We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Peaceful Tropical Retreat”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 September 2017

My partner and I spent 4 nights at Makanda by the Sea. We were not disappointed. The hotel is fantastic - it's very well designed, fresh, modern and most of all, relaxing. The hotel has two awesome infinity pools that give views over the jungle and Pacific ocean. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The hotel has it's own semi private beach - we spent a day there and were the only ones on the beach. We enjoyed both the sushi pool bar and the main restaurant which has only just opened. I would definitely recommend the Daiquiris and the Caipirinhas!! We stayed in one of the new Ocean Suite rooms - they are large with big balconies and all the modern amenities you'd expect. We could see two Sloths hanging out on a tree right outside our room. So cool to be nestled directly in nature. Overall, I would highly recommend a visit. If you're looking for a tropical retreat for some romance or relaxation, Makanda won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the Ocean Suite rooms - they are the newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GlobalKetchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thnak you for choosing Makanda and visiting our profile!
We really appreciate this detailed review, we are sure it will help other travelers that are trying to make the right choice.
The Property is really blessed with incredible views and daily wildlife visitors.
Having the best Staff and the best Gastronomic offer combined with great design and architecture is just the cherry on the top ;-)
We hope that you visit us again, remember to mention that you already stayed with us when making your next reservation.
Have a great and blessed weekend...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Cannot say enough good things about our experience at this resort/hotel. From the minute we drove up we were impressed. Every single member of the staff was attentive and helpful. Alberto who greeted us and checked us was fantastic! Coco helped us into our room which was breathtaking! Luis and Joshua were our favorite bartenders/waiters and served us VERY well going the extra mile to bring us whatever we needed. Joshua even asked the chef to prepare us our favorite Costa Rican staple "Gallo Pinto" (beans and rice) even tho it want on their menu. The food was incredible. We didn't have one bad meal. From breakfast at the large infinity pool to sushi at the smaller infinity pool for lunch to dinner at the restaurant Arboles , the presentation and flavor of the food was well done. Our room was #S1 Ocean Club with an incredible view of both the ocean and the tropics. Bed was extremely comfortable and the sheets were clean and soft. The room itself was very clean and the decor and layout was fantastic. I will say it is NOT at all handicap friendly. The hotel is literally on the side of the cliff and the walk to and from our room to the two pools and restaurant areas was literally a hike. We got our daily workout in just traversing the grounds! So if you are not in good physical shape or have the use of both legs, this hotel may not be for you. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend this resort. Worth every penny. Close to Manuel Antonio Nat'l Park and inviting/relaxing enough that we spend the majority of our 3 days never leaving it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank drhedlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Doctor,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Makanda and visiting our profile.
We have been working really hard to create the perfect spot for our Customers and realizing that we are accomplishing our goal feels real great.
We have such good guys working in every department and even the monkeys have been doing their part, hehe...
Both the Hotel and our gastronomic offer have considerably grown and we have reached a very high level.
Looking forward to your next visit, call us and let´s make it a week stay ;-)
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Arrived to the resort around 7pm after a long drive from La Fortuna. Staff was very accommodating and informative. Resort grounds were beautiful and immaculately maintained. The hotel was making certain renovations but it didn't bother our stay at all. Private path to the hotels private beach. Due to the hotels adult only policy, the hotel has a romantic feel at night. 2 infinity pools on the property, one which is open 24 hours a day and the other is open 8-8. During checkout, was given a 15% discount for my next booking. Very much enjoyed everything about the location. My room could have been more updated, however was clean and comfortable which made up for the few antiquated decor. Only thing i could complain about this entire trip is that the hotel has a restaurant on site which was very expensive, yet not worth what they charged. I would suggest driving off the property to eat in one of the many local restaurants. But for the moat part, i was satisfied.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathaniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Nathaniel,
Thank you for choosing our Property and taking from your time to visit our profile.
That drive from La Fortuna might be certainly a beat up, mostly when you are driving.
For your next visit, you might take in consideration that we can help you arrange for a Private Ground Transfer on a nice comfortable SUV with A/C or for a local flight.
We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to host you again, it´s our goal now that your next score for us will be 5 (or maybe more).
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Stunning Hotel in Manuel Antonio with amazing views... We spent our 20th wedding Anniversary at Makanda the staff made it the most unforgettbale trip. The service is 5 star... the quailty of food at the Arbor Hotel is like no other....

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SolFrozenYogurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Buenos días, thank you for choosing Hotel Makanda for such a special event in your life.
It´s a blessing to be part and become a celebration destination.
We are already looking forward for your next visit on your 21st, 22nd, 50th...
Have a great and blessed day...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have been saving for a couple years in order to have the Best delayed honeymoon possible and of course the Best option was Costa Rica.
You know is not cheap to travel from Far East.
We spent a LOT of hours trying to put together a nice itinerary so it was not only the money but the effort too.
We tried to keep it a little bit standard for the first nights just to put the cherry on the cake for the last 4 nights. There could not be more exquisite, juicy, pumpy cherry than Makanda by the Sea…
OH-MY-DEAR-LORD…!!!
They helped us arranging a Private Ground Transfer from Arenal to Manuel Antonio so their service started even before getting there. Leo @ Reservations made sure driver was on time to pick us up. Comfortable SUV we did not even feel it was 4 hours.
From SUV to Golfcart (if golfcart not there they would probably carry us, hehe).
Delicious welcome cocktails (usually just fruit juice but ask to baptize with Cacique).
Pacific Suite was set already and Alberto tried to make check in process as short as possible so we could jump into the Jacuzzi as soon as possible. 
Minibar is filled with many good items/brands and they also offer room service.
The thing is that you don´t even need to get out of the room, but you gotta do it, I mean they have 2 AWESOME pool areas, one with a sushi bar, God I am gonna miss the Octopus roll.
They just opened a new Restaurant and the design is SO COOL, not to mention the food which is just unreal.
You all probably know or heard about the Pura Vida costarican slogan, beautiful thing is that indeed everything is Pure Life.
We started saving again, since already planned to come back to Makanda as much as possible; it was really hard to leave… I was able to leave only by knowing that I´ll come back.
100% Recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vera_Gavrilchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Vera,
Thank you a LOT for choosing Makanda and taking from your valued time to send us this beautiful review.
Considering your effort and special ocassion; we feel so blessed and happy to realize that we fulfilled your expectations and more.
All of our Staff really enjoyed your visit and even the squirrell monkeys are waiting for your return trip. See you in few months.
Have a long life together...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.0 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 589 reviews
0.9 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
1.0 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.1 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 488 reviews
0.8 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: R3 252 - R6 149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing