We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise Found”

Review of Casa Blanca

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Justin O
Encino, California, United States
1 review
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were told about Villa Casa Blanca from friends. However, when we arrived, it was more amazing than we could have imagined. Our trip was made special from all the attention from the owners to all many requests – about the area, things to do, catering, surf lessons, yoga lessons and more.

After driving along the beaches of Mal Pais, we arrived at the house. Words cannot explain the reaction on our faces. We were in paradise. We entered the house… an open planned ground floor with sweeping views over the entire coastline - as promised. We could see the beaches, the waves and hear the surf.

The accommodation was exactly as was described – complete kitchen with everything (and we love cooking and BBQ), living room with sunset views, tv lounge with movies galore. And the outside dining area with BBQ and Massage Cabina by the pool. We were in heaven!

And then the rooms – WOW! Totally modern, clean and spacious – and all with Air Con. The bedrooms were amazing… and the beds comfortable! The master bedroom shower is so spacious – indoor rain shower and outdoor shower overlooking the ocean.

We arrived in paradise and frankly, having arrived, didn’t want to leave.

The Caretaker, Davie, and his wonderful wife, Lizbeth, made our stay an even better paradise. They looked after us with great care and attention making our stay completely relaxing.

We had a great meal provided by Soma Chefs, fantastic BBQ outside with fresh fish from the Mal Pais Fish Market and simply just relaxed in the lap pool – who would ever want to leave!

The garden is amazing with so many palms and plants. And the monkeys each morning! What a lovely sound. And at night, on the roof terrace, we never have seen so many starts.

We are coming back as soon as possible.

Thanks to Davie and Lizbeth – and the owners – for making this a relaxing arrival and experience.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool and the Views
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The meaning of relaxation”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This property has a rejuvenating quality about it. As a world traveler, I've seen and stayed at many great locations but this place has me coming back for 3 years now. The peace and serenity I experience here, the sweeping views and gracious groundskeepers are unmatched. Once you arrive and stay even one night, you'll understand this feeling and I promise you won't want to leave.

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLK1979
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week in paradise.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a week feeling like millionaires at the gorgeous Casa Blanca. From the moment you arrive you feel at home. Everything you need has been thought of. The outside area is incredible with a huge infinity pool, sun lounges and shaded hammock. You have complete privacy with a breathtaking view of the pacific. You can watch lizards and birds hop from trees to tree and hear the waves crashing on the beach. The rest of the house is designed perfectly with a fully stocked kitchen, ice machine and all the mod cons you need. We cooked a lot at the house, mainly to ensure we ate healthy, to save money but also just to make use of such a nice kitchen. In the evening we would curl up on the comfy couch and watch movies in the cinema room and then fall asleep in the huge king bed. The photos of this place really don't do it justice, it's truly wonderful. We will most definitely be back in the future and this time we will bring some friends to share in a little piece of paradise.

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy Z
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Book This Villa”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place is absolutely breathtaking - the kitchen and entertainment room have everything you need, the bedrooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, you will want to immediately jump in the infinity pool and look out into the jungle and ocean view for hours every day. Could not have had a better time in this villa and in the towns of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa. Make sure you have a sturdy vehicle to get up to the location (the view is more than worth it) - you will not regret staying here.

Date of stay: April 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a slice of paradise with a modern edge”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Arriving at Villablanca after a long journey from California, we were tired and stressed. One step into this beautiful house and all of that was gone. We were greeted by the caretaker, who showed us room by room all of the features and special things about this spectacular place. And it truly is spectacular. The owner has thought of everything to make a stay here as relaxing and luxurious as possible. One of the locals referred to it as the 'James Bond' house and we certainly felt like we were on a movie set. The furnishings and architecture make you just want to wander around taking in the beauty of it. Set on a steep hill with a fantastic view of the ocean, we awoke each morning to a cacophony of birds and animals. With all of its glass windows, Villablanca is perfect for sitting back, enjoying the view and taking in all of the best that Costa Rica has to offer. The kitchen is completely stocked with top quality equipment. Every corner of every area of the property has a little something special - from the beautiful decor of the bathrooms, outdoor showers, to the relaxing wooden deck with its hammock where you can watch the sunset, do yoga or just sit and be. We loved sitting at the outside eating area, lights twinkling in the garden, after barbecuing our freshly caught fish, watching the stars and listening to the sounds of the nighttime jungle. The owners provided all sorts of recommendations for fishing trips, secret beaches, and nearby grocery stores and restaurants. This is truly a special place and we can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 22 metre infinity pool!
Liked least: the road up is very steep - you need a 4x4 but it's well worth it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.