We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded My Expectations!”

Review of Casa Blanca

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kraft68
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceeded My Expectations!”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I really can't say enough nice things about this remarkable villa. The pictures provide a very accurate description of the property and my expectations were exceeded. Over the years we have stayed in some amazing properties and I would say that this one is the best yet. I am an electrical contractor and I was impressed at the quality of workmanship that went in to this portion of the home which leads me to believe that quality in all phases was important during the construction of this property. It was obvious that much thought went into the property/contents as our needs and desires were met so well. We live in the country....but it impressed me that we had better WIFI in the middle of a jungle than we do back home where we live in Kansas!

We would get up early and hike around the property and watch monkeys and parrots and deer all around. The sounds of the jungle are truly amazing and the expanse of the ocean is breathtaking. We would have a massage nearly every afternoon during the heat of the day and then enjoy margaritas out on the deck during the sunset. The sky would turn such beautiful colors as the stars began to take their place. The sky is so clear in this part of the world and the air smells so clean.

We particularly enjoyed flying from San Jose to Tambor on Sansa airline. The flight was so much fun and picturesque. We chose Budget for car rental in Tambor which was fine but I would recommend going with the company that the owner suggests instead. We were surprised to find that Davie met us at the Tambor airport because he was concerned that Budget would not be there to pick us up...which they were not. Had he not been there we would have had to walk 2-3 miles I assume to the Budget office.

Speaking of Davie...He and his lovely wife took care of anything we needed. It was just my wife and I so we likely didn't need as much as others but they gave us our privacy, cleaned when we asked, made us an amazing dinner one evening and arranged a fishing trip for us as well. Davie instantly seemed like more like a friend but was a superb concierge. Michael did a great job of answering our questions before and guiding us through the process.

I would have no hesitation to stay again at this property and likely will do so again in the future. If you are looking for a property in the Nicoya Peninsula, no need to look any further!

Many thanks to Mike, Davie and Lisbeth for their thoughtful hospitality!!!

Ben/Amy Kraft

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in the jungle with a commanding view of the Pacific Ocean!!
Liked least: Having to go home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Thanks for the fantastic time. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abnous S
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Beautiful, Modern Villa on a Mountain Top”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had an amazing stay at Villa Casa Blanca! We flew into Liberia Airport, which is a bit of a treck to Mal Pais, but Davie met us on arrival and guided us up the mountain to paradise! We had dinner waiting on us and they even purchased a delicious cake for my brother's birthday. Our week was perfect, spent enjoying the pool and the view from the house, zip-lining, going to the beach/waterfalls, fishing, surfing, etc. Davie was so helpful with any information we needed regarding excursions and Mike was always a phone call away. The food in the area was delicious and the people are all so lovely. Just a perfect family getaway if you want something off the beaten path.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again. Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mea9f
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Beautiful home in paradise”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Case Blanca is absolutely beautiful and located in a lush and peaceful setting. Everything that a guest would need is provided, and the caretakers are friendly and helpful. If you're looking to get away from it all, this is the place.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you soon. Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gkim11
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best trip of my life!”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

From morning yoga sessions on the beautiful rooftop deck to the stunning sunsets, every moment spent at Casa Blanca was like a snapshot out of a movie.

The modern open-space concept of the home allowed for a steady breeze to flow throughout the space all day and the stunning view from the infinity pool kept us up at the house from sunset till sunrise. No where else in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa has the same level of serenity and beauty as Casa Blanca. What we especially enjoyed was the unmatched view we had of the jungle and Pacific Ocean.

Pictures do not do this home justice! Every single bedroom was spacious, had its own A/C (which we barely used since the airflow was amazing) and beautifully designed. It was obvious every room was carefully designed to have its own character. We especially enjoyed the small details that the owners had put into each room. For instance, everyone had sliding doors and glass walls which made for a beautiful morning walkout. We could not have dreamed of a better way to be woken up. The fully-equipped kitchen really is fully-equipped. With a hired chef for the week, he had no problem cooking up gourmet meals and commented that this was one of the few places he had seen with such a well-stocked kitchen. What really made life wonderful for all of us as well was the filtration system built into the home! Rather than buying plastic water bottles, we were able to save on garbage by drinking the pure filtered water that ran through the taps. None of the guests ever got sick and we were assured the water was better than what you could buy in stores. I am here to say, that is correct and it makes a world of a difference!

Throughout the week we also hired a private masseuse to come up to the house for several days. The view from the private cabina in front of the pool made the massages that much better. There really aren't enough words to describe how perfect Casa Blanca is. Anything activity we wanted to do, the home could accommodate it and then some.

Davie and his beautiful wife Lizbeth are absolute gems! They were there to answer any and all questions we had and were welcoming from the moment we arrived. Every day we would come back from surfing or being in town and the home would be immaculate. The folks over at the "5-star" resorts could learn a lesson or two from this dynamic duo. We had a blast hanging out with them as well and they really helped us feel like we were at home.

I know I will definitely be returning to Casa Blanca in the future especially since our guests all agreed that their week in Mal Pais was "The best vacation they had ever had. Truly life changing".

Thank you Mike, Davie and Lizbeth! We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning view!
Liked least: nothing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thanks for everything and we hope that you'll be back soon. Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkstra...
Springfield, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Second Time Renting this Luxury Home”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The title says it all! We have rented this beautiful home twice now and love it! My wife and 2 children fell in love with this house some years back and have had such a great time there. Mike and JC are great hosts and leave keep the home immaculate. The staff is great and speak English as well. The views are incredible and the pool is large enough to swim laps in which I like, thats hard to find. We relaxed in the evenings and watched movies in the Theatre room and loved waking up to the sounds of monkeys and birds and having that great Costa Rican Coffee. Unfortunately I had to work while I was there but fortunately Mike has an office set up in the house with high speed internet that made my life easy. I had an office with a view!

Thank you Mike and JC for your kindness and making us feel welcome every time. We will be back again and again.

My family highly recommends this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
We wish you a happy year and come back soon :) Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing