We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 848)
Filter reviews
1 848 results
Traveller rating
1 630
163
35
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 630
163
35
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reservela lunapersonal conciergeprivate rooftopjungle suitecosta ricafree tourgolf cartscarlet macawsour honeymoonspa treatmentspool barmoment you arrivenature preserveprivate tournational parkceviche
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 1 848 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Me and my cousin had an amazing time at the Gaia Hotel in Manuel Antonio. We enjoyed the beautiful surroundigs and the stunning view from the pool. Our hotelroom was very stylish, we even had Netflix! The breakfast which is served every morning was delicious as was the dinner at the restaurant la luna. The staff members were all very helpful and courteous. They were so nice to us, they even made us some sweets to take with us for our ride back to San José. Our personal concierge Esteban was very nice as well, we really enjoyed having him around. The private nature reserve which is located at the hotel property was very interesting. We did the tour through the park where we got to see a lot of macaws and other creatures. We also saw some iguanas wandering around the hotel property. The highlight was definitely the sloth with its baby hanging on the tree next to the pool area, where we were reading and enjoying the sun every day. We watched the sunset every evening during happy hour with drinks and some very nice snacks. Thank you so much for everything, we will definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

We want to thank our recent guests for their wonderful 5 star review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are thrilled that your experience met your expectations and that you are happy to recommend our little slice of Paradise to family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We ended up switching this this hotel at the last moment, when I decided the other hotel was overpriced. We got a room, without a view for $200 per night. But what a great find! They have an on-site conservation area for scarlet macaws. What a beautiful sight. They offered a free conservationist-lead tour daily. The guide was awesome. The macaws were beautiful, but even more incredible was the guide's ability to locate the monkeys (via calls), and take us on a personal tour of the rainforest to the real monkeys of Costa Rica. The monkeys were searching for food in creek beds (vs trash cans). We also were fortunate in that a sloth and baby had taken up residence in the tree by pool. Sloth's only come down once a week, and this sloth happened to climb down while we were watching. Amazing!!

The staff were all incredible, the accommodations were luxurious and the food and rinks delicious. I can't say enough good things about this resort. Don't miss the sunset!! Great view from the happy hour or from the pool.

Room Tip: Be aware that hotels in this area are on a cliff, so some rooms will have stairs to get to.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thank you very much for all your kind words and for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.

We are thrilled you were able to experience Costa Rica in it's natural form here on our 14.5 acre reserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Overall, this hotel and property was absolutely beautiful. Almost every time we walked out of our room we saw some cool animal/bird/amphibian. The staff was very helpful. Our personal concierge, Octavio, was very helpful. They have an hourly shuttle to the beach, which is very nice. The restaurant serves excellent food and has an amazing view. Pool is very nice but can seem small very quickly if there are many people in it.

We booked the jungle adrenaline package, which seemed to do us a bit of a disservice. Since all activities were pre booked, we learned very little (if anything at all) before we went on the trips. There was little direction provided by the hotel, other than pickup times and often little direction provided by the companies that picked us up.

Overall, the ecperience at Gaia was very nice. One complaint is that it really is not walking distance to anything. Cabs anywhere seem to cost $10, which is a little step considering the distance.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thank you very much for your overall 5 star review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

All of our packages are geared to the individual desires of our guests. And all activities are chosen in that respect. I am sure your personal concierge would have been more than accommodating in explaining and giving direction for each planned activity.
We are sorry that did not happen.
And indeed, we are away from the main traffic and commercial shopping areas of Manuel Antonio and Quepos. We believe this adds to the peace and tranquility of the Gaia experience. We do provide hourly shuttle service to the National Park and beaches of Manuel Antonio daily which we believe is very convenient for our guests.
Thank you again for your thoughts and suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel was nice but $600/ night for a room under the restaurant section of the hotel with no view was too much.
Make sure you don't stay in rooms under restaurant as noise from above goes late into the night.
Staff was super helpful.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xestenshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

We are happy your thoughts of our staff were kind and that they were super helpful.

But we are sad your thoughts on the Clubhouse Suite was not satisfactory. We have intensified the infrastructure of the insulation between the room and the restaurant so there is no longer any issues regarding any noise.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic Hotel & Reserve, wonderful staff nothing is too much. From poolside service, La Luna restaurant, room maid service. Great rooms, large & spacious, nice decor. We spent 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer....maybe next year.!
If you're visiting Stunning Manuel Antonio, look no further, just stay here, you won't regret it.
BIG thank you's to the following:

Airyn (Concierge)
Melania (Masseuse)
Daniel - Giovanny - Marcos (Poolside sunset Bar)

***Giovanny*** Remember "I love Fruit"......! Naughty..
Thanks to you all, you're the best...Huw & Tim

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Huw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thanking our recent guests for their onderful 5 star review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

Thank you for acknowledging our staff and for choosing us for your holiday celebration!

We hope to see you next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews