We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$502
US$470
View deal
Booking.comUS$502
Hotels.comUS$470
Trip.comUS$502
CheapTicketsUS$470
eDreamsUS$502
TravelocityUS$470
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 301)
Filter reviews
2 301 results
Traveller rating
2 096
156
25
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 096
156
25
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buena vista jean carlo private beach personal concierge bedroom villa jungle house boogie boards costa rica pura vida select villa dinner reservations tule cafe family pool shuttle service every morning three bedroom family vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 2 301 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

We cannot say enough good things about our stay in Tulemar. The concierge was vital in setting us up for all of our fun activities. They not only coordinated set up but they told us ahead of time what we would need to take with us, how it was paid for (charge to room vs cash), arranged transportation, and told us how long the activity would take. He also made sure we were well taken care of during our entire stay. The rest of the staff were just as friendly and accommodating.

We travelled with 2 young children (18 months and 3.5 years) which can be a lot of work. The staff went out of their way to make sure our kids were well taken care of. They even helped baby proof our villa.

The grounds themselves can only be described as paradise. Our balcony had regular visits by squirrel monkeys and other wildlife. The beach was breathtaking and was easily accessible via shuttle and minimal effort with towels, chairs and food services all available on site. Our villa (3 bedroom casa) was spacious and secluded so we never felt disturbed or felt like we were disturbing others when the kids got loud.

Half way through our trip we were already thinking about our next visit. It was truly paradise!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TravelingFamilyCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Paul, Revenue Management at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Pura Vida TravelingFamilyCrew! we're one of the top family destinations in the world according to TripAdvisor for a reason! We look forward to hosting you again! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2021

Tulemar is a rare jewel with wildlife and flora galore. It also has a beautiful private beach with drinks, food and towel service. In a 7-day visit my wife and I took hundreds of photos birds, flowers, monkeys, sloths and agouti. The grounds are are superbly maintained and winding sidewalks and roads were planned to maintain a jungle setting. The people are so friendly and the concierge is at the ready whenever you need to book tours, restaurants or other needs. Our visit was relaxing and restorative. A bank is a block and a half away if you need to convert U.S. dollars to CR Colones. Also, liquor, wine, beer and groceries are a short walk outside in Manuel Antonio. Really, anything you might need, including a yoga studio and gym are close by. The resort is gated and there is around-the-clock security. Each villa has a combination lock safe you can easily set.

Room tip: A jungle-like setting with great views, cafe, beach, pools, flowers, monkeys, macaws and red-lored parrots and more.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank happytrails2u2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Paul, Revenue Management at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Happy Trails to you Happytrails! Thank you for the 5 stars and for staying with us at Tulemarresort. Future guests money conversion is not a necessary to do item when visiting us, but easy to do if you like; every place takes dollars or credit here in Manuel Antonio. We are gated and staffed with security, but at the same time very centrally located so anything you may need is either on site, right outside the gate or obtainable by your concierge! Thanks again HappyTrails! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2021

Let me be brief - our stay at Tulemar was simply outstanding. It exceeded our expectations and our expectations (after 2.5 years due to Covid) were high. The views, location, excursions, restaurants, pools, and the concierge (ours was Luis) were wonderful. I literally tried to bribe the burse giving me the required Covid test to make me fail so I could spend another 14 days.

One thing that made our stay really special was Luis, our concierge. He was available, responsive, and totally reliable when it came to restaurant reservations, taxi rides, and just checking in to see how we were doing. We consider Luis a friend and hope to see him again real soon.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Paul, Revenue Management at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Pura Vida Bill and Thank you for the 5 stars and for staying with us at Tulemarresort. We're grateful to have exceeded all expectations! I hope we can host you again in the near future! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021

The villas have been carefully created to feel isolated and apart from the other guests and rooms. The balconies give a view of the immediately surrounding jungle and the ocean. We saw a monkey, geckos, tropical birds - all from our balcony.

The rooms themselves were nice and modern, but with that slight tropical vibe. The staff were friendly and helpful.

There is a private beach in its own cove that is absolutely gorgeous: slate gray sand, black volcanic rock surrounding the bay, jungle everywhere. Lots of little hermit crabs running around - not in the way or gross (they would flee quickly if you moved nearby them) but cool to observe.

I would gladly stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mpjenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Paul, Revenue Management at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you mpjenson, for your 5 stars and for staying with us at Tulemarresort. I hope you can stay with us again and greatly increase your animal observances by doing the Sloth Walk! Glad you enjoyed and hope to see you again. Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

This was my favorite place during our vacation. We stayed in one of the villas and were able to see toucans, howler monkeys and capuchin monkeys from our balcony frequently. Sitting on the balcony and watching the ocean and jungle became my favorite thing to do. The villa was very comfortable and quiet, and the staff were wonderful. The food was also excellent and they even offered room service! There are also lots of great restaurants nearby and the resort has beach access. Tulemar has everything you need to make a great vacation.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 978jennifera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Paul, Revenue Management at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Jen for your 5 stars and for staying with us at Tulemarresort. Yes simply sitting on the balcony and watching the world go by in Tulemarresort is one of the top activities here! That activity gets even better in Green season. When it rains a good steady rain and your are sitting there on your balcony hours can flash by! Thanks again Jen! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews