We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cottage in Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Main House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main House
Lounge by your private pool Cabina bedroom with king and single beds a/c and fan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Main House
Lounge by your private pool
Cabina bedroom with king and single beds a/c and fan
King bedroom a/c and fan
Queen bedroom a/c and fan
Queen bedroom a/c and fan
Beach in front of house
Enjoy tropical fruits in the kitchen
Spacious dining room seats 16
Cabina rooms capture the ocean breezes
Patio with BBQ
Relax and watch the stunning sunsets from the beach
Beautiful colours are a nightly event
Front of the house
Pool lights for evening swimming
One of 2 twin rooms a/c and fan
Main House
Garden looking towards ocean
Main house and pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Punta Arenas, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ncegrl13
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cottage in Paradise”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Oceano a few years ago with friends and family and loved it. This time I brought my husband and we had an amazing time. The house is as I remembered it but I notice it is freshly painted with different colours and the gardens have grown and the plants have started providing fresh fruit for the guests. The giant passion fruits are yummy! So are the papayas.

Macha the property's dog is a delight. She is so gentle and friendly. She came with us to the beach almost every day to watch the sunsets. (Which are stunning).

We went on tours such as Arenal volcano, Manual Antonio and the mud baths. That was fun and we got some hilarious photos of ourselves covered in mud. Now my husband sees why I raved about this property and Costa Rica.

Berny and Ronaldo are great staff. Nothing was too much for them to help us with: and we needed help cause our spanish is not great. They are very friendly and Berny helps with the breakfast and a few nights we had her cook for us. There is an extra charge for that, but who cares. We were on vacation. We had 3 other couples with us and they all enjoyed the house and the pool.

I loved sleeping in the cabinas because they have king beds with memory foam mattresses and you feel cool due to the breeze and high ceilings. We really didn't need the air conditioner much. My hubby preferred the fan. I loved the sound of the waves as I fell asleep and woke to the sound of birds singing. The house is not luxurious, but it is really spacious and has everything you need.

But the best part is you are staying in a real Costa Rican beach house in a Costa Rican neighbourhood. We met local people. We ate some great local food in little restaurants which they call "sodas". We got an authentic Costa Rican experience. I am not really a resort person; I like to find out what a country and it's people are really like. Ronald and Berny are a wealth of local information. They suggested restaurants, arranged taxis for us and took us to feed wild monkeys. Sooo cute!

If there is anything I would have wanted at the house: it would be an ice maker. They have lots of ice cube trays, but we use lots of ice so we had to buy bags from the store. Overall, excellent value for money. I would recommend to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Thank you for choosing Oceano again for your vacation. So glad to hear your husband enjoyed his stay too. Happy to have your group anytime. Your respectful treatment of our home is appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annagG513...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything we thought it would be”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The beachhouse was wonderful, clean and easy to settle in. With 7 woman and
all having their own bedroom and bathroom we never had to wait on each other. The kitchen was well appointed with anything we could need to prepare meals. An area to look through Costa Rica travel guides helped us decide on our tours. There is an
awesome pool to keep cool when we weren't touring about. Ronald and
Bernie the caretakers took acceptional care of us. We had a bonfire on the
beach with driftwood that floats ashore. Bernie helped us find just the
right fruits and vegetables at the farmer's market our first day. Guides
Estaban and Aaron were so patient with us and took us to the most wonderful
places. They introduced us to seafoods we were unfamiliar with and took us
to a new restaurant in Punterenas with a seafood shop next door to buy fresh
catch after we dined. The beachhouse, caretakers and guides made our
vacation memorable and everything we were hoping for and more. We've become friends with all. We would
definitely recommend groups to stay here.

We would suggest having ceiling fans in the dining area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bernie and Ronald
Liked least: fridge had problems, one shower was cold, fan was broken-important to have fans
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Thank you for the great review. We loved having you ladies stay with us. You were a fun group and very respectful of our home. We really appreciate it. We would also like ceiling fans in the dining room but the ceilings are too low for safe clearance so that's why we have the big floor fan. We thank you for choosing Oceano and hope you will tell your friends about us. Karin and Rupi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriemcc...
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great home base for our vacation”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This wonderful place provided our family with everything we needed during our stay in Costa Rica. The caretakers were helpful and friendly, the pool was refreshing on hot afternoons, the beach was quiet, and the rooms were comfortable. Bernie cooked a wonderful meal for us the night we arrived, and Ronald helped us open coconuts which we ate as they fell off the trees in the yard! There was plenty of room for members of our extended family to spread out when we wanted privacy, as well as gathering spaces that made it easy and fun to be together.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. It really makes us happy to hear how much you enjoyed your vacation at Oceano. Best wishes, Karin and Rupi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamedtoo
Virginia
2 reviews
“Outstanding stay and accommodations!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Thank you Rupi, Karin, Bernie, and Ronald! The house was perfect for the 11 of us and the pool was the highlight for the 3 boys. Bernie and Ronald were so gracious and polite that I miss seeing them already! They coordinated taxis for us to go to the grocery store and Ronald even taught us the local way to fish! How awesome. The storms in the afternoon were beautiful to watch and we enjoyed sitting under the covered patio to take it all in. Your recommendation for Esteban was also excellent as he was able to make arrangements for three separate groups going three separate ways. Overall, this was a great trip, fun was had by all, and we're already talking about doing it again!!! Muchisimas gracias! Ed and Tammy

By the way, I've already given this place several recommendations! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Plenty of space to spread the family out and a choice between going to the beach or just jumping in the pool.
Liked least: We did lose internet the last day due to a storm but even that was a minor inconvenience.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2014
Hello; we are very pleased you had a good vacation at Oceano, I will pass on your comments to Ronald and Bernie. Thank you for recommending us to friends. It means a lot to us. Best wishes Karin and Rupi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Apr 2014
Hola; thank you for your comments. We appreciate it very much. I am pleased you enjoyed the beach, the pool and Bernie's cooking. We try our best to please. We have just finished painting the rooms in cheerful colours and everything is looking great. Hope to see you back again. All the best Karin and Rupi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$299
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing