We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Great Hotel”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 August 2017

My spouse and I spent 6 great nights at this marvelous hotel, upon our arrival we were greeted by Alberto who was very welcoming and covered all the information we needed for our stay. Of course we enjoyed our complimentary pineapple smoothie. The accommodations were excellent and comfortable, loved that on most day's we had the pool to ourselves. The wildlife around the property was amazing to wake up to every day. Our bartender and waiter for the 6 days Luis was friendly and accommodating. We are already making plans to return to Makanda and bringing friends. Only one suggestion for my Makanda friends maybe putting in a dresser drawer in the closet or the bathroom to store our clothes, this would make the accommodations even better.

Room Tip: The newer rooms have great views of the ocean and wildlife no need to splurge on the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Buenos días Frank, thank you for choosing Makanda and visiting our profile.
Glad that you enjoyed our perfect mixture of great design, friendly staff and wildlife; besides having very sweet fruits year round is just one of the blessings in Costa Rica.
Thank you for your advice, feedback is really important for us.
We are truly looking forward to host you again, if coming with friends please call us so we can lead you to the best option for you and your friends.
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a luxurious, private romantic retreat- and the private pool and room 6 were exactly what we needed. Makanda by the Sea is beautiful and lush. We enjoyed every aspect of our room, the bedding was lush and comfortable, the furnishings were beautiful. We loved have a refrigerator and freezer so we could spend the entire day by our private pool. We fell in love with the robes in the room! I so enjoyed seeing the monkeys come by every morning. The food was delicious! Every possible need you could think of is well attended to, and you can focus on enjoying each other!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca_Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Rebecca,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Makanda and visiting our profile!
We are so happy that you enjoyed the Luxury Villa with Private Pool, sorry you had to share it with the Monkeys, hehe...
All of our staff enjoyed taking care of you and we all miss you.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Remember to mention that you already stayed with us when making your next reservation.
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. Since we arrive we were greeted by Jamie (I think that's his name) who was very attentive and offers us pineapple smoothies and make us feel very welcomed. The room was incredible with the most spectacular view of the ocean. The pool by the restaurant is amazing, deep and you can hear the music under the water ! Wow!

We will definitely come back again !

Thank you

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Buenos días Carolina!
Thank you for choosing our Property and taking from your time to visit our profile.
We are glad that you had a nice experience, this music feature is amazing and compliments the great service and food offered ;-)
Looking forward to host you again.
Have a great and blessed week...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel was a hidden gem! Gorgeous property and rooms. Great views, and wildlife (cappachino and howeler monkeys, sloths). Most friendly and accommodating staff, Alberto, Leo (both) and Coco, we're the BEST!! Highly recommend!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Hola Katie!
Thank you for choosing Hotel Makanda and visiting our profile!
We are glad that you enjoyed the Hotel.
Staff and wildlife have made the best combination, right?
Hope you visit us again.
Have a great and blessed weekend...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Makanda By The Sea provided an extraordinary experience for us. Nestled right into the jungle at Manuel Antonio National Park, the vista and setting were exceptional. The mix of plants, trees, flowers, birds, monkeys, sloths and other living things mixed among stone and lava provided a remarkable natural backdrop of Costa Rica’s beauty for a gorgeous and well-appointed five-star property run by an expert, friendly and caring staff. The new Arbol Restaurant has eye-catching wood decor, the Infinity Pool is simply one-of-a-kind, and the private beach is delightful. Our villa was one of the best values that we’ve ever been offered on our travels, a beautifully decorated room with a truly comfy bed framed by scenes overlooking the jungle and ocean that made for many lasting memories. Our patio even had a hammock for a wonderful rustic touch! Good food and a wide variety of beverages including a rotating selection of hand-squeezed fruit juices each morning made for excellent dining and poolside relaxing. Service, specialties and accommodations all were top-notch. This was not our first visit to a Costa Rican luxury resort, but it was far and away the best, and so Makanda now will be our destination again in the near future! For prospective visitors, know that gratuities are not included on bills so have dollars or colons handy, and you must try the Makanda Cheesecake, one of the most cleverly presented and delicious desserts we’ve ever had! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Estimada María,
Muchas gracias for choosing Hotel Makanda and taking from your time to visit our profile.
We really appreciate your kind words, it is real satisfaction when we get to understand that we are doing a good job.
Such a detailed review will also help another customers that are trying to make the right choice.
We all miss you and look forward to your next visit.
Remember to mention that you already stayed with us when making your next reservation(s).
Have a great and blessed weekend...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0,9 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
2 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 634 reviews
0,3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 305 reviews
1,1 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 510 reviews
0,8 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: R3 913 - R10 289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing