We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by How Much we Enjoyed This!”

Caribeans Coffee & Chocolate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Caribeans is the origninal bean-to-bar chocolate factory in Puerto Viejo. Chocolate is made right in the cacao forest. Tours of our factory include: all-you-can-eat gourmet chocolate, the chocolate forest hike, and the "see how we do it" factory tour. Regular tours are Monday 10 am, Tuesday10 & 2, Thursday 10 & 2, Friday2 pm, and Saturday 2 pm. No reservations required. We also have a full service coffee and chocolate shop. Our coffee is fresh roasted farm to cup and delicious. Our chocolate is all hand made and organic. Fresh smoothies, sandwiches, ice cream and much more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

We took our 8, 5 and 2 year olds on the 3 hour tour up a hill on a hot day and were pleasantly surprised at how much they loved it. (All you can eat chocolate obviously helps that!) Learn something, get a little hike in, and eat chocolate with an ocean view.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Stacia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great coffee"
in 15 reviews
"brownie"
in 18 reviews
"cacao trees"
in 19 reviews
"herbs and spices"
in 9 reviews
"beans"
in 26 reviews
"iced mocha"
in 8 reviews
"local farmers"
in 8 reviews
"the bean"
in 14 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 6 reviews
"costa rica"
in 55 reviews
"fruit"
in 35 reviews
"fair trade"
in 13 reviews
"quality chocolate"
in 7 reviews
"great tour"
in 29 reviews
"whole process"
in 10 reviews
"ocean view"
in 6 reviews
"three hours"
in 9 reviews
Filter

58 - 62 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

The sipping chocolate at Caribeans is one of the most delicious treats I've ever had. Farm to table dark chocolate served in tiny cups. Truly, my eyes rolled up in my head and my toes curled when I tasted it.

The chocolate tour is fun and interesting. You need to be able to walk on a gravel road up and down a steep hill, but its well worth it.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 931janiceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

My husband and I visited Caribeans three times while in the area. The first time, the barista was friendly, attentive and the mochachino was good (we own a cafe in the states so know what good coffee is all about.)
The second time there the espresso drink was just okay, and the third time we were really disappointed. The staff was too busy messing around with each other to be attentive to customers, there was no where to sit due to the number of people just using the space for the wifi or art and crafts and the drinks were not good.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank waurlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

One of the best experience in Costa rica. The tour takes 3 hours and is really amazing. You will learn about cocoa plants, about planting and harvesting. The guide show you proces of making chocolate. In the end is chocolate tasting, you can combine chocolate with various herbs or spice, its up to you. Up the hill of cocoa plantation is amazing sea view. It isn't all about chocolate, we saw many animals, some poisonous red frogs, one sloth, tukans, spiders, parrots, snake and iguanas. There si also cafe and you can buy their chocolate. The chocolate is delicious and they have many flavors.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank monikadankova1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018

We were in Costa Rica for ten days and this was hands down the best coffee we had. The staff were super friendly and the location is just across the street from the beach. They also have a huge selection of artisan chocolate that looked amazing.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Randy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caribeans Coffee & Chocolate also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Caribeans Coffee & Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing