We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place In Costa Rica”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This resort is hidden jungle/Sea Gem. When we arrived, Alberto was very helpful and made us feel so welcome. The staff was very helpful & friendly. Beautiful views, great location. I have been to many resorts in Manuel Antonio and this is my favorite! This hotel is an oasis in the forest/Sea. I come back every year to Costa Rica. I stay for 3 months and come to Manuel Antonio about 3 times during my stay. Makanda is where I will stay!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank howaluna55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Owner at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest!

It is so important for us to know that our efforts succeeded. It is always inspiring when people share your passion. Thanks for your support. Hugs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

just after the wedding, we jumped into the plane and rushed to the far-away dream country of Costa Rica. After spending 22 hours at airports and different planes, absolutely exhausted we got to the destination. How nice it was to be greeted by a super positive minivan driver who drive us with comfort to Hotel Makanda. From the first minute we fell in love with it - we simply did not expect such beauty in the middle of the jungle, with fantastic views of the ocean. We were met as kings and every minute of our stay they tried to do everything so that we were happy. The room was huge, magnificent design and view of the ocean, decorated with rose petals, we were waited with a cold rose champagne and hot jacuzzi. The next morning we were offered breakfast on the menu with options to choose from. Food was delicious. By the way, the food in the hotel are really good. I definitely recommend visiting a new restaurant for a romantic dinner - we really enjoyed it. I can say Makanda is a great mix of relaxing atmosphere, service, design, cleanliness, wild nature beauty and killing sunsets. We were happy! Thanks Makanda for our fabulous honeymoon!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paulina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Owner at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Paulina!

Is so important for us to hear this words, especially from honeymoon couple. It was such an honour to share this amazing days with your beautiful family! Our best wishes and tropical hugs from Costa Rican Paradise))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I spent 4 nights at Makanda by the Sea. We were not disappointed. The hotel is fantastic - it's very well designed, fresh, modern and most of all, relaxing. The hotel has two awesome infinity pools that give views over the jungle and Pacific ocean. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The hotel has it's own semi private beach - we spent a day there and were the only ones on the beach. We enjoyed both the sushi pool bar and the main restaurant which has only just opened. I would definitely recommend the Daiquiris and the Caipirinhas!! We stayed in one of the new Ocean Suite rooms - they are large with big balconies and all the modern amenities you'd expect. We could see two Sloths hanging out on a tree right outside our room. So cool to be nestled directly in nature. Overall, I would highly recommend a visit. If you're looking for a tropical retreat for some romance or relaxation, Makanda won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the Ocean Suite rooms - they are the newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GlobalKetchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thnak you for choosing Makanda and visiting our profile!
We really appreciate this detailed review, we are sure it will help other travelers that are trying to make the right choice.
The Property is really blessed with incredible views and daily wildlife visitors.
Having the best Staff and the best Gastronomic offer combined with great design and architecture is just the cherry on the top ;-)
We hope that you visit us again, remember to mention that you already stayed with us when making your next reservation.
Have a great and blessed weekend...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Cannot say enough good things about our experience at this resort/hotel. From the minute we drove up we were impressed. Every single member of the staff was attentive and helpful. Alberto who greeted us and checked us was fantastic! Coco helped us into our room which was breathtaking! Luis and Joshua were our favorite bartenders/waiters and served us VERY well going the extra mile to bring us whatever we needed. Joshua even asked the chef to prepare us our favorite Costa Rican staple "Gallo Pinto" (beans and rice) even tho it want on their menu. The food was incredible. We didn't have one bad meal. From breakfast at the large infinity pool to sushi at the smaller infinity pool for lunch to dinner at the restaurant Arboles , the presentation and flavor of the food was well done. Our room was #S1 Ocean Club with an incredible view of both the ocean and the tropics. Bed was extremely comfortable and the sheets were clean and soft. The room itself was very clean and the decor and layout was fantastic. I will say it is NOT at all handicap friendly. The hotel is literally on the side of the cliff and the walk to and from our room to the two pools and restaurant areas was literally a hike. We got our daily workout in just traversing the grounds! So if you are not in good physical shape or have the use of both legs, this hotel may not be for you. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend this resort. Worth every penny. Close to Manuel Antonio Nat'l Park and inviting/relaxing enough that we spend the majority of our 3 days never leaving it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank drhedlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Doctor,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Makanda and visiting our profile.
We have been working really hard to create the perfect spot for our Customers and realizing that we are accomplishing our goal feels real great.
We have such good guys working in every department and even the monkeys have been doing their part, hehe...
Both the Hotel and our gastronomic offer have considerably grown and we have reached a very high level.
Looking forward to your next visit, call us and let´s make it a week stay ;-)
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Arrived to the resort around 7pm after a long drive from La Fortuna. Staff was very accommodating and informative. Resort grounds were beautiful and immaculately maintained. The hotel was making certain renovations but it didn't bother our stay at all. Private path to the hotels private beach. Due to the hotels adult only policy, the hotel has a romantic feel at night. 2 infinity pools on the property, one which is open 24 hours a day and the other is open 8-8. During checkout, was given a 15% discount for my next booking. Very much enjoyed everything about the location. My room could have been more updated, however was clean and comfortable which made up for the few antiquated decor. Only thing i could complain about this entire trip is that the hotel has a restaurant on site which was very expensive, yet not worth what they charged. I would suggest driving off the property to eat in one of the many local restaurants. But for the moat part, i was satisfied.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathaniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Nathaniel,
Thank you for choosing our Property and taking from your time to visit our profile.
That drive from La Fortuna might be certainly a beat up, mostly when you are driving.
For your next visit, you might take in consideration that we can help you arrange for a Private Ground Transfer on a nice comfortable SUV with A/C or for a local flight.
We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to host you again, it´s our goal now that your next score for us will be 5 (or maybe more).
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.0 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 587 reviews
1.0 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 276 reviews
0.9 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.1 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 487 reviews
0.8 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: R3 121 - R5 977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing