We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveller rating
581
106
38
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
106
38
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenelevator opensprivate beachmaster bedroomprivate elevatoropened upsquare feetcosta ricathe penthousefront desk staffkey cardinfinity poolthree bedroomfitness centerfalafel barcafe milagrobreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 742 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Los Altos is an upscale Manuel Antonio resort. Unlike a normal hotel, we stayed in an enormous 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath condo with a kitchen and living room. Literally, when the keyed elevator door opened, it opened directly into our condo. It is the most spacious room we’ve ever stayed in on vacation.

Los Altos was a great choice for our family for a number of reasons: 1) The location – Los Altos is within easy walking distance of several highly rated restaurants (we loved Agua Azul!), the city bus stop, and a grocery store – everything we could possibly need. 2) The breakfast – the breakfast at Los Altos was the best we had in Costa Rica with a chef that will make you eggs, pancakes, custom omelets, or literally the best French Toast ever! 3) The room size – With five of us most hotels or resorts can feel cramped, but the huge rooms at Los Altos felt like a luxury. 4) The game room – Los Altos has a game room with a pool table, foosball, air hockey, ping pong, … great for hanging out together as a family. 5) The amenities -the private beach and the beautiful pool were really nice for relaxing; and we definitely took advantage of the happy hour in the pool area from 4-6 each day.

While there we did a guided tour of the national park through Iguana tours. We loved the tour. There is so much we would have missed if we hadn’t had an expert point out a variety of insects, birds, bats, sloths, and monkeys.

One small suggestion for the Los Altos management team: We have found it very helpful when the staff the resorts we visit wear name tags. It allows us to feel a closer connection to the staff we see each day at the resort to have a reminder of their names. Also, knowing the staff’s names allows us to more easily give a TripAdvisor shout-out to those then went out of their way to make our stay so special.

Manuel Antonio is a cool town near a great national park. And when we go back, we will definitely stay at Los Altos again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GoSailing93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie M, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review of your stay at Los Altos. We are delighted that you and your family had a wonderful time at our resort! We agree that our large, comfortable apartments provide the perfect space for a family vacation, and are glad that you also enjoyed the game room, pool and beach, too. The breakfast is special, and the French toast, made with challah bread baked in our bakery in Quepos, is delicious! We appreciate your feedback about the name tags, and are now in the process of ordering them for the staff.

We hope to see you again soon at Los Altos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

My family and I had a great time at Los Altos. We did a daily hike to the beach and rented kayaks to go to the sandy beach next door. What stands out at Los Altos besides the nice accommodations, pool and grounds are the staff. They were wonderful to talk to and very professional. We also enjoyed meeting Tigre, the guard cat. We saw two types of monkeys, iguanas, beautiful birds and wild hens on the grounds. The restaurant also had the best ceviche in MA. We tried many during our stay, and Karola’s restaurant had the best taste to it. I would definitely recommend Los Altos to friends.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for a better view.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Leto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie M, Owner at Los Altos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks very much for the wonderful review of your stay at Los Altos! We agree that our staff is excellent; they enjoy working with every guest to ensure that their stay is exceptional. It's wonderful that you were able to see so much wildlife right at the resort, including Tigre, who we love, too! And we're also glad that you enjoyed the delicious food at Karolas. We hope you will visit us again at Los Altos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

I was traveling with my two granddaughters ages 16 & 24. Even with the age difference we were all treated with the utmost courtesy and respect. Everyone from the restaurant (the food was awesome), front desk, pool help, and cleaning crew were friendly, courteous, helpful, and always greeted us with a smile. When we checked out we all got hugs. I highly recommend the resort and will go back.

Room Tip: Our rooms were always clean and always with fresh towels and bath products.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cbc227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie M, Owner at Los Altos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted that you and your granddaughters so enjoyed your stay at Los Altos and that you were pleased with the service you received throughout the resort. We are very proud of our staff and their commitment to providing the absolute best experience for every guest. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Our group of six stayed on the 6th floor. We had all three bedrooms and were happy with the size of the accommodations. The living and dining room provided plenty of space for all of us to eat dinner at the table and have game night in the living room. The master bed/bath was a very nice size and had a slight view of the ocean. One of the other bedrooms had a queen (or full) bed, and the final bedroom had 2 twin beds. The game room was decent but they gym left much to be desired. The breakfast is included with the rate so we ate there every morning. The food was good and the pancake art was amazing. Please have a piece of french toast for me, I had it every morning because it was so good. We did see the rooms on the other side and the lower levels and I definitely would not recommend those because you miss out on the incredible view. I think you need to be at least on the 6th floor facing the ocean for the best view. Waking up and walking out on the balcony was so peaceful and beautiful. There is plush green jungle which ends at the ocean. While sitting on the balcony we saw monkeys in the tree less than 20 feet away from us and had a once in a lifetime sighting of a sloth waking up to eat all within one hour. Another morning we saw the monkeys running across the top of the restaurant and down by the pool. What a sight!

We didn't have dinner at the resort because we had hear about so many restaurants in the area. Agua Azul and Ronny's were our favorite. Fortunately, on our first day in the area we went to dinner at about 5 and had no problem getting seated. The restaurants can get filled up pretty early. By 6pm as we heard them telling people the wait was over an hour at Agua Azul. To be safe, we asked the resort staff to make a reservation for us on the night we went to Ronny's. The staff also arranged for taxis for us when we went to beach and to restaurants that were further away than walking distance.

Overall a it was a very pleasant stay and I definitely recommend Los Altos but make sure you get the view.

Room Tip: Confirm that your room has a good view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie M, Owner at Los Altos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review of your stay at Los Altos Resort. We are delighted that you were pleased with your rooms and our excellent staff, and that you enjoyed breakfast at our restaurant, Karolas, and the famous French toast, in particular. It is delicious!

Thanks also for your feedback about the gym. We are in the process now of purchasing new equipment to update the facility. When you come back for another stay, we are sure you will have a better experience in the gym!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

High end luxury place. Three bedroom was very spacious and modern. Heard only five years old. Front desk guys were friendly and good. Breakfast was ok. Service a bit slow but it’s vacation. Walk to beach as we saw more monkeys there than at the tour

Room Tip: Very spacious
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Elvis34SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie M, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Thank you for your review of Los Altos. We are very happy to hear that You enjoyed you stay and that our staff was so accommodating. We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews