We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rafting the Savegre River with Pro Rafting”

Pro Rafting Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: PRO Rafting Costa Rica offers some of the world's best white water rafting. Wild and untamed, these big,sometimes tecnical rivers plunge through spectacularly beautiful rain-forest, largely unexplored tropical wilderness. We are an Eco-friendly outdoor adventure company. Our guides and staff are committed to deliver excellent customer service under internationally safety standards.
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We had a great time on the Savegre River with Pro Rafting. The guides were friendly and entertaining. They should let people know when they book that payment for pictures is cash only. I only brought enough cash for a tip and had to get the payment to them afterwards, then had trouble getting the link but I got them in the end and they were very good. I would highly recommend.

Thank 203margareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"savegre river"
in 31 reviews
"class rapids"
in 17 reviews
"waterfall stop"
in 8 reviews
"these guys"
in 31 reviews
"el chorro"
in 7 reviews
"white water"
in 7 reviews
"costa rica"
in 58 reviews
"pura vida"
in 23 reviews
"small company"
in 4 reviews
"van ride"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful waterfall"
in 14 reviews
"launch site"
in 3 reviews
"purchase photos"
in 3 reviews
"local plants"
in 4 reviews
"half day trip"
in 6 reviews
"go the extra mile"
in 3 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 13 reviews

23 - 27 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Our family enjoyed a great day on the river with Pro Rafting, exciting rapids but always felt safe with our friendly & experienced guides. Beautiful scenery and a tasty lunch to finish. We have some hilarious photos to remember it, however it did take nearly 2 weeks to get hold of so them after sending a couple of emails, so this could be improved. Lots of fun. Highly recommended!

Thank Vernonthebrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Felipe and the crew were top notch. We were a family of 4 with 12 and 14 year old children. They were very attentive to safety which we appreciated. The river was drier than usual so it was probably a class 2 rapids. We wouldn't hesitate to use this vendor again.

1  Thank ujames27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Our family of 5 (2 Adults, 3 kids 17, 15, 11) had an amazing day rafting with Pro Rafting. The rapids were nothing too serious, but that made it perfect for our family. We had 2 different guides, John and Luis -both were amazing and made the trip so fun. Luis really engaged our son (11). We were able to interact with the other guides when we stopped to eat -and they were all awesome. We were on the Chorro section of the Naranje River -absolutely beautiful. From start to finish, Pro Rafting (Philipe) was great. They arrived at our home exactly when they said they would and we were informed of the pricing (both for the trip and the photos), which we felt were both very reasonable. We had our go pro - but the pictures were so good, we purchased them as well. We would definitely recommend Pro Rafting... great people and great fun. Pura Vida!

Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The rafting was great and the guides were obviously very experienced. Our guide was a bit rude when giving us directions as when to paddle, etc. We could barely hear him over the roar of the river, and he became a bit abusive. We don't put up with that kind of BS in Texas. They told us that the prices were $70 per person and then charged us $90 per person. We caught on the credit card statement and battled with them for 2 days for a refund. I don't have a problem with the price, it's being told one thing and then being charged another I have issue with. We paid cash for our pictures and 2 of the 4 of us never received them, even after multiple emails, and phone calls. Not exactly a professional organization. We've been going to Costa Rica for 12 years and we treat people like we want to be treated; with honesty and courtesy. We make every attempt to assimilate to their culture and have no expectations otherwise. Yes, I would go again, but I damn sure wouldn't use a credit card because the price will be higher when you get your statement. You may also have hell every getting the pictures you paid for in advance, I would make sure you receive the pictures via email, on the spot, before you pay for them. There are other rafting companies. We will try the others.

Thank dmh882018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe C, Owner at Pro Rafting Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hola Dear Guest.

Thank you for your time and your review, we really appreciate your feedback and sharing experiences with us is a great oportunity for our team to learn to improve.
We are sorry that your rafting trip wasn’t what you were hoping it would be. With regards to our organization, yes there was extremely bad communication. We offer many tours diferent time of year, rivers and section. This can be confusing ! for your information chorro has Been 90 $ per person for many years and thats what we charged you and your friends. Nothing extra !
20$ Booking deposit per person and 70$ balance the day of you trip.
As you mention there are many rafting companies in the area and we believe we are the best. And yes like any
demanding section of whitewater guides have a big responsabilty keeping you all safe and inside the boat. There needs to be great team work to navigate this river safely. There was over 25 years experience on the two guides on your trip. Some of the best in the area ! We apologize if we made you feel uncomfortable or we were rude.

We also looked and the dropbox account and you all have joined !

We have taken your comments onboard and are working Solveing this problem before they could happen again. We would like to extend an invitation to allow us another opportunity to give you the adventure that you, your friends, your family and every customer deserves, if you come back to area.
Felipe Cervilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pro Rafting Costa Rica also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas

Been to Pro Rafting Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing