We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Home! So Much More than Expected!”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Celaje
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Celaje
Villa Celaje Outdoor living area with spectacular ocean views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Villa Celaje
Villa Celaje
Outdoor living area with spectacular ocean views
Living room area with flat screen TV.
Large dining room with chef services per your request!
'Blue Ocean' master suite with king size bed.
Master bathroom with access to outdoor jacuzzi located on the terrace.
The 'Grand Master' suite. View over the bed and into the unique shower room.
The 'Grand Master' bathroom.
'Plum Paradise' master suite with king size bed.
Kitchen with granite countertops, Italian cabinetry, and stainless steel appliances.
Outdoor jacuzzi on the terrace.
The 'Golden' bedroom.
s
Apartment suite.
Apartment suite sleeping couch and kitchen area.
Outdoor Gourmet Kitchen
Plenty of relaxing outdoor space
Fantastic sunsets year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
man0265
Euless, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Home! So Much More than Expected!”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A group of sixteen of us traveled to Manuel Antonio and Villa Celaje to celebrate my 50th birthday. I couldn't have asked for a better celebration. The home is more beautiful than the online pictures show. I've had experiences in the past where the hotel/house pics were much better than the real thing. This was not the case here. The views were spectacular. The home and grounds were well taken care of. The house was spotless. Thank you Tatiana! We all felt very at home. The house was big enough for privacy when you wanted it and socializing with the group. I took photos of the home with my iPhone but the inside of the house came out a little dark. I'll post them anyway.

I cannot say enough about Johan. He was our go to man for everything. He arranged everything from airport transportation, taxi rides, excursions, to house needs. He had a lot of great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. Very sweet and personable guy. We've all invited him to come stay with us whenever he can come to the US.

We spent most of the afternoons at the pool after our excursions. The mood was relaxing and the view was spectacular! The first few days of our stay, we had a sloth in the tree by the dining area. We also had monkeys visit one day and a toucan spent the day in the tree, too.

It is true that you'll need a taxi to travel to the beach or town. We had no problem getting one. Ask Johan to give you Johnny's number. He was awesome!

We did plenty of excursions on our trip. They were all great! ATV Tour, National Park (ask for Mop as your guide), Zip Line, white water rafting, and horse back riding. Johan arranged them all!

I would repeat this vacation again and again! It was absolutely wonderful! Thank you Johan and staff!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quality of the home, the cleanliness, the pool, the service .. and on and on
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best vacation ever”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were a group of 16 and we absolutely fell in love with this house. Everything was completely beautiful and up to date. We would definitely come back. Also our concierge was the best. He booked all of our activities and spa. This is the place to be when you want to relax and unwind.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad Z
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I just returned from a stay at Villa Celaje with a group of 14 and could not have asked for a better experience or more beautiful home to stay at. The house is gorgeous -- well laid-out, great decor, sound insulation, and more than enough room for a group of our size. Not to mention, there's not a window in the house you can't get a great view out of. The kitchen on the main level is a *little* on the small side but, considering there are two other kitchens in the home and a personal chef available, it was a non-issue.

For this trip, we opted to go with the personal chef services for our meals (breakfast and dinners only, as we were out on excursions during the day) and were not disappointed. Marlon was easy to communicate with for advance planning and the food he prepared was fantastic. He truly went above and beyond my expectations and I would definitely look to use him again on a future trip to Costa Rica.

Johan, the house concierge, was equally fantastic. He was helpful in setting up our excursions, spa appointments, etc. and was always on top of everything. After two days at the house, we quickly realized that we were a hungry and thirsty group and would probably be running out of snacks/drinks by Day Three... after a late evening call to Johan requesting a re-stocking of supplies sometime the next day, I found myself opening the front door 30 minutes later to him with a handful of groceries. It was the little things like this that made the biggest difference.

Tatiana, our housekeeper, was also wonderful. She did so much work behind the scenes in keeping the house clean and polished -- it was nice walking back in at the end of each day to such a clean space. She even did our laundry mid-week, which was a nice added bonus.

All in all, a fantastic trip at a fantastic house. I think we would have been hard-pressed to find a nicer place with a nicer staff. Well worth the money!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan s
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Living High in Quepos”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

If you want to wake up with unobstructed views of the sunrise and settle in at night to unobstructed views of the sunset, this is the place for you. The setting is incredible and the house easily accommodated our group of 11 adults in great comfort. Johan was the house manager and was ready to answer all of our questions and arrange whatever tours or services we needed. We enjoyed the services of a private chef for three of our nights (kudos to Michael and his assistant William) and ate like royalty (this was arranged via Marlin Calderon). This was a wonderful option and very reasonable. Each time we discussed the menu and Michael came mid-afternoon to cook. We even got a few lessons and I can't wait to get home to try my hand at ceviche. . All in all, it was MORE than advertised and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the setting high on a ridge above the ocean is spectacular
Liked least: there were a few things that needed repair like the refrigerator but it was quickly serviced
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyFa...
Western Springs, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The trip of a LIFETIME!”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Wow.. Just wow. My fiancé and I stayed at Casa Anaka Jan 2014 (another house on the estate) and the whole experience was so absolutely amazing that we rented Villa Celaje just months after returning home. We returned Jan 2015 with 18 of our friends and family members. There were 3 things that made this vacation unforgettable..

1. JOHAN!!! He handled every aspect of this vacation and he did not disappoint! He arranged airport shuttles, excursions, chef services, spa services, car rentals, even bus tickets to Panama for the adventure seekers in the group. He delivered on every request and to top it off, he's a fun-loving, personable guy. Johan is a huge reason why we came back to this particular estate a second time and looking forward to going back!

2. Chef Marlin is an AMAZING cook!!!! On the first morning after our arrival, I'd arranged a Costa Rican breakfast and the spread was unbelievable! So much food and everything was delish. It was a great way to kick off the week and give our guests a taste of the yummy Costa Rican food in store. On our last afternoon at the house, we utilized the outdoor kitchen and Chef Marlin came for a huge cook out. What a way to spend our last day... pool, gorgeous ocean view, and a feast! BBQ ribs, grilled veggies, baked potatoes, an entire taco bar, margaritas, grilled fish, flan and sorbet just to name of few things! The guys had actually just come back from a deep sea fishing trip with quite a few groupers in hand. Chef Marlin and his crew grilled the fish to perfection for us - talk about fresh! I HIGHLY recommend hiring Chef Marlin.

3. The house. The pictures do not come close to capturing the magnificence of the property. The house is complete luxury all the way and our guests could not have been more impressed. High end appliances, furniture, fixtures and finishing touches are littered all throughout the home. My finance and I stayed in the grand master suite - I don't think I could ever tire waking up to beautiful ocean and mountain views peering into the floor to ceiling windows. This house is perfection. All of our guests had their own personal space (and bathrooms, huge plus) and everyone absolutely enjoyed having 24 hours access to the infinity pool outside. There is even an outdoor full bathroom! One morning we were visited by a troupe of monkeys who joined us on the pool deck, grabbed food right out of our hands, and even allowed us to take playful pictures of them. We also had a sloth 20 feet away hanging out for the night right outside our balcony. You will be completely taken aback by the view once you step foot on the property.

We love the estate and we're considering it for our possible destination wedding. Thank you to Johan for making this vacation even better than our last. Our guests are still talking about it :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The top notch concierge and chef services
Liked least: Our stay was only one week!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing