We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pacific Paradise Resort(Quepos)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Mansion Tropical(Quepos)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Casa del Toucan(Quepos)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Didis Charming House B&B.(Quepos)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Blue Banyan Inn(Quepos)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Villas Jacquelina(Quepos)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas El Chante(Quepos)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
155
120
67
65
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
120
67
65
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue monkeythe ownermanuel antoniocosta ricathe busnational parkcevichetiti monkeyswhite faced monkeyshis wifedowntown quepospollopaigepoolswildlifesmoothiesrainforest
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

The Mono Azul was a great hotel. The rooms were not huge, but they provided a good amount of space for everyone. The bathroom were clean to. At the hotel there were 2 pools, both decent sized and refreshing. At the pool, you could see monkeys all about. The food was amazing! We had it for a breakfast, dinner, and lunch, and it was not in the least disappointing. During the evening there was live music, which sounded great. There was a blend of American and Latin music, (shout out to the guitarist from Michigan). The owners were extremely nice, and took time out of their day to make conversation and make sure everything met our expectations. They even let us have a late checkout to accommodate the plans that they helped us form. Great Place with lots of character and great people!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srinjoy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonoAzul, Owner at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you! Come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We visited the blue monkeey Friday nigth! Terrible
Once in the place no one came out to attend us, we realized the whole restaurant was full and even like that we waited some time til it was a little better because there was live music.. after some mimutes, some people left (we are live in town so it was even worse for us)

We got beers and juice, when we order our meals we had to wait for 40 minutes... just to have a poor treatment like " there was other table before " puff ridiculous

I will never never recomend this place for any body (i had visit almost alm the olaves in town already and this is one of the worse)
super expensive $ 8.6 for a local beer and a fruit pulp and to hear after almost one hour waiting someone telling you that basically they forgot to tell you they were so busy so they couldn't start with our meals.. patetic

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank WilliamCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The staff is very nice and helpful (especially Andres, Ata and Paige)
Close to Manuel Antonio National park and Quepos (10 minutes by bus)
The restaurant is good too and their homemade pizzas are awesome.
Free parking (limited space), and free brew coffee all day long.
Bus station next to the hotel
Make sure you book a room with AC if you care for some

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alsita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We were really disappointed with this hotel. The restaurant/ bar area was cute and well kept up and the staff very friendly but the rooms were below average, especially for the price. The beds were really uncomfortable. They were so old they visiably dipped in the middle. Every time you made the slightest movement they creaked loudly and the pillows were so old they had become just bags of hard cotton balls. Our room, which was supposed to be a better room then the standard and we paid substantially more for was behind the kitchen so we had to listen to really loud clanking of dishes ( sounded like half of them were getting broken ) and the staff yelling until the restaurant closed. None of us got any real sleep all night. The courtyard was run down with badly chipped paint and dead potted plants. The pool on that side was slightly green and smelled like pond water. Luckily they had another small pool by the standard rooms that was much cleaner and nicer looking. This was a hostel quality accommodations at best at a hotel price. We were originally going to spend another night but it was so bad we left to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: I suggest you stay somewhere else but definitely look at the beds before you agree to stay
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank cselkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

All though My Husband and two friends were staying around the corner at a different site we did enjoy several meals here at the Mono Azul/Blue Monkey, Breakfast and several Dinner's. We enjoyed socializing with the staff Ata and Melvin, along with owners John and Paige. The food was very enjoyable, great chef and the drinks were tasty Thanks John and Melvin.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dianaG4221AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews