We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly organized and knowledgeable travel agents!”

Gecko Trail - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gecko Trail Costa Rica is full service travel agency based in Costa Rica. We offer a wide selection of tours, activities and transportation all over the country. We are specialized in helping clients to set up a customized and authentic experience of the real Costa Rica. We plan your trip to maximize your holiday time enjoying the incredible nature and wide selection of activities, and make sure to offer a fun, safe and hassle-free experience of the best Costa Rica has to offer - whether this is for individual travelers, couples or groups, we make sure you get the right fit. Our Vision• Excellence in customer service• Innovative travel options• Professionalism in dealing with clients as well as with vendors• Provide the best quality possible• Use local providers and help the local community grow in a sustainable way• Fair employment of local staff including accurate training and salary
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We booked our trip somewhat last minute, not having time to do all the research for a 10-day trip to Costa Rica over the holidays, and I have to say this agency is incredibly knowledgeable and organized. They set us up with private vans and drivers to take us to the nicest places and each driver arrived early and was super polite. We did not have to worry about one thing. They set us up with Manuel Antonio Surf School ("MASS") and our guide drove us to the best place to start our hike (a little bit of cheating as it saved us alot of uphill climbing) and the Tabaccon Resort was fantastic in the Arenal area. Even if there was an issue about canceling something like our rafting trip down the Pacuare (due to weather), they were immediately responsive about our attempt to get a refund on that event. I would absolutely recommend using Gecko Trail to anyone going there without having much information on where to go or stay.

Thank mbellafr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeckoTrail, Owner at Gecko Trail - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Maria for your nice words, much appreciated. I will for sure share them with the whole team and especially with Irene as she defintiely deserves this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"san jose"
in 61 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 23 reviews
"private van"
in 10 reviews
"pacuare river"
in 20 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 19 reviews
"costa rica"
in 147 reviews
"travel planning"
in 5 reviews
"always on time"
in 12 reviews
"great itinerary"
in 4 reviews
"travel company"
in 4 reviews
"a great vacation"
in 4 reviews
"la fortuna"
in 16 reviews
"coast to coast"
in 4 reviews
"went smoothly"
in 7 reviews
"great company"
in 8 reviews
"our honeymoon"
in 12 reviews
"booking process"
in 5 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We used Gecko Trail for scheduling shuttle transportation on a couple of occasions during our vacation to the Caribbean Coast. We planned the pick ups before we got to CR. It was recommended from one of the lodges we were going to stay at that a car wasn't needed for visiting the Caribbean side. The agent from Gecko, Irene, made it very easy. Our shuttles were always on time (early actuslly) and took us to the correct location, door to door. We were concerned because we took a boat from Torutuguero to Moin dock, 3 hrs through the canals and rivers hoping our shuttle would be there waiting for us and sure enough they were...

This was the first time we hadn't rented a car while visiting CR and I must say it was really nice to be a passenger rather than the driver.

Gecko was a little more costly than if I were to find a shuttle on the side of the road but it was worth the cost to have someone waiting for us and plan it for us. It also saved us a ton of money than renting a car.

I would recommend this service.

Thank WillTim72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Gecko was one of the most reliable and honest agencies I have dealt with. My error caused us a 24 hour delay. One phone call to Gecko and they rearranged our whole trip.
Then sickness hit us on arrival. Again Gecko, with one phone call, arranged for a postponement and an emergency hotel to stay at until we recovered.
It is a very secure feeling to have a local representative in the county your are visiting to be there for your emergencies. I plan to return and will put my trust in Gecko.

Thank philipmarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeckoTrail, Owner at Gecko Trail - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you very much for you kind words and we are looking forward to welcome you to Costa Rica an other time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Amazing organization with the best booking
Very adaptive to any wants and needs

Highly recommended
we did 9 days Cloud Forest, Rain Forest, and Manuel Antonio
Very amazing experience at Nayara Springs hotel ( 7 Stars)

Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeckoTrail, Owner at Gecko Trail - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks you very much for your kind words! I truly enjoyed planning and organising this trip for you and I am so glad you had a fantastic time in Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

So helpful. Helped me rebook, offered Spanish and English; and were just overall excellent in costumer service. Very good company!

Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gecko Trail - Day Tours also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Gecko Trail - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing