We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous property, great service!”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This property is so beautiful I almost don't want to write a review so I can keep it to myself! From check-in to check-out, the staff was top-notch and the view from the saltwater pool is to die for. The draw for me is the adults only rule and the peace and quiet the surrounding forest provides. Many thanks to Alberto and Leo at the front desk and Jorge the best bellman in all of Manuel Antonio! And hats off to Gabriel at the sushi bar for playing both bartender and photographer. Spent 4 nights at Makanda and seriously did not want to leave -- I will definately be back!

Room Tip: I got upgraded to a suite by the saltwater pool, which was great -- top floors provide the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NitaD_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Buenos días, thank you for choosing Hotel Makanda and taking from your time to visit our profile!
Guys already checked your review and they are really happy because your expectations were fulfilled.
Looking forward to your next visit(s).
Have a great and blessed day...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Location, views and hospitality were well beyond my expectations. There's a lot of renovations going on. So I look forward to coming back to when the place is even better. We were lucky enough to get one of the newly built rooms. Giant beach view balcony and massive bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in one of the newer built rooms. That's what we had and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mical_Ped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Buenos días Mical, thank you for choosing our property and visiting our profile.
We really appreciate your kind words, it is great to realize that we are doing a good job.
Glad that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean.
Looking forward to host you again, remember to mention that you already stayed with us when making your next reservation.
Have a great and blessed week...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. The location is perfect in front of the sea. The place is very quiet, we had a private villa with terrace with sea view. The food is excellent, we had sushi, octopus, and healthy breakfast.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank XavL737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Buenos días Xavi! Thank you for choosing Makanda and taking from your time to visit our profile! We have been working a lot to offer the best gastronomic option in the Central Pacific Area and our Kitchen staff is doing a great job. How about those huge sushi rolls!?!? Being a property by the coast line bless us by having only the best and the freshest seafood. Looking forward to host you again.
Have a great and blessed weekend...


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

My spouse and I spent 6 great nights at this marvelous hotel, upon our arrival we were greeted by Alberto who was very welcoming and covered all the information we needed for our stay. Of course we enjoyed our complimentary pineapple smoothie. The accommodations were excellent and comfortable, loved that on most day's we had the pool to ourselves. The wildlife around the property was amazing to wake up to every day. Our bartender and waiter for the 6 days Luis was friendly and accommodating. We are already making plans to return to Makanda and bringing friends. Only one suggestion for my Makanda friends maybe putting in a dresser drawer in the closet or the bathroom to store our clothes, this would make the accommodations even better.

Room Tip: The newer rooms have great views of the ocean and wildlife no need to splurge on the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Buenos días Frank, thank you for choosing Makanda and visiting our profile.
Glad that you enjoyed our perfect mixture of great design, friendly staff and wildlife; besides having very sweet fruits year round is just one of the blessings in Costa Rica.
Thank you for your advice, feedback is really important for us.
We are truly looking forward to host you again, if coming with friends please call us so we can lead you to the best option for you and your friends.
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a luxurious, private romantic retreat- and the private pool and room 6 were exactly what we needed. Makanda by the Sea is beautiful and lush. We enjoyed every aspect of our room, the bedding was lush and comfortable, the furnishings were beautiful. We loved have a refrigerator and freezer so we could spend the entire day by our private pool. We fell in love with the robes in the room! I so enjoyed seeing the monkeys come by every morning. The food was delicious! Every possible need you could think of is well attended to, and you can focus on enjoying each other!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca_Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Rebecca,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Makanda and visiting our profile!
We are so happy that you enjoyed the Luxury Villa with Private Pool, sorry you had to share it with the Monkeys, hehe...
All of our staff enjoyed taking care of you and we all miss you.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Remember to mention that you already stayed with us when making your next reservation.
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0,9 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
564 reviews
2 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 637 reviews
0,3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 305 reviews
1,1 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 513 reviews
0,8 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: R3 817 - R13 855 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing