We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Gorgeous property and stunning location. Only stopped in for a drink, 12 USD for two ice smoothies? Should he viewed the menu because this price is obserd. Hate to think what a meal would cost, very disappointed and will not come back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

we thank you for stopping in at the inn and enjoying our fresh smoothies... would love to sell them for $$ 1 .oo USD or less ----- but it costs a few more dollars just to get all food ice and material out to this beautiful remote off the grid eco lodge .. and of course we have to pay the great happy server /bar tender tooooo -- our meals are all you can eat buffet family style starting with fresh made soups breads and salads then main course of spuds rice beans veggies .. pastas sauces a meat fish or chicken sushi roles and then desserts all made here at the famous lookout inn.. and free beer tomorrow -- so come on back and enjoy the great views of the pacific ocean and lots of scarlet macaws toooo thanks again terr at the inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017

Our room , "Puma" , was opened to the elements and jungle, a mosquito net protected us from the bug when in our bed. No Alarm clock required, awoken by the dawn chorus! The Inn had fantastic views over the roadside vegetation, the beach and the roaring waves of the Pacific Ocean. It was easy to walk around with hardly another soul to be seen. All meals were communal sitting and at set times. The chef produce excellent meals, and Terry the owner was a wizard with the BBQ, the pulled pork exceptional. the staff were courteous,friendly,and helpful. Special of Andy,waiter/barman took pride in his job.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pandsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

again many thanks for visiting us here at the famoo]us lookout inn dont forget we have a cute lil boutique hotel in puerto jimenenz -- thanks so much the wizard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

My family and I came to Corcovado to see animals in their natural habitat.
This is why we chose to stay at the Lookout Inn. For us, it was the perfect balance of comfort and deep-jungle exploration.
While staying here we saw more animals than we ever expected, and we were able to observe jungle wildlife from an amazingly close range.
Within walking distance of our room we saw:
Squirrel Monkeys, White Face Capuchin Monkeys, Spider Monkeys and Howler Monkeys, Coatis, Scarlet Macaws, Hawks, Owls, Caracaras, and numerous species of Tree-frogs, enormous cane-toads, Green Iguanas, Black Iguanas, a pair of Caiman and even an Ant-eater.
I know some people don't like snakes. We never saw a snake at the Inn, so if you don't like snakes, you will feel safe and comfortable here.
But if you DO like snakes, as I do, you'll be happy to know that I was able to spot beautiful Cat-Eye Snakes and a rare Parrot Snake while hiking nearby.
Terry, the owner of the Inn, told me that large boas are also sometimes seen.
Terry and his lovely wife, Katya, run the place with a warm and attentive Family-vibe.
They personally prepare every breakfast, lunch and dinner for their guests, and meals are served around a large table so that everyone can have the opportunity to know each other. They take a true interest in making you feel welcome and comfortable, and
the food is delicious.
If you want to relax, the beach is only a few steps away. There's also a pool, numerous hammocks, and a bar that serves delicious smoothies and ice-cold Imperial Beer, which is pretty nice after a day of jungle hiking.
If you want to see amazing wildlife and get deep in the jungle while maintaining the basic comforts of a clean bed, good food, friendly faces and a nice, cold drink, then this is the place to be.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tiki Rooms, and the Monkey House. Both offer great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A3087ZHmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

mr J. so many thanks to you and your family from all of us here at the lookout inn - you insect people are the best sorry we did not find a lot out there for you -- next time ok lil rain lil sun but lots of sea turtles on the beach and the famous red eye tree frogs are out & about -- and every one reading this remember we are off the grid .. end of the road remote eco lodge solar powered only have great wifi only here at the lodge and we have no hot water except for tea and we have no air conditioning no refers in the rooms -- thats the best part of your vacation (( getting away )) an adventure -- we thank you all for visiting us here terr at the inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

An incredible place in the middle of the jungle with a beautiful sea view, great food and service! If you are heading to Carate, be sure to come here for the best help with local wildlife tours, great days out or even just sitting back with a cocktail to take in the fantastic scenery!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pascallovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

we all miss you f-paskee -- come back to carate as soon as you can and help with the turtles -- we are loosing to the poachers and mutts- hope all is well in green country try not to eat alot of yak ... see ya again....thanks for hanging out with us all those days.. and dont forget you owe me a single malt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

My one and only complaint about the lookout inn is that Terry has absolutely ruined any other hotels chances of ever impressing me. It's hard to even call it a hotel, there's more powerful forces at work here than a comfortable bed and a good meal. The geographical features of the property are astonishing, it's literally a mountain, a jungle, and a beach all in one. Now a sandwich is only as good as what's inside so if the mountain/jungle/beach is the bread, then the monkeys/macaws/tapir(if your lucky.... He's not on payroll) are the juicy lunch meats. When we checked in there was a whole gang of capuchins hanging out in the lounge area, we saw all four species of monkeys within a quarter mile of the premise. The property is quite literally breathtaking, trying to put it into words is useless. Now on to the hospitality... Again, flawless. Dinner was too good, both myself and my friend felt as if we damaged our stomaches we ate so much, amazing food served at three different locations, one for breakfast, one for lunch, one for dinner. It doesn't take a lot of perception to tell that massive amounts of passion were put into the creation of this masterpiece, it's a work of art. Terry, your an absolute legend my man and I will never forget the little bit of time I spent in the reality you created down there huge thanks to you and you wife for having us. I'm coming back to CR, and I'm gna come work for you haha so don't forget about us! One last note I did say mountain so if you chunky dunk in stead of skinny dip this may not be the pool for you!

Jesse from Key West

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tengco91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

this is one righteous review --i went zen reading this thanks so much key west for the visit and we all know you guys will be back -- the mountain stands tall and proud thanks so much and its sea turtle season so lots of moms coming up on our black sand beach laying eggs and lots of babys hatching and racing for the ocean to safety ... see ya again/ terr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
2.4 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
18.9 km away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
18.9 km away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
620 reviews
19.5 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
341 reviews
37.1 km away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range: R901 - R3 606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing