rica.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank leam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

Hard to find, but follow maps directions and then look for a house facing the train tracks that says "cafe" on it. The name Lolo's is not on the restaurant that we could see. It's a white house with white grated door. Call ahead to make sure they are open (they were closed for lunch today, Friday). We ordered the house wine which was a medium dry red wine. The house pizza had ham, salami, tomatoes, mushrooms, and anchovies but we ordered without the anchovies! It was by far the best pizza we've had. The atmosphere was quiet and dark , but the owners were bubbly and friendly. Tonight was our first date night of the year and we were not disappointed, you won't be either. Find it and eat there! Walkable from San Jose central. (Long walk and uphill). Take Avenida Central East from downtown. (You should be going up in odd number Calle). Turn North (left) at Calle 33. Walk 1 block and take first available right (Avenida 1A). Follow to the end where train tracks are. Turn right and follow the tracks 2 houses on the right... says cafe on it :).

1  Thank tazgirl64801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lolo's Pizza and Vinery also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Lolo's Pizza and Vinery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing