We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly inspirational piece of paradise”
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

My one and only complaint about the lookout inn is that Terry has absolutely ruined any other hotels chances of ever impressing me. It's hard to even call it a hotel, there's more powerful forces at work here than a comfortable bed and a good meal. The geographical features of the property are astonishing, it's literally a mountain, a jungle, and a beach all in one. Now a sandwich is only as good as what's inside so if the mountain/jungle/beach is the bread, then the monkeys/macaws/tapir(if your lucky.... He's not on payroll) are the juicy lunch meats. When we checked in there was a whole gang of capuchins hanging out in the lounge area, we saw all four species of monkeys within a quarter mile of the premise. The property is quite literally breathtaking, trying to put it into words is useless. Now on to the hospitality... Again, flawless. Dinner was too good, both myself and my friend felt as if we damaged our stomaches we ate so much, amazing food served at three different locations, one for breakfast, one for lunch, one for dinner. It doesn't take a lot of perception to tell that massive amounts of passion were put into the creation of this masterpiece, it's a work of art. Terry, your an absolute legend my man and I will never forget the little bit of time I spent in the reality you created down there huge thanks to you and you wife for having us. I'm coming back to CR, and I'm gna come work for you haha so don't forget about us! One last note I did say mountain so if you chunky dunk in stead of skinny dip this may not be the pool for you!

Jesse from Key West

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tengco91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

this is one righteous review --i went zen reading this thanks so much key west for the visit and we all know you guys will be back -- the mountain stands tall and proud thanks so much and its sea turtle season so lots of moms coming up on our black sand beach laying eggs and lots of babys hatching and racing for the ocean to safety ... see ya again/ terr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

This hotel offers some amazing hikes, sights and food. Owners terry and Katya are wonderful and friendly. Would recommend to all family and friends. Buffett food, beautiful rooms over looking the carate beach absolutely beautiful x

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

we all here at the look out inn are happy your vacation time was wonderful here -- thanks so much -- sea turtles up now laying eggs on our beach out front a great thing to witness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We booked for one night and ended up sleeping 6! Before arriving there we were talking how we would build a Lodge in Costa rica - eco-friendly, just platforms in the trees, no walls - and tataaaa! That's how Lookout Inn is!

Lookout Inn stands now firmly in our Top Two of Best Lodges In The world (ex aequo), the other one being the Ngepi Camp in Namibia.

We were warmly welcomed by the owner, Ter, and his excellent team, all nice people. Coffee, water, tea and juice are free throughout the day. There are several observation terraces, where monkeys and macaws come for food (offered by the owner), so you can see them from close and they don't devastate the hotel kitchen (but beware, these are still wild animals! And do.not.feed.them.never.never.never, even involuntarily, so it is better not to leave open food in the rooms).

Now on to the review. The hotel is built on a steep slope right above the beach, in a beautiful jungle garden that the owner and his crew have created over the years from what was originally pastures.

Ter's hospitality is excellent, he really cares for his guests. Buffet food is excellent and plenty, for all three meals, with vegetarian options (we eat mostly vg but did not ask for them, so please ask, and you can even tell them if you don't like this or that). Fish is excellent and always fresh. Ter will not let you sit alone and place you with people around two large tables: lots of interesting travelers come here and you sure will have something to talk about!

All "luxury" rooms are well-decorated, with hammock and and sea view. Over the whole place, the thundering sound of waves on the closeby beach is pervasive, day and night. And when it rains, you notice it! The rooms are open (no walls), and there are mosquito nets on the beds only, which feature small fans. The detached cabinas run on their own 12Volt solar panel and car battery, which powers lights and fans.
Our first "room" or rather cabina was the blue Butterfly, up on the top, huge area, airy and 2 double beds. While you sit on the toilet, you may see a coati or monkeys roaming around.
We also had the "Penthouse", with a double bed and a sofa, which is in the main house on the upper level, with its private terrace with hammock, sea view of course. And finally the "Honeymoon suite", set a little lower than the main house, but even bigger, 3 hammocks. You could easily set up a party with 20 people, and there is a private "jacuzzi"! It enables an extensive Honeymoon trip, featuring a suspended double bed, a single bed and double bunks, so yes up to 3 people can join in the honeymoon!
There are smaller cabinas with a double bed and shared bathroom, lower in the garden. There is a network of wooden steps between all these cabinas. All cabinas are intimate from each other.
About tours and treks: Ter and Caty can organize treks to Corcovado for you, as they have an office in Puerto Gimenez, they know excellent guides (we had excellent experience with Oscar Cordero, and Erick Villa) and organize all the bureaucracy with the national park. They have also an excellent Frog Tour at nightfall, showing you the the cute frogs in the garden and some other animals. You can also ask him about a turtle tour with the local NGO, to see how they care about turtle nests, their hatchery etc.. With some luck, you may even see turtles hatching on the beach. It helps to have a red lamp, as only red lamps are acceptable on the beach at night. Seeing a bright light, a turtle full of eggs will not nest, but get back to the sea and just dump them in the water. Do you want to be responsible for the death of 100+ small turtles?
And you can rent a canoe on the nearby laguna for watching birds and reptiles, which we regretted not to do.
There is a network of nice forest trails in the steep hills above, which you access through the "stairway to heaven" in the main building.
Enough activities for a few days!

The beach: it is just across the dirt track, beautiful black sand, palm trees, but during our visit in July there was a lot of swell, and the big waves crashing on the beach were jjust too dangerous even to dip our feet. With small kids, beware! But it makes great walks and the pelicans fishing are a beauty.

Access is a bit adventurous, there is 50km of dirt track from Puerto Gimenez, with some steep slopes ending in river crossings (6 in total I think), so drive carefully. A 4x4 is definitely advisable. We had a Suzuki Jimny which literally climbs on trees with its halfgear, a 2-door a small car for not more than 3 adults, or 2 adults and two kids. It handles river crossings well (step in the water before if you're unsure about the depth, don't drive too fast, 8-10km/h max, and don't splash like in the movies!).

There is a nice bar, with happy hour, and excellent cocktails. Curfew is at 8 to 9pm latest, but you won't sleep beyond 5-5:30am anyway!

Internet and technology: You can recharge your devices during the day, and according to our son, they have the best internet in Costa Rica. Wi-fi in the main building only, but there are many places to lounge while messaging to your friends how great this place is!

Lastly, a word of advice: if you need walls, air-con, intimate bathrooms, hot showers,
lifts, a hairdryer, a large pool, and hate critters in your cabina, it's definitely not a place for you. However, if you are adventurous, it will be the experience of your life!

Room Tip: Ask for blue butterfly (sleeps 4), Penthouse (2) or Honeymoon suite (5) if you would like to experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominiquebovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

holly cow this is not a review this is a book a million thank you;s for this new movie title -- we all want to thank you 3 for hanging out with us and each morning i knew you all where going to stay another day .. thanks for loving us all here at the famous lookout inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Staying at this Inn is like staying with wonderful family members who love you and think of everything. We arrived here after traveling all day and coming through a rainstorm and we were welcomed with a lovely, warm group dinner. In our family we stayed in both the tiki huts and monkey house which were clean and charming. The property is large and is all eco-sensitive with solar power. There is a true sense that owners Terry and Katja love the land, the animals and the guests. They took time to speak to everyone and seemed vey aware of all of our various needs, allergies, travel plans, interests, all in a natural, easy way that made us feel completely cared for and at home.
Each morning we were treated to the sight of a family of scarlet macaws that eat seeds from a platform on the breakfast deck and in the afternoon a local coati came each day to enjoy the bananas that he knew Terry would give him. He was followed by a large family of squirrel monkeys that put on a little show for us. The hikes nearby are amazing, especially when we could then return to an extensive home cooked meal and fall asleep to the sound of nearby crashing ocean waves. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrDHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

those lil monkeys are back waiting for some one to take a photo -- i want to thank you and the family for sharing your time with us here at the lookout inn... dont forget we have a boutique hotel in town -- puerto jimenez .. with an amazing pool -- see ya all again soon.. thanks again....terrrrrr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

My 2 twenty-something kids and I spent nearly a week at Lookout Lodge, which we found thanks to Trip Advisor. This is not an easy destination to reach--Carate is not even really a town, and Lookout Lodge is not even in Carate proper--but that is part of its rustic charm. The Osa peninsula is one of the most biodiverse places on earth, and LL highlights this--it is open (we highly recommend the Monkey House, an open room for a family), and the animals come right to you. The sight of a flock of macaws in flight welcomed us, and the natural wonders of the place built from there. Terry, the expat American owner, runs a tight ship. There are not restaurants or stores to speak of anywhere near, so one pretty much has to eat at the Lodge; this would be a disadvantage if the food--healthy, fresh, and abundant--were not so delicious! The Lodge is about 2 (hot and sweaty) miles from the entry of Corcovado National Park, so the location is ideal. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank GringatravelerAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutinn, Owner at Lookout Inn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

thanks so much this is about right on as you can get...off the grid eco lodge end of the road no town no tv no radio just wild life and a remote beautiful black sand beach -- and yes great food family style buffet -- we cater to all food diets and allergy's -- and all ways service with a smile thanks again .. terrrrrr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
2.4 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
18.9 km away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
18.9 km away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
620 reviews
19.5 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
341 reviews
37.1 km away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Carate
Price Range: R870 - R3 388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing