We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Folks and Amazing Day in Panama”
Review of Willie's Tours CR

Willie's Tours CR
Ranked #6 of 9 things to do in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are an Ecological friendly Tour Operator Company in Costa Rica "Every Day is a Green Day!!". Our Highlight Services: Tortuguero Visit and Amazon Boat Trip with Transfers to San Jose, La Fortuna and Monteverde. Bocas del Toro Islands Visit and Transfers to Colon Islands, Volcano Trips with Transfers to San Jose, Snorkeling in Cahuita Coral Reef, Jungle Hike in Cahuita National Park, Bribri-Chocolate Indigenous Tour, Rafting In Rio Pacuare, Canopy and Jungle Hike, Yorking Bribri Indigenous Community Visit and many more.....
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We arrived in the dark to Cahuita, after a long, crazy drive from La Fortuna. Have you driven in Costa Rica yet? I was frazzled.... we landed on the doorstep of Willies Tours, unsure of where our VRBO house was, hungry, and seriously grumpy! The folks at Willies got us where we needed to go, and all with grace and patience. I can never thank them enough. Then later in the week we took their day trip to Panama and snorkeled and played in Boca del Toro.... wow, talk about beauty and fun and GREAT food and pretty fish and coral snorkeling.... The trip to Panama was run like a well oiled machine, with us being well cared for along the way. I highly recommend Willies for a thousand reasons. They care.

Thank AlaskaCamper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c31Cahuita_CostaRica, Manager at Willie's Tours CR, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you so much for visiting our country and our Beach Village, Cahuita and Cahuita National Park and thank you for your buisness.
Very warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bocas del toro"
in 12 reviews
"chocolate tour"
in 7 reviews
"bri bri"
in 6 reviews
"day trip"
in 10 reviews
"cahuita national park"
in 15 reviews
"chocolate making"
in 3 reviews
"waterfall tour"
in 4 reviews
"iguana farm"
in 3 reviews
"several activities"
in 2 reviews
"language barrier"
in 2 reviews
"guide luis"
in 2 reviews
"indigenous village"
in 2 reviews
"rental car"
in 2 reviews
"night walk"
in 2 reviews
"willies"
in 16 reviews
"tortuguero"
in 30 reviews
"bribri"
in 19 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

Myself and partner booked to do snorkeling. We had no problems booking, price was good, staff were helpful. When they told us we couldn't do the activity because of conditions, we were so happy that they were being honest about it. We tried to do it again the next day but same thing. They told us all along we could get a full refund if it doesn't go ahead. When we tried to go and get a refund the manager made it quite difficult for us. He gave us a time to go 6-7pm in the evening. When we arrived a bit early staff said he wasn't there and they couldn't give us a refund themselves as they are not allowed to have any money in the store. This seems CRAZY to me! I explained that as it was our last couple of days we had almost no money left and didn't even have enough to get dinner without the refund. The staff were lovely, he called his boss and explained but nothing could be done. So we waited over an hour to receive our money back!! I was not happy waiting for my own money, when all I wanted was to go and have food and enjoy one of my last nights in Costa Rica. Please can you trust your staff or only take a deposit from customers, you can't take all the money and dictate when you give it back...

Thank loveable_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c31Cahuita_CostaRica, Manager at Willie's Tours CR, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

I am the manager of Willie's Tours CR and I personally want to apologize to this couple for such inconvenience.
They booked a snorkeling tour with us and it was cancelled twice due to rough water conditions and safety reasons. We stated from the day they bought the Tour that it would be 100% reimbursable if such activity was cancelled by us.
We exchanged Whatsapp numbers to keep them updated since I spend most of my time on the field (operating activities out of the office and town).
Due to our company policies, we do not leave cash overnight in the office since we are not a Cash Business (must clients pay with credit cards or wire transfers, paypal etc).
I had their cash with me to reimburse them, however I was not in the office for those two days, yet I had already told them through Whatsapp that I had their money and they could come to our office between 6 and 7 pm and they agreed. Nevertheless, they came back early in the morning and then later in the day. There was no cash in the office at all since must sales were paid with credit card.
I never had any intention to cause and problems, I thought $50 USD would not make any difference to be reimbursed later at 6pm, time when I got back to the office from field work.
It was a complete misunderstanding and I personally take responsibility for this inconvenience.
Note: All snorkeling sessions are 100% reimbursable only we cancel due to rough water conditions of bad weather, if clients cancel on their own, there is a 50% penalty.
Very best wishes,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Willie's tours organised our trip to Tortuguero, it was unforgettable thanks to all the super friendly and helpful drivers, captains and other people involved. Definitely great value for money I don't think we could have done any cheaper on our own without stress and losing time. I highly recommend this company. Very professional.

Thank tine747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We wanted to book several activities in the Cahuita-PuertoViejo-Manzanillo region but Willie's only had local (Cahuita) activities available. We ended only booking a snorkel tour wich was fantastic.

Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2017

The Bribri tour was fantastic will Willie's Tours. Their tour guides are amazing, funny and knowledgeable. The day was fantastic and everything I could have imagined. I learned so much about culture, food and felt like I had an authentic experience with the family we met. They were wonderfully welcoming! Thanks Willie's Tours I had a great time!

1  Thank Bailey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c31Cahuita_CostaRica, Manager at Willie's Tours CR, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed The Bribri Indigenous and Chocolate Tour. Thank you for your comment and it was a real pleasure meeting you.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willie's Tours CR also viewed

Cahuita, Province of Limon
Cahuita, Province of Limon
 
Cahuita, Province of Limon
 

Been to Willie's Tours CR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing