We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$226
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$294
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Faro Beach Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Moon Villa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$791
US$752
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
550
116
43
23
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
116
43
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean clubcosta ricainfinity poolsunspot restaurantprivate beachpersonal paradiseevery morningour honeymoongolf cartamazing viewsbottle of champagneromantic getawaythe main roadpoolside restaurantlow tidefront gateview of the ocean
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 757 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Location, views and hospitality were well beyond my expectations. There's a lot of renovations going on. So I look forward to coming back to when the place is even better. We were lucky enough to get one of the newly built rooms. Giant beach view balcony and massive bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in one of the newer built rooms. That's what we had and we loved it.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mical_Ped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Buenos días Mical, thank you for choosing our property and visiting our profile.
We really appreciate your kind words, it is great to realize that we are doing a good job.
Glad that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean.
Looking forward to host you again, remember to mention that you already stayed with us when making your next reservation.
Have a great and blessed week...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. The location is perfect in front of the sea. The place is very quiet, we had a private villa with terrace with sea view. The food is excellent, we had sushi, octopus, and healthy breakfast.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank XavL737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Buenos días Xavi! Thank you for choosing Makanda and taking from your time to visit our profile! We have been working a lot to offer the best gastronomic option in the Central Pacific Area and our Kitchen staff is doing a great job. How about those huge sushi rolls!?!? Being a property by the coast line bless us by having only the best and the freshest seafood. Looking forward to host you again.
Have a great and blessed weekend...


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

My spouse and I spent 6 great nights at this marvelous hotel, upon our arrival we were greeted by Alberto who was very welcoming and covered all the information we needed for our stay. Of course we enjoyed our complimentary pineapple smoothie. The accommodations were excellent and comfortable, loved that on most day's we had the pool to ourselves. The wildlife around the property was amazing to wake up to every day. Our bartender and waiter for the 6 days Luis was friendly and accommodating. We are already making plans to return to Makanda and bringing friends. Only one suggestion for my Makanda friends maybe putting in a dresser drawer in the closet or the bathroom to store our clothes, this would make the accommodations even better.

Room Tip: The newer rooms have great views of the ocean and wildlife no need to splurge on the villas.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Buenos días Frank, thank you for choosing Makanda and visiting our profile.
Glad that you enjoyed our perfect mixture of great design, friendly staff and wildlife; besides having very sweet fruits year round is just one of the blessings in Costa Rica.
Thank you for your advice, feedback is really important for us.
We are truly looking forward to host you again, if coming with friends please call us so we can lead you to the best option for you and your friends.
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a luxurious, private romantic retreat- and the private pool and room 6 were exactly what we needed. Makanda by the Sea is beautiful and lush. We enjoyed every aspect of our room, the bedding was lush and comfortable, the furnishings were beautiful. We loved have a refrigerator and freezer so we could spend the entire day by our private pool. We fell in love with the robes in the room! I so enjoyed seeing the monkeys come by every morning. The food was delicious! Every possible need you could think of is well attended to, and you can focus on enjoying each other!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca_Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Rebecca,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Makanda and visiting our profile!
We are so happy that you enjoyed the Luxury Villa with Private Pool, sorry you had to share it with the Monkeys, hehe...
All of our staff enjoyed taking care of you and we all miss you.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Remember to mention that you already stayed with us when making your next reservation.
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. Since we arrive we were greeted by Jamie (I think that's his name) who was very attentive and offers us pineapple smoothies and make us feel very welcomed. The room was incredible with the most spectacular view of the ocean. The pool by the restaurant is amazing, deep and you can hear the music under the water ! Wow!

We will definitely come back again !

Thank you

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Buenos días Carolina!
Thank you for choosing our Property and taking from your time to visit our profile.
We are glad that you had a nice experience, this music feature is amazing and compliments the great service and food offered ;-)
Looking forward to host you again.
Have a great and blessed week...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews